We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly hotel”
Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #179 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked at this hotel due to the reviews I read on TripAdvisor. What a pleasant stay we had in this boutique hotel! Tucked away in a side street in the Old City, it is very centrally located and within walking distance of all the main Old City attractions. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome (including our two toddlers). Would definitely recommend for the fact that it is located in a very vibrant and upmarket part of town, the great staff and the comfort. Will always be my first choice in Istanbul!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Oliviersfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Maywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 926 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were very pleased with the maywood hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, offered advice on places to eat, when to go to certain sites, and making sure we were happy with our accommodations. The room was spacious and clean and had a tea pot and tea options right in the room. The breakfast was very good with a nice assortment of hot and cold dishes, coffee and wonderful honey. The location was perfect, we could walk to the sultanhamet area with no issues, as well as the galatta bridge which had nice seafood. The area around the hotel had many local shops for supplies as well as last minute gifts. You can even walk to the spice market and several mosques. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank JeffCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor and were not disappointed. It is centrally located in the old city close to all the main tourist sites such as tokapi palace, hagia Sofia, blue mosque ,etc. The staff were welcoming and helped us arrange tours to sites including Gallipoli with pick and drop from the hotel. When you witness the traffic and road rules in Istanbul you want door to door transfers. The hotel is in the restaurant strip so there are plenty of great eating places. The rooms are small but actually bigger than expected. Breakfast was included and great. Free WiFi and even some gifts when we checked out. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This small hotel is tucked away on a side street that is in a very convenient location. The room is clean and nicely decorated, the towels are plush, and the air conditioning and shower are both good. The kettle was a nice touch and I also found the mini-bar reasonably priced. I stayed in both a balcony room and a non-balcony room and preferred the balcony, although the room at the back was quieter. The breakfast was the only downside I found. I also stayed in the Beyazit area and much preferred this hotel and the Sirkeci location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustingvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a small but nice hotel. Location is almost prefect, small street and really close to the Palace. They can organize a transfer from the airport-we used it. Breakfast was more or less ok, but the coffee was awful so we had to drink tea. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Although the rooms are small, they were very clean and included a kettle and tea bags as well as free wi-fi. Really good showers. The location is great for major sightseeing, close to the main attractions and near a good range of bars, cafes and restaurants. Good choice of food at breakfast. What a shame they only have powdered orange joice.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel with air-con noise with the window open.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillfieldjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really good response to pre-arrival emails and airport pick-up was a bonus for a first visit to Istanbul (I stayed here at the beginning and the end of my 3 week visit to Turkey). The reception staff are very helpful and for the most part multi-lingual. My room was very comfortable and quiet (with the windows closed). Good air-conditioning. With the window open the sounds of an interesting city floated in. The minibar was the first reasonably priced minibar I have ever come across and the beer was cold. The breakfast buffet was stupendous, if a little unusual, and more than adequate with something to please most tastes. The gift on leaving was also a nice touch in appreciation of the length of stay. The only shortcoming is not about the hotel but rather the location. Although the street the hotel is in is reasonably quiet, I did find Sultanahmet a little frenetic and overwhelming, and you do get hassled a lot by shop-keepers. I wore a headscarf on my second stay and enjoyed walking around unhassled.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#49 of 1,159 in Istanbul
980 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#93 of 1,159 in Istanbul
945 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#96 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,192 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#1 of 1,159 in Istanbul
151 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#38 of 1,159 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#182 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $37 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing