We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Cafe Rumist

Cafe Rumist
Ranked #11 of 13,534 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: All the Turkish hot and cold drinks, dessert, kebabs, pides, pizzas in a wood burning oven.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We picked this restaurant based solely from the tripadvisor review and we were pleasantly rewarded! Ibrahim made room for us quickly when we arrived even though there wasnt room at first. They dont serve alcohol but have the widest selection of fun fruit and vegetable juices we have ever seen. The mixed grill for two and shrimp in tile are excellent! As is the shepherd's salad. The atmosphere is charming and the people are so lovely it is like visiting family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christyanderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,064
    192
    50
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pizza and hot chocolate”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice pizzas
Good hot choc
Area to sit outside very pleasant.
Menu looked very interesting but we were trying to get around as many TA places as possible and so were limited in what we were going to eat.
Good postion along a street from alot of the hotels

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lincolnshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
“Ahmed is great, food wonderful and good price”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Every door "catcher" or hawker should be like Ahmed! His genuine personality, not intrusive but very attentive style, makes you want to eat there and then it is completely backed up by very good food at a great price with such good Turkish hospitality. Chef/ owner is friendly and so caring about your expereince there.They spoiled me for normal service.They actually live out the Olive Garden motto: When you are here, you're family" I had the Turkish pasta and it was great, as is lamb. But mostly you want to sit outside and enjoy being there and you will! We went 3 times in a week, our friends went 4!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodcustomer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a meal and relaxing on the couch”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good food, with friendly staff.
The nargile outside, with the sofas was sublime !!!!!!
Good price for an expensive zone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helder V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Traditional food prepared well. The lamb shish had a pleasant off-the-grill flavor, and shrimp served in tile was deliciously rich. The cold mixed appetizer was accompanied by hot bread. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondViaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rumist also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rumist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing