We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast, Good Location, Wifi could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Polatdemir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Polatdemir
Ranked #401 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Good Location, Wifi could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel which is a two tram stops away from the grand bazaar (= walking distance) and a few more stops from Sultanahmet. So the location isn't prime (that would be Sultanahmet) but it's very easy to get around as it's on the tram line and the neighborhood is safe.

The rooms are small but nicely appointed. The breakfast buffet has a great selection of Turkish and western foods (from 7-10am). For dinner you will probably want to eat in another area as there is not a huge selection of good restaurants in walking distance.

The hotel has free wifi but reception in the room is very patchy (some rooms had virtually no wifi). Reception in the cafe is better but the cafe has no power points if you plan to spend a long time there.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarheaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    75
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
79
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel during a long (24 hour) layover in Istanbul. Very close to the metro line from the airport and the tram that can take you around the city. It is about a 15 to 20 minute walk to the major sites in the Sultanahmet district. The rooms were compact but very efficient and just fine for 2 people. The bathroom was small but well appointed. Good wifi and very helpful at the front desk, The best part is the free breakfast ~ what a spread! We went through the buffet twice so we could sample everything and it was all delicious. We tried to book in again when we returned to Istanbul the following week but sadly they were full as it was Easter week. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanHomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had an excellent stay in this boutique hotel! A very good breakfast nice rooms (although not very big). We would definitely come back !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Really nice hotel, much better than expected.

Rooms were small and cosy and they had the best showers!

Location is great as there are many touristic sites at close walking distance and plenty of shops for those shopaholics.

Really nice atmosphere with very friendly staff (and a cute manager ;) )

Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. We were in the 6th floor and we think it was better than in first -second floor because there was noise from traffic almost all day. The room was small but very good for two person. It was very very clean and the mattresses were perfect.Breakfast was tasty and you had to choose between many things.This hotel is in old town and it was easy to reach many monuments on foot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine-Tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Good place to stay, walking distance for old city attractions and immediate access to new city by tram. Bazaar and a lot of shops are just nearby. A lot of places were you can eat, I recommend the ones where you see locals eat, they do not serve alcohol but the food is very good and the prices are reasonable compared with the touristic ones. Rather small rooms, but did not bother us, we stayed 3 days. Great breakfast, still crowded from 9 to 10 am, you might need to wait for someone to finish before you can get a table.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with a street view if possible otherwise you will see just roofs and stove-pip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndaGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Pro:
- Newly furnished and well decorated rooms, especially the bathrooms are very tasteful (as much as I am thinking to buy the same tiles for my house). Overall you have the feeling to be at least in a 4 stars when you are in the room. You have some nice touches like complementary slippers.
- Good breakfast, for such a small hotel, there is a bit of everything and of good quality. And the waiters are really taking care of the room and guests.
- 50 meter from the tram stop, that takes you to the airport (with one change) or through most of the tourist destinations
- 300 meters from the metro line that goes directly to the airport
- Just off one of the main streets of old Istanbul. Within a 20 minutes’ walk you have the vast majority of tourist attraction and places to eat
- Some of the staff is very attentive and nice

Contra:
- Our room was of normal size, but some I have seen passing by are really tiny, so I suppose it is a matter of luck.

The only serious complaint I have is to the management:
1)You put a kettle with 2 tea bags and 2 instant coffees in the room and do not restock them? When we asked to get 2 tea bags at our 3rd day of stay, we were told that we could not as the policy was not to refill? Great move!! You saved something in the region of 0.05 lira and got two annoyed customers.
2) Even although most of your personnel are very good, some of them treats you like you are a nuisance. In particular I am referring to the man at reception the morning and early afternoon of the 8th of November (I was not able to see his badge). All the times we encountered this person during our stay, we have been not only ignored repeatedly, but he did act really annoyed of us just passing by, as if we were disturbing his internet browsing session. Now this is my review number 48, and I think it is the first time I bother to complaint about rude staff, but if this is his attitude, he should not work in the hospitality industry.
3) Sort out your reception area: even if you are short of space, it looks like a 1 star motel; with wooden boards holding up printers and generally messy. Not at all reflecting how nice the rest of the hotel is. If I had not already booked, I would have walked away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcp772000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#615 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#436 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Prestige Hotel
#582 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
#520 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Misa Hotel
Misa Hotel
#507 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#308 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polatdemir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polatdemir

Property: Hotel Polatdemir
Address: Aksaray Cad. No:7 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polatdemir 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Polatdemir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing