We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amber Hotel Istanbul
Nearby Hotels
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$216
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$399
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$104
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$157
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
402
207
79
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
207
79
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand bazaarblue mosquewalking distancenice and clean hoteltop floorspecial thanksfirst floormain attractionsturkeybreakfast is servedhotel is situatedexcellent breakfasttourist attractionshagia sophiaold cityrooftop restauranttram station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 728 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Great hotel, the building is old but recently renovated so everything is beautiful and quaint. The location was a little farther than we expected from the train station, we walked there and the street was a steep downhill. The next day we opted to take a taxi rather than go uphill on the street (which is all cobblestone and was hard on our luggage).

Staff is very friendly and responsive. The room we got was great, we had 4 people and it was divided into an upstairs and downstairs so there was a bit of privacy. The only issues we had were that the heat in the downstairs room didn't work as well as upstairs, and the water for the shower was lukewarm, it would have been nice if everything was warm/hot. But other than that we were happy with it.

The continental breakfast is great as well, with a beautiful view of the water, and good coffee and good bread and breakfast foods.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Came to this hotel for one night only. Got to our room quickly without any long waiting. The room was neat, well-furnished, we liked the bathroom best. All was clean and tidy. The bathroom was equipped with towels for different purposes, face, hand, body and floor.
The beds were comfortably hard and manually operated air-conditioner was included in the price. Paying 43e for one night, we were positively surprised.
Breakfast was sufficiently good, different hams, cheeses, cereals and fruit. Tea,coffee, juice...
To sum it up, well-maintained hotel with good location, good service, a lovely restaurant on the top floor with a nice view.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NordicSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Despite this being a Best Western brand hotel, this is actually the renovated Amber Hotel.
And the renovation is a great success. The rooms are not large but they have every conceivable amenity--including modern air conditioning. Very comfortable mattress and pillows; highest quality linens. Bountiful, complimentary breakfast--including hot items( I wish they had bottled water with breakfast but that is a matter of personal preference).
And, as you would expect with a boutique hotel, an outstanding staff--most notably Nesim who seems to be at the front desk whenever you need something. Nesim is a perfect gentleman who truly likes working at this hotel--and it shows in his extra effort to make sure you enjoy your stay.
This hotel requires a walk to the tram but there is so much shopping(this hotel is in the shoe district) that you dont notice the walk...and, if you prefer, taxis are very cheap and readily available.
Wireless is FREE throughout the hotel--room, restaurant, everywhere). I did not take my netbook and unfortunately the hotel's 'public' internet terminal did not work during my stay so I was 'forced' to use the internet cafe down the street(about 50 yds) --for 75 Cents an hour.
I was VERY pleasantly surprised and pleased with the Best Western Amber.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeMemphis_TNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The Hotel is situated within walking distance of Sultanahmet and many other tourist areas like the Topkapi palace and mosques. The area is slightly hilly and would be a 5 min walk uphill to the tram station where you can get to many points in Istanbul from.
If arriving on Easyjet from London you will arrive at Sabiha Gokcen Airport which is a long distance from the Hotel. It can be done via public transport but very difficult. Taxi is most expensive so best to take the airport shuttles direct to hotel. With a little bargaining in the terminal you can probably get it for a price of TRL50 (EUR30) at a push. TRL60 seemed to be the more common fare. Though I do notice the Hotel website quoting EUR70 for 1-3 passengers total. From Istanbul you can probably arrange a lower rate back from one of the many agents in the tourist areas offering airport transfer.
The hotel is situated minutes from a group of dozens of restaurants. Both touristic and local. The menu in all seemed much the same type of seafood. The area around the hotel appeared to be safe and whilst a little dark at night in some side streets still not threatening as in some cities.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms and public areas kept very clean. Bottled water was supplied daily free in the fridge. Breakfast is taken in a balcony on the roof offering views across the harbor and surrounding neighborhood. Food choice and quality was just OK but not extensive. TV channel choice in English was extremely limited. Rooms are slightly smallish but as per standard of most medium range European hotels. Comfortable and functional but not luxurious.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank STEVEFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We had a family room - double bed upstairs and twin beds and bathroom downstairs so lots of space. I thought it was very good value. The location is great for all the main sights so we could walk/take tram to them all. Just around the corner is a group of restaurants specialising in fish but also serving meat, veggies. The hotel also has its own restaurant at similar prices and also produced a good breakfast as part of the room rate. The rose jam tastes like Turkish delight! .

I managed to arrive minus my suitcase and the staff went out and bought me a toothbrush and then made several calls on my behalf to the airport to try and locate it for which I was grateful. They were always very helpful. The tea making was not in the room on arrival but came as soon as requested as did extra pillows etc.

We took the hotal shuttle to/from the airport - it was a little beaten up and the driver spent a long time on his mobile on the way in but drove less erratically on the return trip. That was my only slight complaint as the rest of the hotel experience was very good.

We found the hotel on Trip Adviser originally. It seemed to be very new although is in an old building over a bank. the views are a bit ramshackle but that is old Istanbul for you.There are lots of other Best Westerns also near the main sights and would eb worth checking out oif this is full.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xerx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews