We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the Center of It All”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #249 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“At the Center of It All”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is right in the center of the sights in Istanbul--just a few minutes' walk from the Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace. The tram is nearby as well, so reaching other parts of the city is convenient and easy. The staff is helpful and always willing to provide directions or suggestions about what to see and what to eat.

Istanbul is hot in the summer, but the rooms stayed cool with the help of air-conditioning. Plenty of markets are steps away, so it's easy to stock up on water or make a quick run when supplies are running low.

Take advantage of the roof deck and the great view of the city. The deck hosts each morning's ample breakfast, but also is available to guests at all times. It's a great place to relax after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FmrPresJamesTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    159
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
186
74
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I originally wanted to book a room in the Hanedan Hotel (same owners) but it was fully booked for my travel dates. I was offered a room in this hotel instead and was not disappointed! I stayed here for 5 nights in May 2013 with a friend (2 girls). The Grand Peninsula is in a great location - walking distance to all of the main tourist attractions. The front desk staff at the hotel were both friendly and helpful. They helped us plan our trip, book tours, and recommended some nice places to eat. Starting off each morning with breakfast on the terrace was lovely and we really enjoyed it. Istanbul is a beautiful city, and I would recommend staying in Sultanhamet at this hotel or one of its sister hotels, especially if it is your first time here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSingh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a small hotel within a 5 minute walk of the Blue Mosque and everything else in the old part of Istanbul. There must be two dozen restaurants within a 2 minute walk, but the hotel itself is on a very quiet street off of a busier street, so we had no noise issues. The area feels very safe. The rooms are small, but everything was immaculate, and the bathrooms must have been recently remodeled. Desk staff was superb, with great recommendations and a genuine enthusiasm for helping us have the best experiences possible. Guests were from everywhere, and everyone was very friendly. I was looking for a place that was well-located and cozy, and that's exactly what we got!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEG5730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a great experience at this hotel right in the heart of touristy Sultanahmet. The prices are reasonable and the hotel is nice, clean, and modern. The front desk staff is very friendly and were happy to help answer our questions or make recommendations as necessary, but didn't push any extra services that we didn't ask for. Breakfast quality & selection is pretty standard for what we found all around Turkey, although the breakfast terrace is definitely above average. Very nice views and pleasant to hang out in the evening too! The rooms were comfortable but not spacious. However there was room to open the suitcases on the floor and still walk around which is more than I can say for some other places. The beds and thin pillows were not the most comfy I've slept in, but it wasn't too bad. Nice fresh air through several windows in the room, although it was too hot to sleep without the AC.

Our airport transfer which the hotel arranged was also very smooth and efficient, which was very helpful as we arrived exhausted from 20+ hours of travel and didn't want to attempt to make our way through public transportation. (Just FYI, it is very easy to get to Atatürk airport via metro. We did it on the outbound journey, and saved some money.)

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay again if I returned to Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I traveled in the beginning of July 2013 along with 3 of my friends. We all had a wonderful stay in one of the larger room in the hotel. Ramazan was a great help in finding restaurants, recommending tours and helping us find a good place for a Turkish bath. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Istanbul!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Peninsula my first night in Istanbul, great location with a beautiful view from the breakfast terrace. It's in close proximity to lots of restaurants and shops along with the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the coast, and the Sultanahmet metro stop--definitely a touristy neighborhood but still lovely to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I traveled in winter 2012.
I didn't decided where to stay, and this hotel was cheaper compared to the hotels around.

The room was really new and clean.
First night, I stayed Double room, and it was spacious.
The other nights, Single room. It was simple room with bed and shower, I think it is enough for single traveler.

The location was really GOOD.
5 minute walk, and you can get to famous sightseeing spot like Blue Mosque, Topkapı Palace.

Breakfast was also good. At the rooftop, you can have bread, boiled eggs, serial ...etc

Ramazan at the front desk was so kind man. If you have any trouble, you should ask him.
And Faith at the next hotel's front desk was also nice. If you are solo traveler, you can enjoy talking with him.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kota_Suzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#233 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#269 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#283 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#327 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Peninsula Hotel

Property: Grand Peninsula Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#166 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Hotel Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing