We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel with superb quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #249 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small hotel with superb quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and booked a single room in advance. I arrived at 7 AM in the hotel, and even though my room was not yet ready, one of the staffs was nice enough to offer me breakfast even though I haven't officially booked-in yet.

Even though my room is at the basement, it was pretty clean & cozy. It's small but everything was in fine condition. Being at the basement, I can almost hear every conversation at the lobby, but I didn't have any trouble sleeping as the bed was very comfy. Bathroom was also small but clean, and the only minor problem was the shower's sliding door - it was hard to close.

The staffs were very nice, informative, and welcoming. Breakfast was great as you also get a good view of the Marmara Sea. The hotel's location & price is the main reason why I booked this hotel in the first place, so I truly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Lana_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    159
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
186
74
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caen, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I said that if I go back to Istanbul, I would returned to the Grand Peninsula. And I did.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Sultanahmet. It is full of charm, very quiet, the bedrooms are very clean and prettily decorated. Breakfast is served on the terrace wich gives a amazing view on Marmara Sea.

The staff make you immediately feel at home. Ramazan and Sabo are genuinely friendly and very helpful.They advise you on excellent addresses in Istanbul, arrange tickets for entertainments, visits, sightseeing tours, hamam,... and if you want to know more about Istanbul and Turkey, just ask them, they have got a great culture in litterature, music, art,... It is a pleasure to talk with them.

I had a great time in Istanbul and I definitely recommend this address.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

A friend and I stayed at Grand Peninsula Hotel over the Eid break in November. From the moment we were picked up at the airport (separately) we felt the warmth of the Turkish people and were made to immediately feel at home. Ramazan and Sabahattin and our driver were all really helpful in giving us directions, telling us about great things to do in the city and even introducing us to Raki ~ the national drink of Turkey! The location is great, very close to the Blue Mosque and all the attractions around it. Within easy walking distance of the Grand Bazaar and great restaurants.
Breakfast served on the roof overlooking the water was a fantastic way to start the day with lots of variety and friendly service. It was a good place to connect with other travellers to make sure that we did not miss out on anything in Istanbul or Turkey itself.
The rooms are cozy and really clean, the bed linens were exceptionally comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amac97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Grand Peninsula is a small, cosy place in the heart of Istanbul's Sultanahmet district, where most of the important sights are. The rooms were clean, the staff (ramadzan and Sabahattin) really friendly and cooperative (they pick you up at the airport, arrange sightseeing tours..
above all the hotel has an amazing terrace with a view over the Marmara Sea where you can have breakfast or a drink..
we had vbooked a normal double room but were accomodated in a family room without extra charge!
Absolutely recommendable, will go there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77annam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We spent a Wweek at the Grand Peninsula and had a great time. It's not a fancy hotel, but the location is great. There were a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance. It was also a 15 minute walk or less from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Sultanahmet tram stop, and maybe 20 from the Grand Bazaar. The price was also very reasonable. The rooms are not enormous. We had a large double, which was not expensive and was more than large enough for two people. The included breakfast was fine. There was no hot food, but otherwise it was pretty typical for a European hotel breakfast. They had cheese, olives, cold cuts, yogurt, breads, etc. And the rooftop terrace had some nice views. We also used their airport pickup service, and it was very quick and easy. The hotel does not have a lot of amenities, but if you want an inexpensive, clean, well run hotel in a good location, this is a good choice.

They do want you to pay in cash, so be prepared for that when you check out. The closest ATM is about a 15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about the size of the room, ask for the large double. It cost only a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wes032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Genuinely friendly, helpful staff. Great breakfast on a terrace overlooking the sea and Sultanahmet quarter. Reliable help for transportation to and from the airport.

The only slightly lower ratings I gave it are because I had a rather small single room in the basement, good but a little too enclosed if you can avoid it (and the housekeeping noise starts here early enough in the morning). However the price seems to have been cheaper than the other rooms, accordingly. I did spend one night in a double room which was very comfortable.

All in all, very good place to stay.

Room Tip: The only slightly lower ratings I gave it are because I had a rather small single room in the baseme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobPraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

From the very first night, when a smiling driver greeted us at the airport (our plane was an hour late, landing around midnight) to our last morning, everyone and everything at this hotel made our stay in Istanbul just perfect! We booked 2 single rooms, one in the basement (no TV), one on the 4th floor. No views, but who cares – they were clean and comfy. Bathrooms are a tad on the small side, but the showers were excellent: nice hot water and great water pressure. For views, go up to the roof terrace for breakfast – delicious yogurt, fruits & veggies, cheese, bread & cakes, and great coffee, served by lovely ladies. Major sights are within easy walking distance, as are many charming restaurants and shops. If you’re on a tight budget, this place is a good choice. We would definitely stay here again.

By the way, we didn’t need our Turkish phrase book, as most people we encountered were eager to use English.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter-beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#233 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#269 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#283 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#327 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Peninsula Hotel

Property: Grand Peninsula Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#166 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Hotel Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing