We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #170 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent location in central Istanbul with helpful friendly staff.Our room was fine but unfortunately it was on the 6th floor and the lift finishes at the 5th!
The buffet breakfast was very good with a variety of choices.
There was some noise at night due to building works[metro expansion?] but this is normal in Istanbul

Room Tip: As lift finishes at Floor 5,don' t stay on 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 933 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Six of recently stayed at the Maywood Hotel for 4 nights. One couple returned there, having stayed at the Maywood a eighteen months ago. It was on their recommendation that we booked our accommodation. From the word go we were made very welcome, indeed our two friends who stayed there previously were told they were like family!! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very knowledgeable and helpful. The position of the Maywood is very central for visiting the many sights. Everywhere was accessable on foot. One night the Maywood booked a table at a fish restaurant near the Galatasari fish market, and we were collected from and taken back to the hotel by a free limousine. A great experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the cruise on the Bospherous and had lovely weather. We never felt unsafe, unlike in many other cities. We would happily recommend The Maywood to anyone planning to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Maywood hotel for 7 days 27/04/2013 to 04/05/2013, We strongly recommend the hotel, It's very near all shop, Mosque, resturents,spice bazzar and tram station, location is a total winner for Maywood. All staff of the hotel were so kind and smile all the time, especially
Mr Rajab and Mr.Recep speaks English so well and have a lot of information about Istanbul. With their recommendation we were able to go on two tours, tour number 6 and tour number 3, we really had a good time with people from other countries.
Mr Rajab and Mr.Recep let us know how to get to the places,Helpfulness of the staff we want to go and arranged the shuttle bus to go to the airport. I sincerely appreciate their kindness. Our room was tidy and clean all the time whenever we came back.
Breakfast was also nice and I loved the selection.
All in all our first time experience in Istanbul was amazing hospitality from hotels to restaurants
This will last us a life time, Thank you.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanif k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at Maywood hotel for 2 days and I strongly recommend the hotel! It's very near Blue Mosque, Ayasosya, tram station and so on. I usually get lost during travel but I never did while I was staying at Maywood. Also all staff of the hotel was so kind and smile all the time, especially Mr.Recep and Mustafer. Mr.Mustafer speaks English so well and has a lof of information about Istanbul. Thanks to him, I could take part in the night boat trip as soon as I got in the hotel and I and my husband had a really good time with people from other countries. And Mr.Recep let us know how to get to the places we want to go and arranged the shuttle bus to go to the airport. He gave us two options to get to the airport and recommended more economic way. I sincerely appreciate their kindness.
Our room was tidy and clean all the time whenever we came back. Breakfast was also nice and I loved coffee there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hae Kyeong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel was well located near historic sites (Agia Sofia, Egyptian Market and other). The staff was polite and helpfull, the rooms were comfortable and clean with nice beds. Breakfast was very nice. Good value for money !

I recommend it !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the Maywood Hotel for 4 nights when I traveled to Istanbul in September 2012. Overall our experience of staying at Maywood was quite positive, barring a few small hitches. I would recommend it for a

Three things which stood out for Maywood

- Location of the hotel - right in the heart of Old Town, every place of interest in the historic core of Istanbul was within walking distance. If not, the tram stop was hardly 5 mins away which connects you to the sights which might be farther off. Also, lots of eating joints around the hotel - so, location is a total winner for Maywood

- Helpfulness of the staff - We found the front desk staff to be very approachable and helpful. They made it a point to address your every concern, and answer your questions about directions, itinerary etc patiently. Even though there were a number of brochures on the desk, they did not peddle/push tours to us excessively. Its always pleasing to be dealing with staff that's smiling and happy to help

- Cleanliness levels of the room was remarkable. Very well kept and spotless

What could have been better:

- Size of the rooms - I knew that the rooms at Maywood would be small since it's in the old town, but did not anticipate the tiny size. Our room barely gave us space to move around, and had no view. But we didn't bother about it too much since a) it was clean, b) AC was strong d) we were hardly ever in the room, besides at night to sleep

- Breakfast - Maywood offers a decent Turkish breakfast, but there was no variety. For 4 days we ate the same stuff everyday. And for a non beef eater like me, the choice wasn't all that great

I would definitely recommend staying at the Maywood for it’s brilliant location and it’s spotlessly clean, albeit small rooms. The friendliness and thoughtfulness of the staff is another major plus. They even give you a small parting gift when you leave their hotel, and I thought it was a very sweet gesture on their part. I really appreciated it.

Cheers

Gunjan

Room Tip: Try asking for a room with street views. The room we got faced a blank wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

ıt was great everythıng ın maywood thank you selcukkkk for to spend tıme wıth us... the staff ıs perfect room ıs clean also they have got a gourmet breakfast also you can walkıng dıstance everywhere from there hagıa sofıa blue mosgue topkapı palace spıce bazaar 5 mın grand bazaar 10 mın from there ı recomend thıs hotel everytıme you can get more ınformatıon about ıstanbul from receptıon thank you for everythıng

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#94 of 1,171 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#125 of 1,171 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#92 of 1,171 in Istanbul
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#380 of 1,171 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#208 of 1,171 in Istanbul
338 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#68 of 1,171 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#181 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $35 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing