We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and breakfast”
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rast Hotel
Ranked #206 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location and breakfast”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is a little hotel located ten meters from the main street and very near the most important points of interest in Istanbul. In general the hotel and room were very clean.
The room was small but it had a balcony with a nice view. The bathroom seemed to have been renewed a little while ago and was spacious. There is free WiFi, safe in the room, fridge and desk. The staff were very friendly.
Breakfast had a wide range of food (very tasty) and the view from there was spectacular both during the day and at night (The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Bosphorus).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edu-Adri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    236
    76
    12
    5
See reviews for
170
293
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel was in the perfect position to explore Istanbul. It was close to the tram and the main sights Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and the grand Bazar. An ATM was 20 metres away.The views from the breakfast terrace were amazing. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They had tea making facilities and you could open the door on the tiny balcony to get fresh air. Staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Sevgi and Hanife in the Restaurant. We were able to leave our luggage in the hotel for 2 weeks while we toured Turkey and there was no problem arriving at 1 am after a late flight. I would recommend the Hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opatija, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Terrible experience. It was agreed to transfer from the airport to the hotel. Upon arrival at the airport 1.5 hours no one came to get me. Upon arrival at the hotel I went to lunch, which is listed in the hotel offer a surcharge of 20 euros, but I was told that today there is no lunch. At 7 o'clock I went to dinner, which is calculated in the reservation, but they said that no chef and no dinner. All in all a very bad experience. Only worth is the location and view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina_G1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaitape, French Polynesia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days during my fourth trip to Istanbul. The hotel is conveniently located between Sultanahmet/Hagia Sophia/Topkapi/Basilica Cistern on one hand and the Grand Bazar on the other and is therefore close to two tram stops. Breakfast is served on the roof which in Istanbul means that the view is amazing -- Rast Hotel is unique in that it offers views of both Sultanahmet and Hagia Sophia while almost all other hotels overlook one of these places. The breakfast was the best I had during all my stays in Istanbul in terms of quality and variety. The hotel cannot be faulted really but if I have to say something, I would strongly recommend they change the furniture which looks that it's either pretty old or cheesy and fake vintage. Highly recommended all in all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GMR83Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just the fact you can look over Blue Mosque from the breakfast bar says it all! Everything in Sultanahmet is near by.

Staffs were very friendly. I arrived there at 3 am but still warmly welcomed :) Also, rushing out to checkout, I left some of my stuff and when I came back to the hotel to find it 3 days later, they still had it and kindly returned it to me (I expected they'd already throw it away). Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Room was well cleaned everyday for 4 days. The bed was comfortable and loved the terrace.

BUT... the shower booth was tiny and the whole bathroom was tiny! And the drain was not working quick enough and there was always a little pool after my shower, which made me feel like I should finish washing myself as soon as possible. Not good after hours of exploring Istanbul when we need a hot relaxing shower. Someone told me that was the way in Turkey so I didn't get it fixed. But now having stayed other hotels in Istanbul and elsewhere in Turkey, I know it wasn't normal. Maybe my bad.

Overall, it was a standard, average hotel! You'll find few negative opinions about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freshppang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

A very well placed hotel for exploring the city. We found the staff very helpful,likewise locals offering assistance. No persistent hassle from traders & a coughing fit outside a shop & a glass of water was offered. Our guide Halit was very knowledgeable & kind, we enjoyed the food & would recommend this as a city break to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

A functional hotel, with very good service from the guys on the front desk.

The room was functional, and comfortable. The decor was dated but that adds to the charm.

There was a great view from the roof terrace which was where breakfast is staged, although it does not transform into a bar later in the day. We booked it because we thought it had a roof bar, but no.

Having said that many other hotels had roof tops which were bars so that solved that problem.

Nice central location, which makes it easy to walk to the main areas and attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrencemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#79 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#245 of 1,154 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#96 of 1,154 in Istanbul
465 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#202 of 1,154 in Istanbul
394 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ares Hotel
Ares Hotel
#198 of 1,154 in Istanbul
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Property: Rast Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#188 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing