We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Acra for 5 days & 4 nights and enjoyed every minute! Staff was friendly and always had a nice thing to say. In fact, I would've loved to chat with them if there weren't so many beautiful, historical places to see in the city!

Acra is very near Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Quaint little shops dotted the way to these majestic structures.

I would love to visit Istanbul again soon and I will definitely stay at Acra Hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    185
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
285
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a fantastic stay!!! I have not found humble and courteous people like this any in the world.
Thanks to Farit, Memet & Mesut and all the wonderfull staff for making this stay a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahomed Ayob Ya... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have visited Istanbul for 5 days with my friends and my stay in Acra Hotel made my experience such a pleasant and a memorable one.

The staff are amazing and very friendly. The rooms are very clean tidy.

The hotel is just outstanding :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsraF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in a family room at this hotel for 5 nights. it is a beautiful, clean, modern hotel within walking distance of all major tourist attractions. The location puts you at the heart of Sultanahmet area, yet keeps you away from the street noise. All staff are more than helpful and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our family room was spacious, clean and well eqipped with excellent mattressess and fresh daily linen. The bathroom was clean but could have been a bit bigger for a family room. The breakfast area is unique- among some ancient ruins with candles and lamps, although the menu could do with some improvement. There is provision for complimentary tea from 3-6 pm, which I found very refreshing. For vegetarians there is Dubb Restaurant next to the hotel. To sum it up- Clean, comfortable, friendly, well located and welcoming. And when you add the warm sunny weather to it- you get a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Go for second floor rooms- good views and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a magnificent small hotel in the centre of Sultanahmet and 5 mins walk from Ayia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Very conveniently located to traditional local restaurants and Tram facilities and other hamams.
I would like to thank Frat and all the other staff at this hotel for making our stay so enjoyable and for being very helpful with directions.
I loved the breakfast room with the ancient ruins of the old Byzantine Palace.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor have views to Bosporus and the Asiatic Istanbul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skynet_w11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is very beautiful, especially decorated. Very good idea to stick to the breakfast area in ancient ruins. Initially it is difficult to orient themselves on the streets of the old town. It's all very similar and tight. After 2 days it becomes very easy. Then you can tell that the hotel is well located.
The Staff is helpful. However, there is a rude guy at the frontdesk. Returning to the airport I took a taxi after getting off the tram. Taxi charged me 30 lira for 5 min transportation.I arrived at the hotel and he asked me. "Why you took a taxi?"
How would I know that many Istabul´s taxis are malicious?
Always frowning.He should to be kindness with the guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is a rather small hotel in a very sweet and quite little street, very close (200 meters) to the Top Kapi, Hagia Sophia and blue mosque. The rooms are very nice and the details on furniture, doors and lamps are great. The personel is so very uncomplicated, heplful and always there for you. We had a couple of technical problems in our room, after we said everything was fixed in no time. There is the usual little dirt in the bathroom, that mostly has to do with marble corosion but the room was also very clean. Minus points for the breakfast and the breakfast room. Rather few bread variety, bad coffee and even worse juice, no capuccino, many different sauces but with no name (what am I supposed to eat today?), scrumbled eggs that looked like a soup. Stil I have to admit I stuffed myself and I got happy eating other tasty traditional things. The breakfast room could have been so nice with the ancient remains on the floor, but unfortunately a couple of lamps were defect and nobody changed them, the paintings were not hanging straight, there were some dead plants on the one side of the room and many dirty half burnt candles here and there on the ancient remains...it looked like there is a different manager in the hotel and a different one for the breakfast. However were I about to go back to Istanbul I would go to the same hotel. Price to performance was very good and the people there were from the first moment until the last excellent.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best, you get a glimpse of the old city and a glimpse of Bosporus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Culio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#255 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#265 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#401 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#36 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing