We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
“Outstanding stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was not our first stay, the location of this hotel is the best. The historical sights are all within walking distance and the neibhourhood is so safe and quite and some excellent resturants and coffee shops. But what makes this hotel special is the staff they make us feel that we are members of their family specially Mesut and firat they were very helpful.
I highly recommend this hotel and I will definatly stay at this hotel in my next visit to istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamad589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    185
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
285
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We arrived in Istanbul on a very early flight (5am!), i.e. well before check-in! Mesut was very accommodating, though, and arranged for a room to be cleaned as soon as it was vacated. This allowed us to wander round the Blue Mosque and see the sunrise, after which we had breakfast at the hotel. We were in the room at 8am which was very kind and efficient of the hotel. The room itself was spacious and the decor was beautiful. The rooms are cleaned to a high standard. The air conditioning stopped working but the hotel came up to fix it as soon as we phoned them,

The location was convenient for exploring the city. The hotel staff (especially Mesut!) were very friendly and helpful. Daily afternoon complimentary tea and cake was amazing!!! It was always nice to return to after sightseeing. Breakfast was also of a good standard.

We did stay in another nearby hotel on our last night in Istanbul (Acra had no rooms) - this was ranked higher on tripadvisor and cost more than Acra. It was nowhere near as good as Acra though!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightswimmer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Can say it honestly. I stayed at the Acra Hotel, Istanbul for 24 days with his wife and daughter. everything was great, the location was perfect, it is very close to the cafés and restaurants in a very nice and cozy street. you will find small shops selling everything you need from food and drikke.you can go to any places by walk.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.
It is rich breakfast with lots of variety. serves cake and drink free until kl.18: 00 every day. I advise everyone to book their stay at this hotel, you will never regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

First time writing a review because it is worthy. If you are going to Istanbul, I highly recommend this hotel. Close to all major sites, quiet street, GREAT staff. Everyone was very helpful. My girlfriend and I had a nice time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Most people have already covered the area points and the access to them.
Room was delightful, loved the wood finishes. The staff and Manager, not like any hotel we have ever stayed in before. Helpful is just a word, not what you would call the staff and manager of this hotel. If more hotels, small ones and large ones had staff like the Acra Hotel, life would be great when travelling. They simply were the best, answering questions, making suggestions, and arranging things for us. Through them we met people we will be staying in touch with.
Really the only way to find out how great the hotel is and the staff is to stay there yourself.
All sound too glowing , sorry we had a wonderful stay and encountered some extrememly nice, friendly and helpful people close to all the sights you will want to see as well as one street away some excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 24elkhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently came back from Istanbul and a stay at the Acra Hotel. We had a great time. The hotel is located in the old city, very close to all the majot sites such as the Blue Mosque. Brought my parents which do not walk well so it was great to be so close. The staff were excellent and the rooms were all that we needed for our trip. Very helpful staff for anything we needed. Having breakfast among ancient Turkish ruins is definitely a plus!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at the Acra Hotel. The location is great, a very short walk to Aya Sofia and Topkapi and it is in a quieter side street, which is good.

The Hotel itself is good but not great. Rooms are OK, not overly large but clean. The walls are a bit thin and there is a open air fish restaurant in the courtyard behind the hotel so you might have to have the aircon running through the nice for noise cover.

Service is friendly and helpful but again not much more than what you can expect in other good hotels in this very friendly city.

Would we return? Maybe. Istanbul has many good hotels and the Acra hotel is one of a number of good hotels. You are not not making a mistake staying at the Acra but it is certainly not the most extraordinary place.


Transportation: If you stay in this hotel (or anywhere else in Sultanahmet), take the metro from the airport (M1 and change in Zeytinburnu to T1 until Sultanahmet), much cheaper than a taxi and as quick. Get an Istanbulkart at the airport. Works like an Oyster card where you can load money onto it and use as swipe card for Metro, tram, bus, water bus.

For eating out try to get away from Sultanahmet, you will find less touristy and better restaurants in Beyoğlu, in particular in the small street Nevidzade Sokak. Try the Imroz, it is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McJever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#254 of 1,141 in Istanbul
248 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#392 of 1,141 in Istanbul
328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#271 of 1,141 in Istanbul
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#194 of 1,141 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#125 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,141 in Istanbul
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing