We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm service, excellent location”
Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #152 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm service, excellent location”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Was only here for a day, but loved the location (near to most attractions in Sultanahmet) and got great service and a warm welcome from the staff, namely Selcuk, the guest relations officer. One thing to note though -- you'll have to leave a window/balcony door open during the cool season to balance out the heaters; which might not be as peaceful as you'd like, especially during a peak period / festivities / celebrations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chenjunbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    282
    53
    7
    2
See reviews for
167
421
88
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My aunt (81) and I chose this hotel because of the location. We could walk to all the main attractions in Old Istanbul (although the distances are slightly longer than mentioned).
The staff made us feel very welcome, always informed about our day, gave advice and coffee if we had to wait for a shuttle. Every one of the staff was kind and helpful.
The hotel and rooms have a lovely setting and atmosphere.
One thing : if you are a light sleeper, you might consider earplugs. The next room had 3 spanish men and we could hear them very well. A construction side is nearby, but didn't start early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katleen_lybaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On our extended Middle East trip, we stayed at the Maywood twice. Both times, the experience was one of our best throughout the whole trip. The location cannot be better. You are close to all of the very important sites in Istanbul and very close to a tram that will take you to anywhere you would like to go. The breakfasts were very tasty and plentiful. The staff was exceptional. One of our friends was celebrating her birthday and they made special accommodations for our needs - plates, forks, etc for cake. The shuttle from the airport was very nice after our flight from Amman, Jordan. Overall, love this hotel and we will be back next August!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I took my parents for a 4 day trip to Istanbul and wanted to stay near the Sultanahmet area of the city which is close to all of the historical places. As there are so many boutique hotels in this area we used Trip Advisor to find a suitable hotel and the Hotel Maywood came up as a good option. It was very reasonably priced compared with others and in the location we wanted and so we booked it.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile and quickly registered and shown to our rooms. The rooms are comfortable and clean although, the bathrooms could do with a scrub around the bath tub. Apart from that they have all of the amenities you require and for the price and are well equipped.

The key attributes of this hotel are its location and the staff. The location is just minutes away from all of the top sites and from some great restaurants.

I have to mention the staff who in our opinion were excellent. They very happily provided assistance to all our needs as well as suggestions on things to do and places to visit. They made us all feel very welcome and served us with a smile. A special mention for Selcuk, Yakup and Firat (hope I spelt their names correctly!) who always chatted with us when we passed reception and provided a first class service.

I would strongly recommend this hotel for a short break and will certainly be staying there again on my next trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are of similar standard and we stayed on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank akuk1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location is in the old town, near Gulhane station of Tramway. You can walk to Topkapi Sarayi, Ayasofya Muzes and Blue Mosque. and the other way to Sirkeci station, Yeni Camii, etc.

The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. The service is good. They can provide all kinds of info. But please take your consideration about their suggestions. They can provide one-way free shuttle bus between the hotel and the airport, if you stayed over 3 nights.

There was a building under the construction nearby. It was very noisy at night and in the early morning. I do not know when it will be finish. If you are a quiet sleeper, please consult the hotel.

We put one of our luggage here for our whole trip. and post some goods to the hotel. They all took good care. Except the noisy and the small room, everything was Great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

It's a decent place to stay if you're in the old part of the town. It's near blue mosque, Haya Sophia and topkapi and also basilica cistern and grand bazar (pls keep in a meeting mind near still means decent amount of walk time). Hotel is ok, rooms are super small, service is ok, cleaning of rooms is ok, staff is ok, breakfast is good. I had a bad experience with a show tickets which unfortunately I got it reserved thru the hotel which were for some reason10 liras more for each ticket than they should've been.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wajih Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I got a great price on this place, and would not have wanted to pay more. The location is fantastic. 1-2 minutes walk to the Sirkeci station, walking distance to all the old city sites. My room was very pretty, but the mattress was uncomfortable. Everything was in modern, good repair, and appointed pleasingly to the eye. Their web site says they have a restaurant, but it's just for the breakfast service. Although they are willing to go get you food from their sister hotel, it's easier to just go around the corner to Sirkeci Restaurant (which I have also reviewed). They do have a little bar set up, but I never saw anyone drinking at it. I was neither impressed nor offended by service. I would stay here again if I were doing Istanbul on a budget, given the location, but would hope to step up to a place with a restaurant and more luxurious bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannette777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#56 of 1,156 in Istanbul
975 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#87 of 1,156 in Istanbul
938 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#99 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#28 of 1,156 in Istanbul
145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Glamour Hotel
Glamour Hotel
#358 of 1,156 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Property: Maywood Hotel
Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#117 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing