We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, well-run guesthouse”
Review of Agora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agora Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 1,257 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here for a week so got to know and appreciate the friendly team who run this little guesthouse. It's spotlessly clean and great value. Included in the price is a super breakfast buffet in the rooftop common room and terrace, which you can enjoy while looking out over the Bosporus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 785 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I realy enjoyed my stay at Agora Guesthouse,breakfast is fresh and very rich and open buffet,
Staff is realy helpfull for any questions you may have about the city.they give good advise for traveling all over the turkey or ask them where to go in istanbul.they are ready to help any moment 24/7 Thanks for everything and i will be came back soon for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portland34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing experience, had such a great time, met nice people. The hostel has an excellent location, and service , I would definitely go back to stay in this hostal. Highly recommended.you can get breakfast in the balcony with a beautiful view.staff is very nice and the bathrooms are very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in the hostel for ten nights during my two weeks' holiday in Turkey. The hostel is really close to all the major touristy attractions, restaurants and cafes! It's about five minutes to the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia. Staff working here are extremely friendly and helpful. I enjoyed having healthy breakfast at the roof terrace overlooking the Asian side of Istanbul, and having some good conversations with the staff there. I had to change my travel dates and the hostel was very flexible with me changing my dates around. Great service!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here on my visit to Istanbul with my husband. It is a great location to see the sights in the Old City. Walkable to everything.
The staff is very friendly and always available to help with information. I booked my room because of a recommendation from a friend. It lived up to the recommendation. I stayed in their apartment (guesthouse) not the hostel portion.
The breakfast was very good up on the rooftop with an amazing view. Couldn't have asked for more. I highly recommend this place. It is a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danakristip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is in a fabulous location in Sultanahmet just a few minutes from the Blue Mosque & I felt perfectly safe walking back from the mosque after coming back late at night. There is a few shops and hotels close by.

I stayed in a dorm on the ground floor and had a great time. The dorm had huge underbed lockers - and we all know backpackers love lockers. The staff were helpful, the breakfast every morning was lovely with a good selection and the rooftop terrace is lovely; it's a great place to socialise and the view is great! There is lots of showers and toilets and the wifi was good. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastasiasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We only had 2 nights in Istanbul- kind of a long layover- so we wanted something right in the heart of the old city. This definitely fit the bill. We walked everywhere we needed to go, except for the taxi to/from the guesthouse. The room was on the first floor facing the street and there were 3 twin beds. It was clean and comfortable. The biggest problem is that you just don't get much sleep with so much noise. There are lots of young people staying in the hostel floor, and then it's a major sightseeing area so the streets don't really roll up until after 1 am. There were always late night conversations right outside the front door of the guesthouse and we'd hear every one. Breakfast was on the rooftop- lovely view and good simple food. Wifi was ok by European standards and free. The staff is super helpful and dedicated. We used them to make arrangements for a Turkish bath and a Bosphorus cruise. I needed to pay cash for those to the guesthouse and they paid for me, but there's an ATM just a couple blocks from here that dispenses Euros or Lira. It seems like most places wanted cash and would take either form of currency. Credit cards aren't always welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,171 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,257 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,257 in Istanbul
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#12 of 1,257 in Istanbul
551 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#14 of 1,257 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#9 of 1,257 in Istanbul
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Guesthouse

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ak Biyik Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,257 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $12 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agora Guesthouse & Hotel is a boutique hotel created for the savvy, modern traveler. An edgy feel, online and personal interaction, and a spectrum of available room types make the Agora experience unique to the individual. Depending on budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities. Private rooms with private baths, wide screen TV with DVD player, air-conditioner, complimentary wireless Internet, mini bars, and direct-dial telephones and hair dryers.You will get to enjoy Agora’s home-made breakfasts which are served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Bosphorus and the Asiatic part of Istanbul. Agora is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. Our rooms are simple, stylish, and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spendthrift traveler. In-the-know 18-40 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. Agora Guesthouse and Hotel is located in the heart of Istanbul, only steps away from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Underground Cistern, 10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market, 10 minutes drive to Taksim square. Agora Guesthouse and hotel is sure to be Turkey's best and when you stay you'll see that Agora has included all the small details to ensure a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing