We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rast Hotel-definitely a good place to stay”
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rast Hotel
Ranked #202 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rast Hotel-definitely a good place to stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were booked into the Rast Hotel by Medhills Travel when we visited Turkey. It is an old hotel in the old part of Istanbul. Yes, the rooms are small but that is to be expected in an older hotel. But that being said we would definitely stay there again. It is within walking distance to The Blue Mosque, Topaki Palace, Grand Bazaar and The Spice Market. It is in a great area with lots of restaurants and stores. The staff is great and the view from their restaurant is absolutely amazing. The buffet breakfast has a large variety of hot and cold dishes and fresh fruit. Everyone there goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. We would recommend this hotel if your are looking for a hotel that is in the center of Old Istanbul.
Thom and Marilyn Weir
Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskTravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    234
    75
    12
    5
See reviews for
166
293
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very easy to book online to receive special discounts for long stay (+4 days) and free round trip IST transfers.
Buffet breakfast included from 7:00-10:30am. Range of cookies and sweet cakes overshadow real breakfast items of hard boiled eggs, daily casserole dish, cheeses and cold cuts (2/3 of which are eerily deep artificial pink). The coffee bar will also make you espresso drinks for a small price. Views from both sides of the dining room.
Fifth floor is all suites, meaning larger rooms (not really suites) with balcony spectacular view of Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. Amenities also include shaving kits and scrubbies, not included in regular rooms which is a plethora of shampoos, conditioners, body wash and lotion. The latter two smell like apple, the former two like old ladies. The negative point of room 502 is that early morning breakfasters drag their chairs on the floor above your head in the morning making a horrendous noise.
Great location 1-2 min walk from Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. 15 mins to Eminönü for ferries. 5 mins to Grand Bazaar. At night a walk up Divan Yolu (following tram) will take you to knock off night markets and street markets.
But we gotta talk about room cleanliness- the beds, sheets, tables are fine, but the bathroom has much to be desired. The shower leaked continuously onto the tile floor, wetting our bathmat and eventually our towels and socks. We asked them every day to fix but to no avail. It's still leaking on our third night. In addition, there was soap scum and black mold everywhere, from the shower stall to the wall even on the shower head. See pictures. So icky!
I would stay here again if they fixed all these issues but most likely not if they don't.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BP8C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We (two couples) spent 4 nights in the Rast Hotel during our holiday to Turkey. The hotel has an excellent location in the old city, a short walk to many places of interest The rooms are smallish but good, and the hotel restaurant is excellent. The restaurant has a superb view and we were very happy with the food. The hotel staff (including the restaurant staff) are very helpful. If returning to Istanbul we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I'm not a fan of writing , so i will go straight into the point :
The Good :
- Great location in center of sultan Ahmed area and very near from tram station and old city
- Clean rooms and bath
- Friendly staff specially Ihsan( call him self Eisa also ) at the reception , he was a perfect advisor in our trip , perfect English and always ready to help .
- restaurant on the roof was one of the best , very nice view , very good breakfast , friendly staff .
- Room service were very good and hardly noticed when they do their job
- total isolation from street noise once the window is closed
- two massage chairs at the lobby
Bad:
- bathroom little bit small , for me no problem but for large people would be narrow
- one elevator for the hotel used for both visitors and employees
- Food selection for lunch is somehow limited and not always available
- only one pillow per bed and one extra pillow in the room but they were all not comfortable .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed_El_Bendary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a triple room. Room was a decent size. The 3 of us guys had plenty of room. 3 single beds, mini bar, nice bathroom,large safe,free wi fi (that actually worked brilliantly.strong signal), what more could you ask for ? Room was also cleaned daily.
The lobby area has computers with internet free if charge.
If you stay 3 nights or more, there is a free transfer from the airport upon request.hotel staff were waiting for us when we arrived and took our bags inside. We were given a complimentary drink and some tips on things to do in Istanbul.
As others have said, the view from the breakfast terrace is amazing. Pictures don't do it justice. Has to be seen to believe how beautiful the view is.Fantastic location,walking distance from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia etc.
Stay Here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bronx1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOP, Chankaya, Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I experienced: one attentive desk clerk, and one indifferent one; firm mattress, small room, quiet from street noise with door to tiny balcony closed, very ample breakfast included, great location for traditional tourism and shopping, convenient cab rides to other areas, good not great view from rooftop cafe,lounge of Hagia Sofia and sultanahmet mosque.

Room Tip: room 501 is ample in size and has a great view. 502 faces good view too. both have true balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EGStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

5 mins walk to Blue Mosque and 10 mins walk to Great Bazaar. You could almost walk to everywhere of Istanbul old city from the hotel.
And we really enjoyed eating breakfast with the fabulous view on the top floor. Sea, bird, blue mosque, hagia sofia and the Istanbul old city.
The staff was helpful but not that welcoming compared to the other Turkish people.
We booked whirling dervish and airport transport through the hotel which was very convenient.
Sadly I lost my phone in the hotel and they can't find it.
Hotels in Istanbul are really expensive, you could find a much better hotel in most other main cities in the world.

Room Tip: Triple room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mengmeng0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#562 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#247 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#82 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Property: Rast Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#189 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing