We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great small hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tulip House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tulip House
Ranked #48 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“A great small hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have just returned back to Sweden after ten pleasant days in Istanbul. Tulip House and its friendly atmosphere has helped in making our stay so unforgetable.
The hotel is situated on a small street near the Blue Mosque, Top Kapi etc, approx 10-15 min walk uphill, but still in a relatively quiet area with playing children on the street just outside the hotel door. We, two adults and one teenager, stayed in a good, clean room, well functioning ac, big windows and a high cealing with wonderful tulip stucko.
From the breakfast terrace we could see the Marmara Sea and the small mosque close by. Just nearby is also the wonderful Küçük (little) Ayasofya and KumKapi, an area with nice fish restaurants. Good breakfast with börek, fruit and yoghurt. Best of all was the friendly managers and the rest of the staff! They really know what good service is and shared willingly their knowledge about Istanbul. We can absolutely recommend a stay at Tulip House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetwamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    230
    36
    8
    15
See reviews for
83
296
77
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I recently ended a business trip to Istanbul at the Hotel Tulip. After a rather difficult taxi drive from my conference hotel (taxi driver got lost in the maze of streets) I was greated by Tulip's cool young and friendly staff: Emrah, Niyazi & Mehmet. They made me feel very welcome and gave me a bottle of cold water before check-in. The hotel is very quaint, clean and comfortable. I chose a waterview room and was happy to pay the extra cost. The room was beautiful and the view was incredible. The balcony was an awesome surprise and the absolute perfect place to soak in the beauty of Istanbul. The location is great. Very near to many of the must see sites but be prepared to walk up hill. I have stayed at the full range of hotels all over the world. The Hotel Tulip is definitely one I will alwaysremember fondly and, should I have the opportunity to return to Istanbul, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The waterview rooms are definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Life0fLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The first advantage of Tulip House is its position: in an old, quiet district, walking distance (less than 10 minutes) from the historical heart of the city (Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque). The neighborhood is far from glamorous; on the contrary, it offers a real flavor of Istanbul, with dozens of kids playing in the streets, people of different color, ethnicity and religion passing by, bazaars exposing the most peculiar objects, etc.

The second advantage of Tulip Hotel is the wonderful view from the rooms overlooking Bosphorus. Those at floor 2 also have a nice balcony.

The third advantage of Tulip House is by any means its friendly, polite and hospitable staff. There is always someone ready to help, to give information and to solve problems.

Drawbacks: This is not a hotel for people with kinetic disabilities since there is no elevator and the stairs are rather narrow and steep. Also, don't book a room there if you are easily annoyed by the seagulls and the voice of the muezzin (although these are hard to avoid in Istanbul!).

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony and Bosphorous view at second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naytilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The service was excellent! The rooms nice and clean. Very good breakfast in nice surroundings. Located very central and at the same time in a quiet area. Professional management, people in reception talked English very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This great little hotel is very centrally located and close to lots of the main attractions in Istanbul. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with good air conditioning. All of the staff were very friendly and went to great lengths to help us make the most of our stay in Istanbul. The breakfast was simple but very nice and was served on the terrace or in a small restaurant both of which were also very clean and pleasant. Overall the Hotel Tulip House was a perfect choice for a city break in Istanbul, we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the hotel at the back have balconies looking out to the sea, perfect for wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyE1W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Quiet place, very close to the historical center. Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Basilica Cistern and Topkapi Palace are all located at walking distance. Cleaning is done on a daily basis. Nice continental breakfast.
A special remark to the friendly and welcoming staff, always ready to help and provide information.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaD_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Tulip House in early July 2011. I only booked my room through booking.com in the wifi hotspot in the airport before my flight took off, and I was surprised to receive their email very quickly, giving me clear instructions on how I can get to the hotel from the airport in Istanbul, with a map attached. And since I shared a taxi with someone, I was dropped off in the Sultanahmet square and I had to call the hotel for further instructions on how to get there. Surprisingly again they asked me to stay where I was so they can come to pick me up! I received really warm and friendly welcome from all the hotel staff upon arrival and the receptionist was happy to give clear information on the tourist site around Istanbul. The location is I was also very satisfied with the cleaniss and size of my room, free wifi and as well as the breakfast. Would definitely be more than happy to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiaojiao_zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#530 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#11 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Sultanahmet
Art City Hotel Istanbul
Art City Hotel Istanbul
#76 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Blue Istanbul Hotel
Blue Istanbul Hotel
#75 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#14 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan's Inn
Sultan's Inn
#21 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tulip House

Property: Hotel Tulip House
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Cami Sok. No:28 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tulip House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was built as a mansion, during the last years of the Ottoman Empire and has recently been renovated as a boutique hotel retaining the original design and look. From Tulip House you can see the sea on one side and a lovely little street with children playing games on the other. There is a nice backyard where you can have your fresh breakfast and evening tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing