We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Constantine Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very strategic location. Beside Gulhane stop, near the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern and Hagia Sophia (all within 5 minutes walk). 10 minutes walk from Grand Bazar. Many restaurant and shops near hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi connection is very good as well.
The only thing that made me not giving a 5 star was because the electricity was down every morning for 2-3 hours for two days (we stay 5 nights).

Room Tip: Choose room with a view to Topkapi palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salomogaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 472 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Price and location - lots of restos, little shops and close to the main sights. I was moved here after my original choice became unavailable. They upgraded me to a deluxe room. Tip: It's right at the Gulhane tram stop. You can take the Metro out of the airport to Zeytinburnu station (the sixth stop), then walk across to the adjacent tramway platform and take one that goes to Sirkesi or Kabatas. Gulhane is the stop after Sultanahmet. You'll need coins or small bills up to 20 Turkish lire to buy a 3 lire token (US$1.80) from automatic dispensers at each entrance. You'll need one for the Metro and one for the Tram. When you pull money out of the ATM it likely comes in 50 TL bills. Break one by buying a bottle of water at the terminal. The whole trip is 30-40 minutes door-to-door. (It once took an hour and a half by taxi)

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side expose you to the tram stop announcement "Gulhane" (GOOL-haneh) e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z-fritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent choice. Perfect downtown location, wonderful hotel, friendly staff, especially the receptionist Maya. A large number of most popular historical sites is a 5-minute walk away, the Grand Bazaar in 10-15min walk. T1 tram stop outside the hotel, the links with the airport and other parts of the city are great! Hotel clean and tidy, breakfast rich and good. We are very pleased my husband and I, we will choose this hotel when we go to Istanbul. Internet was also good! Rooms warm (central heating) and always warm water in bathroom (which was not in hotel in Roma (Italy) we visited, with 4 stars! ).

Room Tip: If you want to have view to Topkapi palace and Aya Sophia, then choose rooms becide Gulhane tram sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nedeljkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent facilities, friendly staff, central location: this hotel has it all for the price. We stayed only one night, as we were in transit and flying to Cappadocia the following morning. The manager had our breakfast ready at 4am! And also upgraded our room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is really great, the location is near tram statiotn, so U can get any destination in Istanbul without any problems. The rooms are clean and big. There is a mini bar in the room with very good prices, like in town. The staff was very friendly, helpful, is speaking in several languages and it was just a pleasure to talk with them. The service at this hotel is excellent. They can provide U some drinks free of charge. The breakfast is also really good and tasty. Specially thanks to Ms. Maiya at reception.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlegOdsUkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in October - thank you to Oktay and Ipek for their friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism. They went out of their way to help. We were happy with our room and bathroom, clean and functional. Terrific location - we could walk almost everywhere and enjoyed having the tram right on our doorstep. Enjoyed the restaurant next door, especially chatting to Jack. Thank you, Constantine Hotel, Jackie and Estelle, South Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked after reading about this hotel on tripadvisor and found things pretty much as expected, clean and tidy, repetitive breakfast, avoid restaurant at night. Fantastic location!!!
We arrived early on a morning and found the guy on reception extra helpful, even lent us 10tl to pay the taxi!! Lots of help to make arrangements via internet whilst we were there. Our room however was right at the front and I could have reached out and touched the trams! The actual noise of the trams I could have tolerated but the bing bongs and the recorded ladies voice telling passengers where they were was just too much so I asked for a room at the back. Again staff very helpful and sorted this for us. The view was awful but to be honest what do you want from an economy room? Room cleaned daily, good shower, comfy bed and a good nights sleep, my needs were met!!
Reception staff sorted some laundry for us and overall were excellent. I got the impression they had just took over and are working hard to improve things. I think this hotel gives value for money, if you want better then pay more!!

Room Tip: Avoid the front if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gadabout010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#509 of 1,175 in Istanbul
32 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
#569 of 1,175 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Konak Hotel
Ferman Konak Hotel
#257 of 1,175 in Istanbul
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#224 of 1,175 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#174 of 1,175 in Istanbul
371 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#314 of 1,175 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Constantine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Constantine Hotel

Address: Alemdar Cad No 19, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $40 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Constantine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constantine Hotel is a modern and stylishly designed boutique hotel oasis with a warm welcome and attentive service in the heart of the old city. Whether enjoying a peaceful and relaxing stay in one of the contemporary and highly comfortable bedrooms,the Constantine Hotel in Istanbul ensures a personal touch by professional and dedicated people who take pride in their efforts to make each and every guest especially welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Constantine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing