We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect city break in Istanbul!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Ottoman Hotel
Ranked #258 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect city break in Istanbul!”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

The hotel is in perfect location, very central. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and the hotel is lovely decorated and the rooms are brand new, and very nicely decorated, everything is just like on the pictures and hotel website, just even better! They offer transfer from or to the airport, and I would say that the transfer to the hotel is more important, as the airport is huge, and you simply want to settle down as smooth as possible - everything went perfectly well. We also asked them to arrange transfer on our way back, and it was also nice, and cheap - around 25 euros for two of us. Breakfast is good, and different every day, I liked it very much, as it is an opportunity to try some local specialties as well. The hotel restaurant is very good, with great barbecue, and also very good prices, you have to try it! The rooms are not that small considering that this is a central, city hotel. It is a bit noisy during the night, as there is a night club near by, but we had no problem sleeping. If you do not like noise, do not go to Istanbul, go to spa or countryside :) We got a nice fruit basket for New Year! Wi-Fi is also working well in the rooms, and it is free of charge.
Taksim square offers broad range of possibilities for exploring the city, as you can choose bus, metro, trams or taxis to go anywhere you want. Taxis are very cheap for a European city, we haven't paid more than 10 euros for any taxi ride. You can also walk to Sultanahmet if you like, it is around 5 km, but with so many things to see it is a very nice walking tour. You can also walk to Dolmabahce palace, even to Ortakoy or Fenar . I would really recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to see the best of Istanbul, and feel like it's citizen - as it's central location offers blending in, not like in some other areas (close to Grand Bazaar, for e.g.), where you cannot get rid of annoying shoe "cleaners", and souvenir sellers, and where everything is written on Russian or Italian, just to make the tourists feel like at "home" and buy as much as possible. As shopping was not our main preference, we wanted to avoid that hassle and explore the sites and the city. I would like to come here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razbibriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    80
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
64
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Hotel is great, staff is friendly and helpful. You certainly get your value for money, whether you book online or directly with the hotel.
Rooms are very cosy (see photos), new furniture and most importantly, hotel is very, very clean. All the staff is very friendly and at your disposal, from waiters, reception staff to manager Serpil.
After our four days stay, we have decided this is going to be "our Istanbul hotel" that we will be coming back to whenever there.
Location is perfect, just off the main street which makes it less noisy and enables you to sleep, yet just few steps away from the main happening.
Breakfast is nice, buffet type and you can additionally order anything you want.
The option of pick up at the airport if you are staying more than 3 nights is very nice and it was comforting to see the sign with your name at a busy airport in Istanbul.
Hotel is very near Taksim square (5min walk) where you can get the metro, bus, taxi to go to other parts of the city.
Really enjoyed this stay and will hopefully be going there soon again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ediba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights. Excellent location, very nice the pick up service from Ataturk after the 3 nights. Thanks to everyone who made my stay there comfortable and like my home.
I felt very safe and the breakfast is until late, after 11.00 if you lost the open buffet you can also take breakfast, they don't refuse you to serve you.
It is very clean and the bed is soooooooo nice also the pillows!!!
Thank you again and again ... and i will be there for sure, maybe on January, because the city is the most fabulous in the universe and the people are so nice...
I already recommended this hotel to 3 friends of mine.
If you want to take the bus to the airport , you can take the BUS 96T from Taksim square for 3 Turkish Lira and you can go directly to Ataturk Havalimani. For 50 minutes journey.
The Taksim square BuS Station from Santa Ottoman is only 3 minutes walk with the buggages.....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanillia_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I recommend hotel to my friends and family.
Scoring in the price-quality ratio is very high.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErolLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

My friend and myself had booked two rooms, at the Santa Ottoman, for one night, in the middle of a two-week trip to Turkey. We were so impressed by our welcome, and the rooms, that we decided to return, at the end of our trip, for two further nights.
The Santa Ottoman is expertly run by the lovely Serpil. This lady is a gem - the hotel (and friendliness of the staff) is a reflection of her warm, friendly and professional attitude! Nothing was too much trouble!
The recently renovated Santa Ottoman is pristene. The beautiful rooms are of good size and have small balconies and the beds are excellent, having the type of mattresses which just hug the body.
The Santa Ottoman is situated at the corner of two side-streets, only 30 seconds walk from the pedestrianised Istiklal Street and only two minutes from Taksim Square. Trams, buses and the Metro are all at hand.
Although in the centre of things, with bars, restaurants and shops on the doorstep, the Santa Ottoman is a quiet hotel which provides an excellent base for visiting this wonderful cosmopolitan city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed in santa ottoman with my family for one week, everything was perfect; the rooms were very clean (blankets and bathrooms) and smell nice and the staff members were really helpful and freindly BUT we had a problem with the safe it was not working and they tried to fix it but it stayed for the whole week unworking. Its a very small hotel about 20 rooms only so it was very quiet and we felt like we stayed at home but there were no connected rooms. Overall the whole hotel was VERY CLEAN but actually it was just reconstructed before my visit so thats why it was so clean.
The location is PERFECT, it is located in a small quiet street about 200 meters or less from Istiklal street and about 500 meters from taksim square where you can find the bus stop or metro. Concerning the breakfast it was not that perfect but it was good. If I visit Istanbul again I'll definately stay at Santa ottoman Botique..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hebmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#471 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Beyoglu
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#274 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#369 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Taxim Hill Hotel
Taxim Hill Hotel
#912 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#139 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#341 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ottoman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ottoman Hotel

Property: Santa Ottoman Hotel
Address: Sehitmuhtar Mahallesi, Kurabiye Sokak, No:1, Istanbul 34200, Turkey (Formerly Santa Ottoman Boutique Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ottoman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream of a city, a city of dreams; a place of fantasies-come-true; a glorious city, the seat of successive empires for two millennia; the only city on Earth to straddle two continents; an eternal city with sensual perfumes of love and mystery and pleasures beyond the ordinary; an amalgam of Asia and Europe, of the new and the time-honored and of Anatolian breezes redolent of jasmine and honeysu Our commodious boutique-hotel sits inside the heart of modern Istanbul, in Beyoglu/Pera, minutes from Taksim, seconds from youthful and exciting Istiklal Caddesi, within easy reach of cultural institutions, world-heritage mega-sites, exuberant entertainment, unforgettable and delicious dining and affordable quality-shopping. A stay with us is a safe, clean and luxurious way to visit Istanbul from inside its heart. We offer you a home away from home, with friendly, professional service and every amenity you deserve as you discover this timeless city. A hotel to revisit often; a hotel to cherish. Situated just a few steps to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, Santa Ottoman is 100 metres to Taksim Metro Station. It offers Ottoman, Baroque and Boutique decorated rooms with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with cable channels. All rooms at Santa Ottoman Hotel come with free tea/coffee making facilities, minibar and a safety deposit box. The bathrooms include a hairdryer and free amenities. The Hotel’s reception and tour desk is available 24/7. Free WiFi is accessible in all rooms. A rich breakfast is served daily. Restaurant serves traditional dishes and guests can enjoy a refreshing drink at the bar. Room service is also available. Taksim Metro and Bus Station allows easy access to important districts and landmarks such as historical Sultanahmet Grand Bazaar area and Galata Tower. Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Centre is just a 10-minute walk from Santa Ottoman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Ottoman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing