We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Darussaade Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Ranked #35 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Small Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. Our room was nice & is always very clean, staff are always helpful and attentive to their guests specially the front desk staff Yusuf. He's always smiling, pleasant and very helpful, even offering useful tips on where to go and how to get around. The hotel is lucky to have somebody like him, he sincerely loves what he does and he loves to build rapport to their guests.
What I love about this hotel is it's location. It is at the end of the busy hotel neighborhood of Sultanahmet where there are lots of restaurants and tourists around but its location is just perfect as its quiet and have more privacy than other hotels in the area while still accessible to the busy street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    153
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
130
298
80
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

really nice place, employees are so sympathic, service is very good. They booked for us some city tours as well with always the best recommandation. Yusuf at the reception is now a friend ! Very clan rooms with old time victorian style. The place is very nice as well. Excellent wifi signal in our room, and minibar with correct prices

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a lovely stay at at the Darussaade Hotel, the staff we incredibly helpful, when we arrived we got tea and they sat us down with a map showing us all the local places. The room was deorated well, and we really appreciated the pick up from the airport. The location was brilliant near all the main attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Darussaade is a very well run, well appointed hotel within easy walking distance of Istanbul's main attractions. This is the old section of town where every hotel of any size is made up of more than one building so you are dealing with multiple levels and stairs. Still, they have a nice new elevator so there isn't a problem in this case. Even the water pressure (low water pressure being the hallmark of older buildings) is excellent, plenty of hot water too. The free breakfast is excellent and a perfect way to fuel up for a day of walking. I had no idea that Turkey has such good cheeses and baked goods.
Just remember, this is a very busy part of the city and Istanbul is always busy, so the rooms aren't particularly quiet, I don't know how they could be. It's all part of visiting a huge vibrant city.
We stayed here for two weeks and will stay here again on our next trip. Great for a couple, probably tight quarters for a family.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the back rooms if you want more quiet. The room on the first floor behind the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights at the start of June. From the beginning, Yusuf and Erson made us very welcome and arranged 3 tours for us; which were well worth it. The central location makes it ideal for all the attractions of the Old City, which are nearby. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and professional. I'd highly recommend the Darussaade Istanbul to anyone who is seeking accommodation with a view to basing themselves in the centre of old Istanbul.

Warmest thanks to Yusuf, Erson and all staff at the Darussaade!!

Lorna and Stephen

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Read any of the reviews for this hotel and you will see time and time again the use of superlatives to describe the Darussaade . I agree completely that the high praise heaped upon this charming hotel is well deserved.. We stayed there for three nights in May .The brief was to find a decent hotel suitable for a city break close to the historic sights of Istanbul and with a reasonable choice of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

The Darussaade surpassed our expectations with ease , in every sense. The staff delivered customer service of the highest order. The reception team were extremely helpful and friendly
and were always on hand to offer support and suggestions with sightseeing and choice of restaurants.On the advice of Yusuf we agreed to spend a day with an official Istanbul tour guide.The following morning a friendly face met us at the hotel reception at 8.30 a.m . Our guide, named Gul, asked us for our thoughts on what sort of sights we wished to see an how we would like to spend the day. One advantage of having an official guide is that we did not have to wait in queues at Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia , Basilica cistern etc, She bought the tickets on our behalf and in we went without delay. She was helpful, informative, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She also showed us how to use the tram network and which were the convenient stops for seeing other parts of the city. She left us at .6.00 pm and for a cost of 75 euros well worth it given that we were a party of 4 , less than 20 euros, a head.
Yusuf and his team made recommendations on the best restaurants in the vicinity and one in particular was outstanding., in the basement of the building are remains of the palace of Contantine the great. we were given a tour by the Maitre 'D .

The Hotel itself is ideally situated, only a short stroll to Sultanahmet square so all the major historical sights are just a few minutes away.
A good choice of restaurants, bars and shops, again just a short stroll from the hotel.

The Hotel itself is kept in immaculate order. Clean and inviting . Our room was clean comfortable and charming with everything that we needed to enjoy a comfortable break.

The management and staff are doing a brilliant job and we would not hesitate in returning .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJW1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

From the moment I walked in and was greeted by the staff in reception, everything was great. The rooms are a little small, but well-furnished, clean and comfortable.

The hotel is nicely-located. It's a short walk to the Blue Mosque and the tram station, and there are at least 30 restaurants within a 5-minute walk. And it was quiet, which in central Istanbul is a rarity.

The staff were all pleasant, helpful and full of advice about getting around Istanbul.

No hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone staying in Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outsidehalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#25 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Sultanahmet
Albinas Hotel
Albinas Hotel
#29 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#36 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#43 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#82 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darussaade Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darussaade Istanbul

Property: Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:90 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#36 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#141 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Darussaade Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darussaade Istanbul is one of the protected examples of Ottoman civil architecture dating from 19. century. The wooden mansion, which is restored by sticking to its original, is decorated with elaborately so as to reflect the spirit of the period it belongs to. Darussaade Istanbul, which is in the middle of many unique structures belonging to Byzantine, Roman and Ottoman Empires, provides opportunity to explore this magical city with its perfect position within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Darussaade Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darussaade Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing