We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and clean with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #259 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Santa Fe, NM
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Simple and clean with very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We were very comfortable in our room here. It was a good size- nice and clean and had refreshing air-conditioning (it was hot while we were in Istanbul).

From the roof of the hotel one can see the Blue Mosque. It is in a good location and is within walking distance to many of the sights in the sultanahmet neighborhood. The breakfasts on the rooftop terrace were nice and overlooked the sea. I usually had the yogurt with fruit and the bread with chocolate spread.

The staff was very friendly and we made a new friend in Ramazan.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmhlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    160
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
186
74
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

we stayed at Grand Peninsula Hotel for 8 nights in June / July 2012, and loved the experience. A great location, just 5 min walk to Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, topkapi palace and arasta bazaar. Rooms are of good size and clean. The biggest advantage, however, is the staff of the hotel. Ramazan and Sabahat were always willing to help and provided useful ideas and info all the time. I managed to get a reservation at Sema ceremony at Hodjapasha thru them and also arranged a tour of Bursa with their help. The lady managing the breakfast was amazingly wonderful, and got very fond of our two kids. The airport pick up and drop was very efficient too. Like some other reviewers, we also experienced the electricity shut down at the time of Euro cup final, but i guess it was beyond the hotel management's control. I would love to visit Istanbul again in future and will recommend the hotel to any visitors planning to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rameenhashmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed 7 days at this hotel, peerless location, extremely friendly staff from the ever-cheerful lady who serves breakfast on the rooftop terrace to the good-natured, soft-eyed Ramazan Oktay at the front desk--all eager to accomodate, simplify, enhance and make your stay pleasant and welcoming. The rooms are tastefully appointed, and the hotel is very expertly run. Most recommended.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the rooms on the ground floor, as noise from the lobby somehow can be heard through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is just around the corner from Abeyik Caddesi - a street full of tourist restaurants, which reminded me of several Mediterranean seaside resorts. We found a more interesting and cheaper (municipally run) restaurant, Fatih Beledeysi with mainly Turkish diners in Cankurtaran Park on top of the city wall at the other side of the railway line. No alcohol and not much English spoken, but good food and a better ambience than Abeyik Caddesi. It's not mentioned on the Tripadvisor website for some reason.

The hotel is handy for the Blue Mosque, Agia Sofia, etc. Fifteen minutes walk to the tram which will take you to the city centre, ferries, etc.

My only complaint was that the hotel records indicated that we had booked for six nights instead of seven. Fortunately I had an email print-out proving them wrong. Even so Ramazan was slow to realise that it was his problem rather than ours. For the last night we were asked to move to another room as they had double-booked ours. The wake-up call the next day never materialised but our driver for the airport run was conveniently sleeping in the reception area.

Otherwise, breakfasts were excellent, the rooms OK and Ramazan and his assistants were very helpful. We were offered a cruise up the Bosphorus at the "bargain price of 40 euros, but made our own arrangements and travelled on the ferry from Eminonou for only 15TL (about 7 euros). Beware!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were quite similar. Don't get too excited about the sea-view from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2012 and highly recommend the hotel. Rooms are nice, if small, and the staff are all helpful. An excellent breakfast is served on the rooftop terraces. Best of all is the location- 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia; located in a neighborhood with many restaurants and bars; breakfast terrace overlooks the Bosporus (great place for a bottle of wine in the evening).
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We felt very misled by our experience at the Grand Peninsula Hotel. We stayed here for four nights at the end of our 16-day honeymoon in Turkey. Upon booking the hotel, the staff confirmed that we would receive a "large double room with balcony and sea view" (of the Sea of Marmara). When we arrived, we were shown into a double room with a Juliet balcony (i.e., an open door that allows you to step out about six inches) with a view of the other hotels across the street. By no stretch of the imagination could we see the Sea of Marmara. We asked the hotel staff if this was the correct room, and they assured us it was (we ended up paying an extra 10 euro/night for it, too).

Now, I'm not usually too picky about hotel rooms as long as they are clean and reasonably pleasant. I just thought it was dishonest to advertise a large room with a sea view and balcony, only to give customers something completely different. It was a definite bait-and-switch that I would encourage others to look out for.

The other thing that I thought was strange is that on our third day, we returned from sightseeing to see that someone had left a Nicaraguan ID card on the floor of our room. We brought it to the front desk and they just seemed confused and said "oh, thank you." I'm assuming it belonged to a cleaning or maintenance staff member, but I found it odd that the front desk person didn't even seem to know whose ID it was or offer a brief explanation.

The reason I didn't give this hotel an even lower review is that the room was reasonably large, everything was scrupulously clean, and it is in a truly excellent location. Our issues arose more from the staff and the room bait-and-switch than anything else. On the final night we stayed at the Hotel Grand Peninsula, we arrived from a late evening dinner to find that the power had gone out (on the night of the Euro Cup final, no less!). The staff quickly procured some candles for us to use and were very helpful in that instance.

In all, we had very mixed experiences at this hotel. Just don't go expecting a private balcony or a sea view, and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Arrived in Istanbul late at about 10:30 pm and the driver from the hotel was already waiting (extra charge of 20E for a pick-up if chosen). Location is excellent - right between Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, next to lively street full of restaurants and cafes. Our room #501 was on the top floor (no lift, but someone from the reception helped to carry the luggage). Big, spotless clean, flat-screen TV and free internet. It had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs, and a great view on Bosphorus. Washroom with modern shower and good water pressure. AC working with no problem. The breakfast room was located on top of the roof with Blue Mosque in sight. The food selection itself could have a little more variety. On the way back to the airport when we were leaving, we took a shuttle (many offices allover the city offering the service) for 10E. Overall would stay there again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you are OK to climb the stairs, take the top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorotaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#239 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#225 of 1,149 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Dara Hotel Istanbul
#267 of 1,149 in Istanbul
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#213 of 1,149 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#563 of 1,149 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,149 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Peninsula Hotel

Property: Grand Peninsula Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#109 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#166 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Hotel Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing