We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best option, but an option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Ottoman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Ottoman Hotel
Ranked #282 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not the best option, but an option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed there from May/4th to May/5th. The room was big enough for just one night (a corner room). Wi-fi connection worked properly. The BIGGEST problem was a big party was happening on the hotel's restaurant, and really high music was playing from 5:00 pm up to, at least, 2:00 am. Planned to sleep a little before going out for a night club, but was unable to do.

Booked thru Booking.com, and the address they provide the guests is not the actual one. This one on the Tripadvisor is the correct one. The hotel is pretty close to the Taksim square, in a parallel street to Istiklal St., close to the French Embassy (for your reference).

The hotel staff has poor english skills.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diego40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    79
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
61
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed for six nights (May 2-8) at Santa Ottoman. It was overall a pleasant experience. The staff of the hotel is friendly and eager to help. The rooms are clean and have all the basic comforts. its location, very close to the Taksim square, was excellent for the purposes of my trip. The only problem was the noise coming up from the street, but it is extremely difficult to find a quiet street in Beyoglu. Taksim is an especially noisy neighborhood. I would consider staying there again in my next visit to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less affected less from the noise coming up from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimostenis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Most business-travel in Istanbul makes it necessary to be around the Taksim area. There are many-many hotels, but the best are prohibitively expensive, the worst are intolerable, and those in the middle are hit and miss. I've stayed in many of the ones in the middle, but the absolute best is the affordable and epicentrally located Santa Ottoman. The rooms are not huge but very well appointed. The noise is insulated. The service is beyond excellent. The beds are very comfortable. I feel very at home there and I am about a five minute walk of anywhere I need to be. I recommend it very highly as it offers luxury at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are better laid out with a small living area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guriev, Atyrau, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel has a great location (Taksim square), clean rooms and very friendly and useful staff. We didn't experience any problem with internet/phone connection. We stayed there for 2 nights only, thus we were not offered a free transportation (it works for more than 3 nights), but they can handle taxi arrangement to and from airport as i was told. There was a little problem with our reservation, which we realized at check-in, but it solved very easy...so i wish everyone enjoy their stay at Santa Ottoman!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammamet, Tunisia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

at the heart of Taksim Square rellay enjoyed the stat, friendly personnel; the rooms were very clean nearly cleaned twice a day !! the Breakfast is more than correct and served even after 11 ockolck !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crucible574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very nice and clean hotel.The breakfast was n't something special but it was good and it was served until 12.00 on Sundays.The stuff was very polite especially Onur ,who also speaks Greek.We have a little problem with the Internet connection but they tried a lot to solve it.The location is great.Very close to taxim square.I will recommend it of course again.Bathroom was cleaned every day.We didn't have any problem with outside noise as we had read before visit the hotel.We found a little problem with our reservation at the first day but it solved very easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Santa Ottoman one of the best hotels I've been too, (itwon't be for picky people as it is not very fancy) I've been there twice, 1st was in my Honey moon, and guess what? next year same time i went again with my wife
each time was more than 5 nights so we had a free transportation to the hotel, which was amazing, we didn't have to look for a taxi, the location of the hotel is amazing it is about 3 mins walking to Takseem square which is the main square where you find all transportation nice restaurants and coffee shops.
for the hotel it is value is great, 44 euros including breakfast for two, was great may be it was a little off season i was lucky.
the breakfast is amazing, every day new menu so we were never board, Turkish food in nice any way, rooms were always clean,maids are really funny they don't speak any English, but they were funny. not all stuff speaks good English, which was going to put me in a trouble as i was there and the time was going to change 1 hour, and when i ask the girl in the reception she told me no, and i was going to miss my flight, but any way rather than that they are really nice and funny. the Hotel is not very fancy as i said, but really clean, in a very vital place, and it is 50 m from Istiqlal street, it is about 1.5km of shops and restaurants no care are allowed there it is only for walking. and in turkey no one needs fancy hotels, you have to go out. so Santa Ottoman is the best place to be there

Room Tip: choose the rooms on the corner of the hotel it is bigger i think it was 202 so the 2 room in any flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islamShama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Beyoglu
Aston Residence
Aston Residence
#390 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#371 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#267 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Beyoglu
Taksim Metropark Hotel
Taksim Metropark Hotel
#497 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#352 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ottoman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ottoman Hotel

Property: Santa Ottoman Hotel
Address: Sehitmuhtar Mahallesi, Kurabiye Sokak, No:1, Istanbul 34200, Turkey (Formerly Santa Ottoman Boutique Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ottoman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream of a city, a city of dreams; a place of fantasies-come-true; a glorious city, the seat of successive empires for two millennia; the only city on Earth to straddle two continents; an eternal city with sensual perfumes of love and mystery and pleasures beyond the ordinary; an amalgam of Asia and Europe, of the new and the time-honored and of Anatolian breezes redolent of jasmine and honeysu Our commodious boutique-hotel sits inside the heart of modern Istanbul, in Beyoglu/Pera, minutes from Taksim, seconds from youthful and exciting Istiklal Caddesi, within easy reach of cultural institutions, world-heritage mega-sites, exuberant entertainment, unforgettable and delicious dining and affordable quality-shopping. A stay with us is a safe, clean and luxurious way to visit Istanbul from inside its heart. We offer you a home away from home, with friendly, professional service and every amenity you deserve as you discover this timeless city. A hotel to revisit often; a hotel to cherish. Situated just a few steps to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, Santa Ottoman is 100 metres to Taksim Metro Station. It offers Ottoman, Baroque and Boutique decorated rooms with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with cable channels. All rooms at Santa Ottoman Hotel come with free tea/coffee making facilities, minibar and a safety deposit box. The bathrooms include a hairdryer and free amenities. The Hotel’s reception and tour desk is available 24/7. Free WiFi is accessible in all rooms. A rich breakfast is served daily. Restaurant serves traditional dishes and guests can enjoy a refreshing drink at the bar. Room service is also available. Taksim Metro and Bus Station allows easy access to important districts and landmarks such as historical Sultanahmet Grand Bazaar area and Galata Tower. Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Centre is just a 10-minute walk from Santa Ottoman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Santa Ottoman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing