We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with perfect location- be aware of taxis though”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent with perfect location- be aware of taxis though”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Location is perfect (within walking distance to many of the sights), and the area is beautiful with many hotels and restaurants. Service is excellent and really prompt. The front desk staff gave us many good suggestions for the things we were looking for. Breakfast is good. Rooms have beautiful wooden decor and are very clean.

Be aware of the taxis hanging around in the area though. They will show you their meters, but their meters are rigged. The meter on our taxi somehow went very quickly from 7 TL to 48 TL in a few minutes and charged us 48 TL to get to Fatih from the hotel, which cost us about 20 TL on the way back when we just grabbed a taxi from the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Ön Büro Müdürü at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    185
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
285
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Acra Hotel and has become like home for me.The location is Excellent.Walking distance to The Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern etc.The rooms are clean and comfortable.The breakfast room has a variety of dishes. Seda,Mesut,Mehmet,Firat,Fateh and all the others are just wonderful people.They went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable.I would recommend this hotel at anytime and will surely be my hotel of choice on my next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a hotel,it has very helpful staff,is spotlessly clean,great breakfast in historical setting,and ideally sited for visits to main tourist attractions in sultan hamlet and for access to trams to take you to the Asian side.It was our second visit to the Acra Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it to you.
thank you Acra Hotel for making it an excellent visit to istanbul

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Ön Büro Müdürü at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is the best way to describe this hotel. The staff are amazing! They are friendly, ever so humble and kind. It's location is just perfect - within close proximity to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Haya Sofia etc. This was my second stay at this hotel. Last year I visited with my three kids and they loved it- especially the short walk to get to the to the tourist attractions. The rooms are very spacious, breakfast is really nice and the atmosphere so serene. This year my stay at this hotel was even better. They say "Turkey touches your soul" - well the staff at Acra certainly touched mine. Thank you so much to Mesut, Seda, Fateh, Mehmet and all the other staff members. My family and I have found a "home away from home" at Acra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a family of 10, three generations, and booked 4 rooms at the Acra Hotel. There are many good hotels in this area - the Blue Mosque area - and this one stands out in our minds because of the service - friendly, available, calling taxis (a 1 minute wait, even for 2 or 3), recommendations. The breakfast is served in the midst of remains of the great Byzantine Palace (the hotel occupies a spot which was the southeast corner of the palace) - with many options hot and cold, typical Turkish and also whatever else you might want. The rooms were comfortable, good AC. We would certainly come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Ön Büro Müdürü at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

stayed with family at Acra hotel.since it is in a bylane it is unbelievably quiet despite being in busy Sultanahmet area.Staff is courteous and helping.Fabulous breakfast.Treat the guests to evening tea with cakes.you start wondering why it cannot go so smoothly at all hotels in the world.nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhaviandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acra-hotel, Yönetici at Acra Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your staying. We hope to wellcome you again.
If you need any request please do not hesitate to contact with us.
acra hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the third hotel I've stayed at in Istanbul and I can't say enough great things about this one. The rooms are large, the location is fantastic (within close walking distance of all the major sights) and the breakfast is wonderful.
The staff goes out of their way to help you -- We needed to catch a shuttle at Taksim square the day the first protests broke out, but the staff alerted us and then drove us to the ferry terminal so that we could avoid the protests. I've never had service like that at any hotel around the world!
Of everywhere I've stayed in Istanbul, this was by far the best value for my money. I highly, highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#255 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#265 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#401 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#36 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing