We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive good service, reasonable food, but too expensive.”
Review of 9 Ece Aksoy

9 Ece Aksoy
Ranked #1,663 of 13,724 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,001 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
“Attentive good service, reasonable food, but too expensive.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Unlike some who have reviewed this we found staff attentive, helpful and pleasant. It looks good from the street. It is stylish. The menu we had was in English and you get what it says. All the food was reasonable, but nothing fancy. The Anatolian wine we chose was a rich pleasant red but expensive at 110 TL. The desserts were wickedly tasty and my semolina with fruit purée a delicious reminder of a childhood favourite back in cold Scotland in the 1950s. But three courses -and generous complimentary Turkish coffees - and the bottle of wine and "obligatory" cover charge for endless bottled water and good breads (20TL) came to over 300TL without service and that is a bit too much. But we enjoyed our dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    18
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Like to have wine with my meals - cheapest bottle of wine worth drinking was 75euros - Food was good, not too expensive but the wine pricing just annoyed me

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank arossny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time - rude to tourists (and yet in every guidebook)”
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We're very well-traveled, professional 30-something's - we enjoy exploring cities and their restaurants. This place is in every guidebook - but we didn't even know that when we went. It just looked really cute from the street. The second we walked in, they were rude. We asked to sit in one of the front window seats - both were open - they said they had a reservation. They told the next tourist couple, another cute couple that most restaurants would love to sit in the front, that there was a reservation for those tables. Funny - no ever showed up... Instead, they sit all tourists in the back room. That was just the beginning - they rolled their eyes when we were ordering, were absolutely unhelpful with any questions. The best (worst) part was when the host scolded me for using the men's restroom v women's. If their was a sign, I missed it and checked multiple times. Food is just ok, too. Go someplace where they recognize that tourism helps their economy. There is reason this place only has 3 stars overall.

Helpful?
1 Thank JAtraveler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Pior experiência que já tive”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I and two friends walk very tired for the wonderful Istanbul, est let's with cold and want to take a hot soup and we arrive at the restaurant next to the hotel we were. We entered and asked for soup, because there were at the menu. The waiter became very angry with our request and said that no know if getting l and power amos treated very badly, the tables were looking very next door and we were embarrassed though.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assucena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious mezes...”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I cannot understand how comments are so varieted for such a high standard place. Don't miss out onno fries and domatese kar yagdi salad.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maliparmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9 Ece Aksoy also viewed

 

Been to 9 Ece Aksoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing