We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Review of Second Home Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Second Home Hostel
Ranked #2 of 1,242 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hi from ARGENTINA i was there in december 2013,we spwnd new ysras there, it is a nice hostel, great food, great staff very friendly people, they can give you some info for tours and buses........i will be there again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristianbeltran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 758 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a great great time at the hostel, the place has very good vibe, well located and the stuff was helpful. They arranged us the bus to Capadoccia, took us out to a great club in Taksim and eveytime we came back, our cup of turkish tea was ready and hot. Special thanks to Omer, for all the info and the good conversations. Definetly a place to go back. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petre99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was my first time in Istanbul and my first time staying at a hostel and I can honestly say that the Second Home Hostel staff was amazing. They were so friendly and welcoming, they made the experience even more memorable. Although the rooms were small, they are clean and comfortable. The lobby was always a nice place to hangout with fellow travelers as well as the staff. The rooftop was also a bonus. Not to mention that the location was excellent and only a short walk from many sites. Overall I would highly recommend staying at the Second Home Hostel if you're looking to have a good time with great people!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Amelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stay here if you can! This hostel is clean, walking distance to many attractions and tram, but most importantly has a great environment. The staff is incredible, so friendly and welcoming, they make delicious breakfast every morning, will give you advice about where to go/what to see and help arrange tours/Turkish bath. They are great company for smoking shisha and having drinks in the evening! Thank you Second Home Hostel for making our stay in Istanbul unforgettable!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Marcelina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very nice place to stay, close from everything. You can go walking to most of the Istambul main must-sees. The staff was very friendly and gave advices in nice places to go everynight, in one of them they joined us and took us to a club far from the hostel but full of local people and local music.. amazing place! Would definitely come back there

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was my first time in Istanbul. My friend recommended the location. It was such a good location. I had a comfortable bed, clean room, shared showers and toilet. The staff was so friendly and assisting. Each morning I came downstairs to find that the hostel had prepared nice breakfast choices of olives, cereal, cookies, and even hard boiled eggs. They provided hot tea as well. A nice way to start each morning. The location was just a few blocks from buses, metro, etc. Also many places to eat locally. The first night I went to a Turkish dance just two blocks away. What a memorable occasion seeing local folk dances and belly dancing -- both women and a man. I was told it is the only place where a male performer belly dances. After this stay, I went to Venice Italy for two weeks and then returned to the same hostel for a return stay prior to returning to Washington, DC. The hostel also arranged transportation to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamersdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a great base for exploring the old part of Istanbul. Decent area and very helpful and attentive staff. It was quite clean. They made us and everyone else feel very welcome. I would definitely return. The only negative was the room was tiny, couldn't get around the end of the bed in our double room with shared bath. Had to crawl over.

Room Tip: Second floor (over the common room on 1st floor) probably gets noise from the common room below wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#758 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#9 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#487 of 1,160 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,160 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Hostel

Address: Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,242 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $10 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Second Home Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your 'Second Home' in Istanbul !We have been providing a welcoming, clean and safe place for visitors with the best location since 2009 !Dormitory, hostel rooms, private rooms or suites; we have every kind of accomodation choices. So there will certainly be something to match your budgetTravelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socializeWe can arrange tours in Istanbul, give helpful tips and information about the city, and help with any other of your travel needs.We are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Second Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing