We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #179 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Maywood Hotel is in a great location near the historic sites. It is in a quiet street so there is no traffic or tram noise but it is only a couple of minutes walk to the nearest tram stop. It is nicely decorated and most importantly for a good nights sleep the bed was very comfortable. Everything was very clean. Tea (10 different flavours!) and coffee facilities were available in the room. I stayed for five nights and I was very well looked after by the front desk staff who were very friendly and efficient and every request for assistance was handled immediately. There is a free computer in the lobby for guests to use. If you want you can use the indoor swimming pool and sauna at no extra cost at their sister hotel which is two minutes walk away. On leaving I was given two lovely gifts of a box of Turkish Delight and a packet of Apple Tea with little cups and saucers. A nice reminder of the Maywood Hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a room high up and was given 504 which was a lovely room with a small balcony overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 932 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

Everything was perfect! I strongly recommend it!! The staff was exceptional and very helpful and they gave us presents when we left! Thank you again for our pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angeliki_and_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Once the taxi dropped us off, we were greeted pleasantly by a myriad of staff. Since we made arrangements with the hotel to provide taxi service we didn't even have to worry about paying after drop off. Once we reached our room we were pleasantly surprised by its size and cleanliness as well as decor. The hotel is located right down the street from the Hagia Sophia. On our first evening we walked to the New Mosque and Spice Market then had dinner right by the hotel. Each morning there was a tremendous buffet breakfast which was included in the very fair rate. To our surprise and delight the staff called us a cab for departure and provided us two lovely parting gifts. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Horowir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights in early November. I had changed my arrival date twice before arriving in Istanbul and management were very helpful and were able to make the changes. I was surprised and happy about the quality of communication.
I was met by a transfer on arrival at Ataturk. The flight was 30 minutes late but the complimentary transfer arrangements went very smoothly.
First impressions of the hotel were very favourable. Reception was spacious, well furnished and very tidy. Front desk were well groomed, professional and very helpful.
Room 104 was very acceptable. Everything was of a high standard; a comfortable (large) bed, reading lamp and table, mirrors and drapes, view to the street, functional and roomy bathroom, multi-channel television, mini bar (and very reasonable rates).
Breakfast is buffet style, set out in a spacious area on the ground floor. This too was of very high quality with plenty to choose from for a good start for each busy and exciting day.
I appreciated the use of the free computer (WIFI is available).
LOCATION. It is 2 minutes to the tram that can take you south into Sultanmet or north over the Galata Bridge (or you can easily walk to any of this as I did). It is a very short walk to Sirkeci Station and the ferries (boats) that go in all directions. It is one block from a great range of fascinating shops, if you are practical, if you are extravagant, or for a range of places to eat, inexpensive of otherwise.
This is a great location. This is a great place to stay. (and a gift when departing – refer other posts).


DCtheKIwi

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Acedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Was there for five days. Great design. Nice rooms. Very good breakfast. Good central location. One thing bad was The bathroom The water In The shower Would come out a bit but nothing Big. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DkLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The driver had a bit of trouble finding the hotel, but not a real problem. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the hotel entrance. No problems with street noise. Both the room and bathroom were a decent size. Bathroom shower was quite small and the water pressure went down completely around 8 am. The breakfast was plentiful, with something for everyone. Free wireless Internet worked well. The staff was great...always helpful. They directed us to the local sites and also ensured we had a taxi driver to the cruise port that wouldn't rip us off.

A really good value and within walking distance to the major sites.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mntnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Unbeatable location, friendly staff and great breakfast buffet

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IreneEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#401 of 1,175 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#201 of 1,175 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Karakoy
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
#123 of 1,175 in Istanbul
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#60 of 1,175 in Istanbul
986 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#163 of 1,175 in Istanbul
791 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#104 of 1,175 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#137 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#179 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing