We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stop Over”
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rast Hotel
Ranked #207 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Stop Over”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a fantastic hotel, staff were very helpful even to the point of offering us a free breakfast on the morning of our arrival whilst we were waiting to check in. Rooms were excellent and view from dining room terrace has to be one of the best.
one thing that did happen though and a tip for you all..... ensure that when booking your transfer with the hotel you emphasize which airport you wish to be taken to..... unfortunately we did this and the cab STILL headed to the wrong airport..... then when we told him he advised us he wanted another 80 Lira ..... and then we missed our flight as they had not allowed enough time to get us to the correct airport. not very impressed !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    236
    75
    12
    5
See reviews for
169
293
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Rast in Dec 2012 for 5 days and were thoroughly satisfied with our choice. I had researched many hotels in Sultanahmet but finally settled with Rast. A few things that made our stay great:
1) Free airport pickup (although the driver never talked to us and did not help with the luggage)
2) Perfect location in walking distance of Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Grand Bazzar, Spice Bazzar
3) Awesome views of Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Old city from rooftop restaurant
4) Amazing breakfast with a wide selection (It would have been helpful if they shared names of the turkish food they served)
5) Comfortable and clean room (Bathroom was a bit small though)
6) Hotel staff was very friendly
7) Free massage chairs in lobby area helped relax our aching body after the days sightseeing.

I would definitely recommend staying at Rast Hotel.

Room Tip: Do ask for 5% discount by paying your hotel bill in cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pros:
1. conveniently located among the major attractions. As mentioned by many, the hotel is very very close to the main tourist attractions.
2. we stayed 4 nights at rast, which earns us a free airport pick up to the hotel. Our shuttle driver was on time to meet us at the airport and very obliging.
3. Hotel staff are friendly and very helpful.
4. Breakfast on the top floor was a definite highlight of our stay at rast. There is a relatively wide selection of food and the food selections change slightly every day.
5. Room was comfortable and is sufficient in meeting our needs.

Cons:
1. Room was a little smaller than we had expected but was comfortable.
2. Shower gets clogged up. I had to turn off the water every now and then while showering just to let the water drain.
3. Bathroom was a little small.
4. Carpet in our room felt a little musty and in need of some steam cleaning.

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. If the view is important to you, make sure to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaddex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Rast offers an excellent value for its location. My room was small, but functional and had a small balcony. The bed was firm but very comfortable. Also, the WiFi was very good in the room.
However the best part of the hotel is the view from the restaurant. It had amazing views of the blue mosque, Aya Sofia and Bosporus bridge and a wide selection for breakfast.
The hotel is located between two tram stops, Sultanahmet & Cemberlitas, but you could easily walk anywhere in the old city. One tip is to purchase a fare card rather than single tokens (you save around 1 lira per trip), plus you can use it on most ferries.
The Grand Bazaar is a bit of a tourist trap and you can find better prices elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The location of the Rast Hotel is literally 20 steps from the main tourist area of Sultanahmet. Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Tapkopi Palace, little Hagai Sophia and the Grand Bazaar are all within easy walking distance.
The views from the hotel dining terrace are truly spectacular. Overlooking the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Bosphorous and the Bosphorous Bridge in the distance you see a panorama of beauty and antiquity.
The hotel staff is so accommodating to the guests. They go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We especially liked Sevgi in the breakfast dining area (she had a knack for remembering special requests) and Happy and the other gentlemen at the front desk. We stayed 10 days and they told us about activities/sites that we had not been aware of (definitely see the Cultural Dance show at Hodjapasha!! It is not the whirling dervishes).
Our room for three adult ladies had plenty of room for our needs. Clean towels every day and water in our fridge every day. Every request was quickly taken care of. Would we stay there again? In a heart beat! After walking the area we really felt fortunate to find our home away from home so close and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

For the area the price was amazing, literally 5-8 minute walk to the hippodrome, Blue mosque and Aya Sofya. 5 minute walk to either of the 2, T1 (light rail stops) Sultanahmet & Cemberlitas. I found it charming to be woken up by the call to prayer at 0600 every morning. The rooms are very nice, roomy and nice closet space with a safe and the firm bed very comfortable. My room had a large bathroom but small tub, perfect for children. The free breakfast was your basic continental breakfast: cereals, yogurts, milk, fruit and a generous selection of Turkish breakfast specialities, olives, cheese, breads, cakes and cookies as well as hard boiled eggs, every morning they had different warm breakfast foods, my favorite was the spinach & farmers cheese pastry rolls. Staff friendly and eager to fetch you more tea, coffee etc., the views. The top floor was open all day and night, so you could always go up and take pictures of the skyline, sunrise, sunset and at night the changing colors ofmthe Bosphorus Bridge. I highly recommend this hotel, end of November had the best temperature but if you can handle their hot summers, their air conditioning works superbly. Hint- decide what you want to buy as in souvenirs then go to the Asian side Kadikoy and bargain there :)

Room Tip: They offer single, double and tripples. Rooms ending in 4, 5 & 6 are towards the West and a mexi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

On our four days trip to Istanbul we stayed at Rast hotel. The good part about the hotel is that it is close to all the historic places. Walking distance. The buffet breakfast was very good and there we met Sevgi. She was very friendly and hospitable. She made up for services the hotel lack otherwise. She gave us an excellent service. We will come back to this holtel in the future because of her. She is a valueble asset to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#79 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,463 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#243 of 1,149 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#110 of 1,149 in Istanbul
459 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#251 of 1,149 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#297 of 1,149 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Property: Rast Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#188 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing