We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location, amazing view”
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rast Hotel
Ranked #191 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location, amazing view”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Rast is 5 minutes walk from the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Bascilla cistern, T1 tram stop and 10 minutes from the Grand Bazaar. It is the perfect tourist location.

The special thing about the Rast is the view. The rooftop breakfast terrace has an incredible panorama ranging from the Bosphorus Bridge to the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara. It is spellbinding.

We stayed in one of the 5th floor suites which had a huge private sit out terrace, with chairs and a table and a similar view to the 6th floor rooftop terrace. This meant we could sit out and relax at any time of day. This made a real difference given the bustle of Istanbul and the amount of sight seeing we crammed in.

The double glazing blocked out the low level of city noise and the AC worked well. Room was comfy and quite traditional. Staff were pleasant, wifi worked well and the airport pickup service was great.

I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: 5th floor gets the views. Don't think lower floors do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    235
    75
    12
    5
See reviews for
168
293
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
qld
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Located in Sultanahmet, close to trams, Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace etc. this hotel must have the best view in Istanbul from the roof top restaurant. The rooms are fine, comfortable bed, small bathroom but everything works. Air con was very efficient.The staff were excellent with good advice as to restaurants, transport and tours. This was our second stay at the Rast. We have recommended the hotel to several friends who have been equally happy there.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josieQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Peeling wallpaper and a leaky tub, yet I give it 4-5 stars! 3 of us were in a 2nd floor room over the lobby entrance - a queen and a twin bed. Location is fantastic - steps away from essential sites for 1st time visitors, food, tram, ATM, and shopping. We never heard the calls to prayer from our room and occasional street noise did not keep us from falling asleep immediately nor wake us before we were ready to get up. Mattresses were consistent with a 3 star (amenity-wise) hotel. The front desk was very helpful, full of suggestions, with nice personalities. And they have free maps available. They also placed a delivered package in our room for us. Now, the view from the rooftop breakfast terrace - amazing. If this site allows for a video clip upload, be sure to look for mine - brief panorama. Dusk is when the Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque turn on their exterior lights - a beautiful sight from the hotel terrace but it will be BYOB and glasses discreetly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonaj827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The great service started out at the airport, we were picked up right away and taken to hotel. The hotel is located in the middle of all the major sites for easy walking access and the tram is on the main street for farther expeditions. The buffet breakfast offered wide variety of delicious food and friendly helpful staff made eggs the way you like. The free WiFi worked well even for VOIP. Rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh linens, towels, when it was convenient for us. We stayed 11 days and our visit to Istanbul was greatly enhanced because I choose this hotel using Trip Advisor in the first place. Thank you especially to Mr.Issiy and Ms. Sevgi, you were awesome!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine as the rooftop area is available anytime for sitting over a beautiful view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is a little hotel located ten meters from the main street and very near the most important points of interest in Istanbul. In general the hotel and room were very clean.
The room was small but it had a balcony with a nice view. The bathroom seemed to have been renewed a little while ago and was spacious. There is free WiFi, safe in the room, fridge and desk. The staff were very friendly.
Breakfast had a wide range of food (very tasty) and the view from there was spectacular both during the day and at night (The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Bosphorus).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edu-Adri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel was in the perfect position to explore Istanbul. It was close to the tram and the main sights Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and the grand Bazar. An ATM was 20 metres away.The views from the breakfast terrace were amazing. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They had tea making facilities and you could open the door on the tiny balcony to get fresh air. Staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Sevgi and Hanife in the Restaurant. We were able to leave our luggage in the hotel for 2 weeks while we toured Turkey and there was no problem arriving at 1 am after a late flight. I would recommend the Hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opatija, Croatia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Terrible experience. It was agreed to transfer from the airport to the hotel. Upon arrival at the airport 1.5 hours no one came to get me. Upon arrival at the hotel I went to lunch, which is listed in the hotel offer a surcharge of 20 euros, but I was told that today there is no lunch. At 7 o'clock I went to dinner, which is calculated in the reservation, but they said that no chef and no dinner. All in all a very bad experience. Only worth is the location and view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina_G1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,462 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#249 of 1,141 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#114 of 1,141 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#113 of 1,141 in Istanbul
454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#308 of 1,141 in Istanbul
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Property: Rast Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#189 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing