We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acra Hotel
Ranked #197 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I spent a week for our honeymoon in Istanbul and stayed at the Acra Hotel. Not only was the location perfect for sightseeing, but the hotel staff were amazing. Lale greeted us at the front desk and made every bit of our stay hassle free and enjoyable. The entire staff was courteous and very helpful in helping us plan tours and various other tourist activities. Istanbul was an amazing city and my wife and I are already thinking of our next visit. We will surely be staying at this hotel and recommend this place to anyone reading this review.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    183
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
283
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel has a good location, around 5 minutes from Blue Mosque. I booked a triple room from this hotel, but when I came, the receptionist instead offered me a family room for us without further charge. The staffs there are really friendly and courteous.
The family room is spacious and the furniture etc is very beautiful. The only downside is that we stay at the basement and sometimes it is a bit loud in the night as our neighbour is a restaurant, but we are okay with that as the service and the rooms are exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whx_epic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel had amazing service, people were polite and helpful. The rooms were a good size and were very comfortable. I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Other reviews cover the excellent location.

We travelled with 2 children and stayed 4 nights in the Family room. The room had a seperate bedroom for the kids with a door. The kids room had a seperate TV and air conditioning unit. The other room has a king or queen size bed, TV, air conditioning and some tables and chairs.

The bathroom was lovely and the room was well appointed. This is definately a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was plentify and served in the basement.

I would certainly rate the room 5 (excellent). The only reason I rated the hotel overall a 4 was the attitude of one of the staff. Although most were friendly they lacked a genuiness we found in other smaller hotels. One woman was very unhelpful.

Due to a mix up with dates we ended up spending 1 night a Hotel Sari Konak. It is a stones throw away. We stayed in a suite at Hotel Sari Konak which was very nice but the room could not compare to Acra. The Hotel Sari Konak had the advantage of a fabulous roof top terrace with great views of the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara. The breakfast food is fine but not as good as Acra however.

We enjoyed our stay in Istanbul but were disappinted with the food. Definately worth going to Bar 360. We took the shorter boat trip on the Bosphorous. It does not go as far but takes about 2 hours and goes at a nice slow pace near the shore, allowing you to better to see the sights rather than zig zag up the Bosphorous (which the main ferry does). We used the tram regularly and found the Akbil tag useful and cheaper. You can get Akbil at little booth/shops near the tram stops. You do not need 1 each- just swip it once for each person.

We paid 160 Euro per night for the family room for 4 in July.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My overall stay was great. It was my first time in Istanbul.
We stayed in Acra hotel from 26-31 July.
The hotel is in a perfect location (just 5 minutes walk to Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque) and the rooms are very comfortable. Even though it is really close to all major attractions, it is still very peaceful at night. Breakfast is very nice, with a nice selection. I can't write enough positive things about this hotel. So warm atmosphere. The staff never ends smiling and offering you many things. They are incredibly friendly and helpful, especially in finding your way around the city and to the sights. Lale was extremely helpful with her suggestions on what to do, where to eat etc. But also to mention Fatih, Oguz and Mesut. Thank you all for making our vacation unforgettable.
I highly recommend Acra hotel especially for those visiting the city for the first time and wanting to be close to all the major places of interest.
All the best from the couple who stayed in the room 406 :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoya_serbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Me and my wife,we stayed at the Acra hotel for 5 days, from 18/07/2011 to 23/07/2011.Hotel facilities were perfect,room was clean and spacious.It was a superior double room with view to Hagia Sophia.The hotel is 5 minutes walk from most of city's sightseeings.Hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast was superb.Definitely, I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: The room 403 has a balkony view to St. Sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFSTATHIOS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during a stopover and first visit to Istanbul on our way back from India to Canada. This was a great small hotel that we would happily stay at again!
Pickup from the airport arranged by the hotel was smooth. On arrival, we were very warmly greeted and welcomed by Lale and the other staff. Lale was present throughout our stay and was so friendly and wonderful to deal with - she is great! She also arranged a headache-free full refund on a city tour that did not go very well (not the hotel's fault).
Rooms are very nice. Average size for what is expected in Europe. Nice beds, nicely appointed, very clean and modern bathrooms. Awesome breakfast downstairs included in rate. Nice evening snacks. Great location in Sultanahmet if this is where you want to stay. The area is very touristy but is perfect for a first visit to Istanbul. Only negative would be that the walls are very thin, but that didn't bother me. You will have no problems staying here. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offshore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#260 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#118 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#241 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#380 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#40 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Property: Acra Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing