We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rast Hotel
Ranked #206 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

5 mins walk to Blue Mosque and 10 mins walk to Great Bazaar. You could almost walk to everywhere of Istanbul old city from the hotel.
And we really enjoyed eating breakfast with the fabulous view on the top floor. Sea, bird, blue mosque, hagia sofia and the Istanbul old city.
The staff was helpful but not that welcoming compared to the other Turkish people.
We booked whirling dervish and airport transport through the hotel which was very convenient.
Sadly I lost my phone in the hotel and they can't find it.
Hotels in Istanbul are really expensive, you could find a much better hotel in most other main cities in the world.

Room Tip: Triple room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mengmeng0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    236
    76
    12
    5
See reviews for
170
293
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfsberg, Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

You could not get a better location to the major tourist sites. Staff were helpful, breakfast excellent, rooftop views magnificent and the rooms clean and functional. I lost my purse in Restaurant and they picked it up for me and sent it to my home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed a total of 4 nights at the Rast.

Location is extremely close to the Ayya Sofya and the Blue mosque. And the Sultanahmet Tram station just 100m away.

Lots of restaurants around the area

Rooms are alright, not too small though the showers are a little dirty and leaky. Might be noisy at night.

Wifi Internet is stable and of acceptable speed.

The highlight of the hotel is the view from the Terrace (6th floor). Fantastic panoramic view of the city facing the Ayya Sofya and the Blue mosque.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room on a higher floor to avoid the street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nexusangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights April/May 2013 as part of a package. Terrific location, but service just average. Initially we did one night (Very nice room!) before going to Gallipoli, then back to a much smaller, very average room - probably a function of the package price.One of the foyer PCs had its wifi link hang, and I rebooted it myself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect, central position to everything in Sultanment with the most fantastic rooftop restaurant looking directly over the Blue Mosque. 2 minute walk to the tram which takes you directly into the Galata Bridge and Spice Market. Walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace and Cistern. Fairly small room with tiny bathroom but the view from the rooftop is worth these small details. Mr Happy assisted us with a private guide and transfers from the airport are free if you stay for 5 nights. Only negative - the Hotel is Alcohol free, so if you want to have a drink while enjoying the view, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better view and are the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandPeterMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is perfect, right in the heart of the Old Town. And it is with a big and warm heart that Happy, Jasmin and the whole staff will welcome you from the moment you check in and during all your pleasant stay in the incredible Istanbul. We would like to thank Happy for all his experience helping us to make good use of our time there. He helped us planning our sightseeing for the 4 days we spent there. Ah, I was forgetting the cherry on the cake, breakfast is on the roof facing the Bosphorus and surrounded by the two major mosques: Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, breathtaking view. We loved Istanbul, its people and Rast Hotel. If I ever come back to Turkey I would defenetely stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, me, my husband and my son who is 6 years-old. The room facied the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleBenevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Centrally located in Sultanahmet, this hotel has breathtaking view of the Bosphorus, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia from its rooftop restaurant. It offers an extensive and delicious breakfast - included in the room rate. Staff were helpful mostly, and allowed us to check in early and throw in a complimentary breakfast (very appreciated as we had travelled overnight). There is a tram stop just around the corner, and many restaurants in the vicinity. On the down side, the room and bathroom were very small and dark and the shower could have been cleaner (and bigger). One sleeps under odd bedding - best described as a curtain and a tablecloth. Good aircon though!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#77 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#247 of 1,155 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#102 of 1,155 in Istanbul
465 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#202 of 1,155 in Istanbul
394 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ares Hotel
Ares Hotel
#204 of 1,155 in Istanbul
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Property: Rast Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#188 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing