We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer Hotel with an old tradition of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Polatdemir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Polatdemir
Ranked #401 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Newer Hotel with an old tradition of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

As others have commented the location is everything to this hotel - right in the middle of the textile district and adjacent the Metro and tram lines. The staff of Polatdemir are the key: Very courteous, thorough and helpful in every way - from day trip advice to places such as restaurants and even the Grand Bazaar. The rooms are fairly spacious and kept very clean and well serviced.
Travelling solo as I do I appreciate a good morning meal to carry through my daily wanderings and Polatdemir did not disappoint there. Terrific range of breakfast items and snacks to take along for the day. Highly recommend this hotel especially if you are shopping for clothes as the night markets are awesome in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    75
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
79
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for four nights in May and found the location very convenient. The hotel is one block from the tram stop. Once on the tram, we were able to get to most tourist destinations - the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque, Haiga Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Spice (Egyptian) Market, Dolmabahce Palace, etc., as well as the ferry boats for the Bosphorus and Prince’s Islands. It was actually only a mile from the Grand Bazaar but we took the tram anyway. Taxi to and from the airport was about USD 25.

Even though we stayed on Floor 2 (which is actually the 4th floor by US designation), the street noise was not a problem. There is only one small elevator so the higher floors may actually be more inconvenient.

The included breakfast was much better than we have expected, for a hotel this size. There were one egg dish, a vegetable dish and a meat dish, which they tried to vary each day. The daily standard included hard/soft boiled eggs, fresh fruits in season, rolls and bread, dried cereals and a variety of nuts and dried fruits. Tea and coffee was good but the juices were a bit artificial tasting.

The room was a bit small but clean. We had twin beds and, by the time we laid out our two suitcases, there weren’t any room left. There was a desk/makeup counter but not enough room to sit at comfortably. The amenities were nice - hair drier, electric water pot for in-room coffee and tea, safe box, etc. The small refrigerated was not filled with “minibar” stuff so we had plenty of room for our own water and drinks.

The staff was friendly, helpful and spoke good English. The front desk was staffed 24/7 and was helpful during our 5 am departure for the airport. They offered to help us book local tours but we managed on our own.

All in all, we had good value for our money. I might have paid a bit more for a larger room if I were to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

A friend recommended the hotel and I was not disappointed. My husband and I stayed four nights here and we were very comfortable. The driver of the taxi we took from the airport knew exactly where it was located, and we had an easy time walking or taking the tram to the major sights. The breakfast buffet was very well done with a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, salads, fruits and more. We filled our bellies up each morning, which kept us going on our adventures around the city. The hotel staff was reasonably helpful with dinner suggestions, and although small, the room was quite cozy. In mid-April, the temperature was perfect without air-conditioning and the window cracked slightly. The only caveat was that since we stayed for several days, our room was not made up until after 4pm. We were out all day on the first two days, so this did not pose a problem; but when we returned at 3:30 on days three and four to take a nap before dinner, we found the room still unmade. If you are planning on coming back to the hotel before evening, I would suggest you request that your room be cleaned before your return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fermin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Because of it's central and very convenient location there was the reason for managers to have put the prices up ,what is not suitable for 3 star's level hotel ....I have been there twice due to the business reason for to purchase clothes for my shop what was very comfy to do -all what you need if you are shopper is just under the corner or on the same street -this is Laleli district for the business people who involved with fashion industry and buying an items in optimum.
About the main hotel -is quite calm ,not big at all ,some problems with elevator-too long to wait ,russian hotel i must admit ,but receptionists more turkish spoken ) Very nice buffet and restauraunt with really reasonable prices and good food,is not very old hotel so do no need any serious renovation yet,but rooms are tiny.

Room Tip: The best advice what i can give now for a next travelers is to be ready that there is very noisy out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeraPachkoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in good area to stay in. Close to metro/tram station. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfy and cozy although a bit smaller than we thought.
Lots of shops nearby for clothes, restaurants and groceries.
Breakfast was filling and what we needed to start everyday.

If you looking for a cozy place to rest after a full day of sightseeing, this is the place!

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Near of main attraction and great breakfast. I recommend to stay in this hotel. Is totally worthy! Staff are nice and the hotel is very comfortable. We visited main attraction by walking everything is close.

Helpful?
Thank Innsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zgharta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed at this hotel before the location is very good for shopping , just some step to tram station to go every in Istanbul , the room are clean and comfortable , the breakfast excellent , Hotel staff was very helpful , we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgesfenianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#615 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#436 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Prestige Hotel
#582 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
#520 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Misa Hotel
Misa Hotel
#507 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#308 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polatdemir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polatdemir

Property: Hotel Polatdemir
Address: Aksaray Cad. No:7 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polatdemir 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Polatdemir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing