We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location, great management”
Review of Berce Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berce Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location, great management”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

i`ve just returned from my trip to Istanbul and i`m happy to recommend this hotel.
the location is great, 5 min from Blue Mosque and Sultanahmet area. Breakfast is good, fresh vegetables, cheese, eggs, etc. Mehmet is really nice and is doing a wonderful job and helped us not only by recommending certain places but also with shuttle issues. I`ve stayed in a single room but it was a huge room, easily fitting 2 people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    115
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
106
326
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Berce in October 2012, and were very happy about it. Mehmet and the others are very helpful, and the hotel is situated in a relatively quiet area in the otherwise noisy Sultanahmet area. Rooms are clean, food is good, and it is only a short distance to many of the sites in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights here in March 2013 and are eager to return. I made our reservation via email with Mehmet, who was very professional, informative and prompt in replying to my inquiries. We were charged for our stay when we checked out, and Mehmet arranged taxi transfer to the airport for us.

Upon arriving in Istanbul, we took the train from the airport and somehow missed our stop - we were only one stop away from the hotel, but with our heavy bags we decided to take a taxi the rest of the way. Our taxi driver couldn't find the hotel, but we had the hotel phone number, so he called and the night employee (feel really bad that I can't remember his name now) ran a few blocks to where the taxi had pulled over to lead us to the hotel! I can't think of any other hotel I have stayed at where the night employee would do something so helpful for us, albeit inconvenient for him.

We were pleasantly surprised to find we had received a complimentary upgrade to a larger suite (Room 107) for 3 of the 4 nights of our stay. This room, one level from the rooftop/breakfast area, was quite spacious, with 3 small balconies and many windows. I am extremely picky when it comes to hotel bathrooms, and this one passed the test. It was very clean, the vanity was well lit, and it included a hair dryer, a towel warmer and nice smelling toiletries.

Beautiful carpets adorn the hardwood floors throughout the hotel; not surprisingly, the owner (his name also, sadly, escapes me now) owns a carpet store in the nearby Arasta Bazaar, and gave us a great deal on a kilim carpet that we will surely keep forever.

Each morning between 8:00am and 10:00am, we enjoyed a variety of fresh breakfast options on the rooftop balcony, including fruit, bread, olives, tomatoes, cheeses, meat slices, eggs, pastries, cereal, coffee, tea, and orange juice, etc. Also each morning, the owner enjoyed breakfast and the view with the guests, greeting us and making sure we had everything we needed. One morning, he shared some delicious lentil soup with us that the cook(s?) had made. I wish they served that every morning! We became acquainted with a few other guests during breakfasts, and also enjoyed chatting with the co-owner/manager(?), Barb. She had so much helpful advice about navigating Istanbul, and was just an overall sincere and friendly individual to be around. We really did feel like guests at a family member's home.

Our last night, we switched to the room we had actually reserved (Room 104). This room was smaller than the previous, one floor below Room 107, with 2 little balconies, but still more than spacious enough for all of our bags and newly acquired belongings. Both rooms had a strong (free) WIFI connection, mini fridges, a large armoire, 1+ armchair, plenty of electrical outlets, hardwood floors with gorgeous carpets, hot water kettle/tea/coffee, and a mirrored vanity with seat. The bathrooms in both appeared to have been recently updated, and both included hairdryers and towel warmers.

I think I preferred the smaller room, only because it wasn't as bright in the morning and we heard less of the noisy seagulls that live in the area. The staircase leading to the rooms is spiral and quite cute, but if you have problems with stairs you might request a room on a lower level - Mehmet will take care of you! When we switched rooms, he (or someone?) moved our bags for us. The staff is all very friendly and helpful, the area is safe, and the hotel, which felt much more like a bed & breakfast, is an easy walk to many fun sights (we walked everywhere: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, etc.).

When we return to Istanbul, we will stay here again. I am definitely recommending Berce Hotel to my friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My and my boyfriend spend 6 days at berce hotel. The hotel itself is cute and the service is fabulous. But unfortunately it is located at the most touristic area right behind the blue mosque. The area is still nice to visit once or twice to get an impression of the basars and all the touristic attractions but next time ill definitely stay on the other side of the Golden Horn.
Back to the hotel as I said the service was fabulous and most welcoming and friendly. Due to its size of only 7 or 8 rooms it a really familiar atmosphere. The breakfast is good as well but after 6 days I got a little sick of it since there wasn't too much variety.
I believe the rooms are quite nice and spacy as well unless you get the room on first level (my case) this room is a little smaller but still nice. And there is free tee and coffee and a waterboiler in it. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This small very cozy and wonderful hotel located in the heart of Istanbul really amazing! We felt our self like at home,very good room with three balcony and nice view to the Marmara sea and breakfast is just perfect on the roof overlooking to the sea and the most important is the service they so helpful and kind ) We want say big thank to the manager of this hotel Mehmet Kaya he a very helpful guy so friendly stuff . Would return back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This small and charming hotel provides excelente service, comfort and hospitality. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is just perfect. Mehmet and his team are very helpfull, they recommended wonderfull tours with very good people, and we felt very safe with them. Really excelente!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway. We wanted to stay in the vicinity of Sultanahmet but at the same time somewhere discreet and affordable. Having visited other hotels, we can assure you this by far is the cleanest. The hotel staff are very polite and the service is brilliant.
Having stayed for such a short time, we were able to see the main attractions in Istanbul and dine at some divine restaurants as we were within walking distance.
Only problem we had were 1) electricity went out twice in one evening (not the hotels fault) and 2) walls were slightly thin.

Nonetheless, thank you Berce Hotel, we will return in due time :-)

Sab & Cem

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#89 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,450 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sphendon
Hotel Sphendon
#229 of 1,149 in Istanbul
275 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#85 of 1,149 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#139 of 1,149 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#50 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,373 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#193 of 1,149 in Istanbul
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Berce Hotel

Property: Berce Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sokak No 6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the center of İstanbul on a quiet neighborhood street a five minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Hagia Sofia in Sultanahmet, the historical center of İstanbul.There are 7 exclusive and nicely decorated comfortable rooms, 4 of them with balconies.We have a terrace, where you can have your breakfast and have your drink with the magnificent view of the Marmara Sea, old town and the Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Berce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berce Hotel Istanbul
Berce Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing