We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Stay In Old Istanbul”
Review of Hotellino Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotellino Istanbul
Ranked #56 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Place To Stay In Old Istanbul”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

HotelLino is the place to stay when visiting Istanbul, a short walk from some of the main visitor attractions (and an even shorter tram ride. The rooms are of reasonable size with a good sized bed and bathroom, I am 6ft+/18+stone and was comfortable with room to move around easily. It is worth knowing that rooms 101, 201, 301, 401 and 501 are 25% larger than the rest
The room has a modern feel with tea and coffee making facilities, not that it is needed as free tea and coffee is on tap all day in the foyer. Each guest gets 3 free bottles of water a day, very welcome when the temperature rises. Cleanliness is not a problem, the rooms are kept spotless
The staff cannot do enough to help with anything to do with your stay, whether it is the day’s schedule, a health problem or other. At breakfast (which is fresh, varied and plentiful) a member of staff will come round and if you wish discuss your plans. Their advice is helpful and will save time and/or enhance the Istanbul experience
Restaurant choice is plentiful as you would expect, however do not dismiss the local ‘working man’s cafe’ Can (Café and Restaurant). We had two of our nicest meals here and cheapest, not to be missed either is the nightly visit to Hafiz Mustafa 1864 confectionary/coffee shop (best coffee and cakes ever) 5 minute walk. Just sit, drink and taste the goods while watching the world go by.
If you decide to visit Istanbul and you should – stay at the HotelLino you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 1 are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_Dartfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    254
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
171
442
71
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Hotellino the week of June 9. The positive reviews on this board had convinced us to stay in Hotellino over the hotel the rest of the tour group was in. Overall we are happy that we did, with the only negative thing we have to say is not the fault of the hotel... It is the noise! No one would expect that constructinon could be heard at all hours of the night, every night. And at the end of our trip, with the weather being so lovely, the open air restaurants around the hotel had music and patrons that were also quite loud.

But we are of good humor and not willing to blame the hotel nor it's staff. They are so helpful and accommodating, with modern and clean rooms and attention to details. You will be happy with your choice! The rooms are small but that doesn't affect anything. They are so clean and well appointed. I am a bit of a germophobe, and I cannot find fault here.

The location is a bit tucked away so your operators would often drop us down the street rather than try and navigate to the hotel. But we were only steps away from shops, restaurants and a very very easy walk of perhaps 10 minutes to Haghia Sopia, the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Topaki Palace, Spice Market, museums and tram. There was a lovely urban park in the palace gardens behind the wall, with large shade trees, flowers, sea views and benches for anyone that needs a few minutes away from the bustle.

Loved this hotel! What a positive impression for our first trip to Europe!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was inexpensive, very well located in a quiet street near all the main sights of the historic area of Istambul. Blue Mosque, Bazaar, Hagia Sofia, and Galata bridge all within walking distance.
The room was nice and confortable, and the water pressure in the shower was awesome. Nice to have after a long flight. Staff was helpful, but the front desk guy at night spoke little english which really wasnt a problem.
Breakfast was tasty, with good coffee. Nice mix of fruits and pastries.
At the end they gave us a small package of turkish coffee, which was a nice touch.
Definitely a good choice in Istambul. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carvalh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

super friendly owner & staff, took time at breakfast to explain exactly how we might best get to a remote location on the outskirts of the city. Made it easy. Showed an interest in the guests, chatting with guests in both english and french.

Very comfortable lounge area.

Convenient location on a nice side street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although Hotellino is obviously not the kind of 5-star hotel, this is the highest scored hotel I gave among all the < 90 euro per double-bed room hotels I've reviewed before. The lovely hotel is very well located - 5 minutes to walk from the 2 tramway stations nearby - 10 to 15 mins in a traveler's friendly district to walk to all main attractions like the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace.. etc. Living in this area is more touristy, but for traveler, anyway, is a more convenient choice than in the other hotel I stayed in Taksim area. Although the protests are generally safe in Taksim area, it still affected traffic when I lived there. Plus, living in Hotelino's area I didn't have to worry about moving my luggage up and down on slopes, and traveling everyday on a hilly area like in Taksim.

The interiors are clean, neat and contemporary; rooms are clean, well sized; breakfast was great with just the right selection of fresh food & drinks for a hotel of this scale. Tea is served throughout the day and small outdoor bar tables for chatting at night.

I made this urgent last-minute booking but we got a call in 20 mins to confirm the booking, and a room was already waiting for us at our arrival 1 hour after the booking. We even got an upgrade to the bigger room at the top floor with a small walk-out terrace space on the next day since we asked for a double bed which was not available on the first day due to our last minute booking.

Most importantly - excellent & friendly services. The hotel owner and all the staffs all made us really feel like being at home. They gave us detailed info, Istanbulkart (transport card), and perfect recommendations to fit what we asked for. As seen in other reviews, there is a construction site just next to the hotel, but there were no noise in the few days we stayed, even we left the hotel only at noon.

I found nothing that I don't like about this hotel : )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed in Hotellino for a long weekend to celebrate her birthday. Initially, when researching hotels to stay, our first impression was you didn’t get much for your money in Istanbul. Then, we found Hotellino. I’m not sure if it was because they had noted that it was my girlfriend’s birthday, but we arrived at the hotel expecting to be told that we were (far) too early to check-in. However, we were given our key and directed to our room without any hesitation. A welcome relief after a noisy overnight flight!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and in the mornings during breakfast always had somebody offering their tips and opinions on how to make the most of our stay. We found this really beneficial.

Our room was spacious, modern and always clean. The location is great for both the old city (5 minute walk) as well as the rest of Istanbul. Beyoglu is a 20 minute walk away over the bridge, but it’s just as easy to catch the tram, where the tram stop is a mere two minutes away from the hotel. Regardless, we walked pretty much everywhere. We have no hesitation in recommending Hotellino, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 day city break in Istanbul with our friends. The Hotellino was a real pleasure. On our arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the excellent staff. Compared to our friends room our room was quite small (with twin beds) but as soon as they could the staff moved to a larger room. The owner of the hotel met us at breakfast and was really happy to help us with suggestions of things to do in and around Istanbul. The location in the old town is excellent with plenty of restaurants to choose from for and evening meal. We would definitely go back to this hotel if we visit Istanbul again.

Room Tip: Higher room are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#154 of 1,155 in Istanbul
925 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#1 of 1,155 in Istanbul
146 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,155 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#63 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#45 of 1,155 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#53 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellino Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellino Istanbul

Property: Hotellino Istanbul
Address: Nobethane Cad. No:3 Sirkeci / Istanbul, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotellino Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View of one of our comfortable and modern rooms, completely new. The window pane that can be seen is that of the bathroom and lets the light flow within. Very quiet room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotellino Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellino Istanbul Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing