We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Second Home Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Second Home Hostel
Ranked #4 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very nice place to stay, close from everything. You can go walking to most of the Istambul main must-sees. The staff was very friendly and gave advices in nice places to go everynight, in one of them they joined us and took us to a club far from the hostel but full of local people and local music.. amazing place! Would definitely come back there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    120
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
112
235
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was my first time in Istanbul. My friend recommended the location. It was such a good location. I had a comfortable bed, clean room, shared showers and toilet. The staff was so friendly and assisting. Each morning I came downstairs to find that the hostel had prepared nice breakfast choices of olives, cereal, cookies, and even hard boiled eggs. They provided hot tea as well. A nice way to start each morning. The location was just a few blocks from buses, metro, etc. Also many places to eat locally. The first night I went to a Turkish dance just two blocks away. What a memorable occasion seeing local folk dances and belly dancing -- both women and a man. I was told it is the only place where a male performer belly dances. After this stay, I went to Venice Italy for two weeks and then returned to the same hostel for a return stay prior to returning to Washington, DC. The hostel also arranged transportation to and from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamersdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a great base for exploring the old part of Istanbul. Decent area and very helpful and attentive staff. It was quite clean. They made us and everyone else feel very welcome. I would definitely return. The only negative was the room was tiny, couldn't get around the end of the bed in our double room with shared bath. Had to crawl over.

Room Tip: Second floor (over the common room on 1st floor) probably gets noise from the common room below wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Around the corner from everything! So convenient. I also had a great time talking to the staff. Everyone was amazing, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was always a good chance to talk with everyone and meet new friends. I will for sure stay at Second Home hostel again! Thank you for making my trip great!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice location and friendly staff.. free nice breakfast.. cheap and secure .. I met nice people from many countries and we hanged out one night and went to smoke sheesha (waterpipe) and having tea.. I was there for 7 nights with my girlfriend and it was amazing time.. I was sad about leaving from that hostel :( the name is right, Second Home.. I reccomend 100%

Room Tip: take room at second floor ;) because I stayed there :) sometimes its loud so 3rd flooor could also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidh-KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great staff and great location!
I recommend this place and would go back.
Rooms are simple; but have all the basics you need/expect.
I felt like I was part of the family while here. Our group meals, night time sheesha and Turkish Halay dance parties were a blast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Cheap, clean, friendly and helpful staff free breakfast (cereal, bread, jam, coffe) most of all good and safe location. We never paid for coffee or tea and the staff got us a discount on a cruise :) would definitely go back and recommend it to any group, solo or family.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Hostel

Property: Second Home Hostel
Address: Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Second Home Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your 'Second Home' in Istanbul !We have been providing a welcoming, clean and safe place for visitors with the best location since 2009 !Dormitory, hostel rooms, private rooms or suites; we have every kind of accomodation choices. So there will certainly be something to match your budgetTravelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socializeWe can arrange tours in Istanbul, give helpful tips and information about the city, and help with any other of your travel needs.We are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Second Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing