We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Constantine Hotel
Ranked #234 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Romania - Bucharest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Excellent choice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel's main asset maybe isn’t the hotel itself, but his staff, starting with the general manager and finishing with the youngest employee. They are doing really everything for all their guests to enjoy the stay in the Constantine hotel. Very good position in the old city, close to the all main attractions. There is a tram line just in front of the hotel door (but not so noisy how i read before) so you can reach easy everything (the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia – but be ready for a long queue -, the Grand Bazaar and also Galata bridge and tower and Dolmabahce palace. The area is full of good restaurants, with delicious turkish and ottomans dishes. Thanks to the staff, we had two double rooms at ground level, very nice, large, clean and well kept. Breakfast was good enough, served in the restaurant who has a traditional turkish scene.
I fully recommend this hotel and I would like to visit it again, even if only for enjoy the great hospitality, friendship and kindness of the staff. You can not believe how friendly and helpful are these people, you simply must to test this. Many thanks again to Mr. Erhan Celik, to Oktay, Selma, Attilla, Alaattin and the young lady who serve the breakfast. This my second vacation in Istanbul was a wonderful experience and I did a great deal when I chose, from the multitude of offers, the Constantine hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask to the reception staff to give you the best room they have free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank CristianBordei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    110
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
74
149
63
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to all of the major sites from Topaki Palace, the Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Spice Market and the Grand Bazaar. The staff is friendly and helpful with a decent command of English. We spent one night there in a room that was pretty gritty around the edges with a bathtub that did not work and a shower that was barely function. Because we had booked it for another two nights, we returned to a much smaller room, meaning VERY SMALL but functional. It was cleaner with a functioning shower and clean linens. There is only one outlet in the room for charging your computer, etc. There was a working mini fridge and air conditioner. We had a room on the second floor that was right above the tram. It is not quite, but if you close the window, it is less noisy and the tram does not run all night. I don't think this hotel is a particularly good value for what you get, but perhaps you are paying for location. We paid about $120/night. Breakfast is unremarkable. Wifi was free and worked well in the rooms.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room right over the tram in the front of the hotel. It is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is the best thing about it. I stayed in a three bed room, which was of a good size, one double and one single bed. It was only one small duvet in the double, which was quite surprising considering it was booked for three colleages. The beds were quite firm. The minibar was not very cold. But everything was clean and fresh. Surprised to find only two sets of towels, but got another one on request. First floor on street side pretty noisy because of the trams, but luckily they didnt run all night. A bit annoying having to share one key card between three members of a larger group, when we delivered the key card, they had to program it again when we asked for our key, a bit complicated. The breakfast was very very basic, and you have to pay extra to get turkish coffee. Nescafe is included, but tastes strongly of tea, as you have to pour hot water from the tea samovar. Recommend just having the tea, which you can mix as strong as you desire, really wakes you up in the morning. The staff was pleasant. My opinion is that this hotel is overrated here at tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here over Easter having booked few months in advance on the hotel's own website which worked out cheapest for a change. The rate was reasonable.

The location is superb literally opposite the Gulhane tram stop and suprisingly its not that noisy. Wlaking distance of Blue Mosqua, Haghia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, with Domabahce about 15 mins away on the tram. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance and quite a few of those offer Ottoman Cuisine.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and one of them even took me to a late night pharmacy on his way home quite some distance away when my wife got sunstroke and needed medication.

We had a standard twin room which I felt was rather small. Not much space either side of the bed or at the end. We had considered a deluxe room but felt the difference in cost was too much. Room is reasonably appointed and presumably the air con remote is available when the weather's hotter as it wasn't in the room at the time.

Contrary to what I've read elsewhere on here, breakfast was ok but got a bit dull after a few days. I would imagine its a typical Turkish breakfast with continental salad items, cakes, a few cereals, dried fruit such as figs and apricots, etc. There were 3 hot options: a filo pastry twist with cheese inside, some form of sausage in sauce and hard boiled eggs. I was dissappointed that the orange on offer is effectively cordial rather than proper juice. Its pretty much the same breakfast every day bar a couple of the cakes being different.

The Hotel's own restaurant next door the Han (a kebab type effort) was a little pricey for what you get. The food is good but I didn't think it was particularly good value for money compared to others. We ate at several ottoman restaurants which were much more exotic whilst still had more reasonable prices.

Avoid the restaurant next door but one (not related to the hotel in anyway), although their food was cheaper, their mixed kebab was terrible and their speciality soup severely lacking in flavour.

Overall I've no major complaints, but I would look at other hotels if I went back.

Room Tip: Avoid the economy rooms and pick the deluxe over the standard rooms to give you more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location of the Sultanahmet district, very convienient for sightseeing and exploring the most important byzantine and ottoman monuments of Istanbul. Just outside of the hotel is a tram station. The hotel, the rooms and the bathrooms were very clean. The breakfast was rich, with a great variety for all tastes and the hotel's restaurant provided delightful traditional turkish cuisine. The wifi facilities was very convienient for reaching internet. The personel was very kind and helpful. Mr. Oktay' s and Mr. Alandin' s kindness and sence of hospitality made me think to stay in the same hotel next time I will visit Istanbul. The combination of location, services and facilities provided and price make one of the best choises for those who wish to stay in Sultanahmet when they travel to Istanbul. I would recommend it without any hesitation. Evi, Greece

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

First of all the location is excellent as it is located in the heart of Sultanhaned. The entrance of the hotel is just next to the tram stop. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was of a good size and clean. Finally there is an good kebab restaurant ($$$), The Han, just next to the hotel entrance. price is too good, i paid 90$ per night. Serivce is very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_Idriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Constantine Hotel's location makes it a very attractive place to stay if you are on a sightseeing tour of Istanbul. The tram station is right in front of the hotel and most tourist attractions are a walking distance away. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and communication with staff was excellent. Rooms were very clean and fresh, breakfast was excellent and service exceptional. Airport transfer was organised by the hotel at an affordable rate so transportation was stress free. There are great shops and cafes all walking distance way. We were greeted with fresh Turkish tea and coffee upon our arrival and also departing which added to an amazing experience in Istanbul. I will not hesitate to recommend Constantine to anyone travelling to Istanbul on a sightseeing trip. Great location, great service, great staff!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YutahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#244 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#425 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#255 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Amisos Hotel
Amisos Hotel
#546 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#192 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#485 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Constantine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Constantine Hotel

Property: The Constantine Hotel
Address: Alemdar Cad No 19, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Constantine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constantine Hotel is a modern and stylishly designed boutique hotel oasis with a warm welcome and attentive service in the heart of the old city. Whether enjoying a peaceful and relaxing stay in one of the contemporary and highly comfortable bedrooms,the Constantine Hotel in Istanbul ensures a personal touch by professional and dedicated people who take pride in their efforts to make each and every guest especially welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Constantine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing