We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location and hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
North Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at in Turkey, and we didn't find better. It is a very calming and relaxed place and the staff are friendly, and helpful. It was always nice to come back to the hotel after our explorations of the city. Afternoon tea (and cakes!) in the lobby were a delight (complimentary).

We had two adjoining rooms and each was very comfortable, with great bathrooms.

It was a very easy stroll to the main attractions and yet, once at the hotel, it was very quiet.

The basement dining room was a treat. The remains of old Roman walls (part of the old Roman palace, I think...) were special, and the breakfasts very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    181
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
220
283
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel Acra is a lovely hotel, just round the corner from the Blue Mosque. Very well maintained, well kept hotel with nice size rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast is quite elaborate, served on the ruins of an ancient palace excavations! A really welcome touch was the complimentary afternoon tea - an inviting spread of cakes, savouries, tea and coffee - have never seen this anywhere!
The staff was really friendly and helpful; we wanted to go to Reina and he provided all the information, directions, got us a cab, etc. Reina is a must do!!

There are lovely roof top restaurants nearby which have views of the mosques and the Bosphorus...a must do for dinner.
The only minus is that the hotel seemed understaffed - the same person at the reception was running around for everything, and sometimes when we called from the room he said he could not leave his station to deliver our request; there was no one else! The ice machine was also not working. But these are minor things; this hotel and its people were great and it's definitely worth staying in...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Czaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Location is perfect (within walking distance to many of the sights), and the area is beautiful with many hotels and restaurants. Service is excellent and really prompt. The front desk staff gave us many good suggestions for the things we were looking for. Breakfast is good. Rooms have beautiful wooden decor and are very clean.

Be aware of the taxis hanging around in the area though. They will show you their meters, but their meters are rigged. The meter on our taxi somehow went very quickly from 7 TL to 48 TL in a few minutes and charged us 48 TL to get to Fatih from the hotel, which cost us about 20 TL on the way back when we just grabbed a taxi from the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tchbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Ön Büro Müdürü at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Acra Hotel and has become like home for me.The location is Excellent.Walking distance to The Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern etc.The rooms are clean and comfortable.The breakfast room has a variety of dishes. Seda,Mesut,Mehmet,Firat,Fateh and all the others are just wonderful people.They went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable.I would recommend this hotel at anytime and will surely be my hotel of choice on my next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a hotel,it has very helpful staff,is spotlessly clean,great breakfast in historical setting,and ideally sited for visits to main tourist attractions in sultan hamlet and for access to trams to take you to the Asian side.It was our second visit to the Acra Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it to you.
thank you Acra Hotel for making it an excellent visit to istanbul

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Ön Büro Müdürü at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is the best way to describe this hotel. The staff are amazing! They are friendly, ever so humble and kind. It's location is just perfect - within close proximity to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Haya Sofia etc. This was my second stay at this hotel. Last year I visited with my three kids and they loved it- especially the short walk to get to the to the tourist attractions. The rooms are very spacious, breakfast is really nice and the atmosphere so serene. This year my stay at this hotel was even better. They say "Turkey touches your soul" - well the staff at Acra certainly touched mine. Thank you so much to Mesut, Seda, Fateh, Mehmet and all the other staff members. My family and I have found a "home away from home" at Acra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a family of 10, three generations, and booked 4 rooms at the Acra Hotel. There are many good hotels in this area - the Blue Mosque area - and this one stands out in our minds because of the service - friendly, available, calling taxis (a 1 minute wait, even for 2 or 3), recommendations. The breakfast is served in the midst of remains of the great Byzantine Palace (the hotel occupies a spot which was the southeast corner of the palace) - with many options hot and cold, typical Turkish and also whatever else you might want. The rooms were comfortable, good AC. We would certainly come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Ön Büro Müdürü at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#113 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alilass Otel
Alilass Otel
#244 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#251 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#44 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#395 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#156 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing