We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the little things” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Istanbul International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtyard Istanbul International Airport
Ranked #285 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's the little things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

So this hotel is fine for a convenient close to the airport hotel, which is why I booked it. Unfortunately the airport shuttle did not run at 4am to take me to the airport for my 6am flight, which I found a little annoying, so I had to take a taxi. Also I can't seem to understand why Marriott cannot offer free wifi in the rooms. They charge a lot for their rooms and then have the audacity to charge for internet. I've stayed in $10 hostels that offer free wifi. Come on. Also during my visit to Turkey every hotel that I stayed in offered a bottle of complimentary water. Not the Marriott, they charge you for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljb341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    320
    141
    43
    28
See reviews for
106
180
109
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

i stayed there during a stopover. Is in my eyes a very good hotel for this reason.

Breakfast is not outstanding but everything you need is there
internet is 8usd per day
hotel is near(10min) to the airport
rooms are ok, clean, good tv and a nice shower.

if you are planning tovisit istanbul it is not that well located, but perfect for a short overnight

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didi091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard Istanbul International Airport, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel and sharing your experience within the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Like other travelers, I had an early morning flight so opted to stay at the Courtyard Hotel. It's very modern, nicely decorated, upscale - basically, you could be at any airport hotel in the world except you get Turkish wine in the restaurant! If you want to really visit Istanbul, this is not the place, but for our purposes it was fine. It would be better if the shuttle ran more often; once per hour seems very infrequent. It worked out fine for our departure in the morning, as we knew what time to go down to catch the shuttle (every hour on the hour after 5:00 AM) but we ended up taking a taxi from the airport upon arrival. Fortunately, it was not expensive. We ate in the restaurant, in which the setting and the wait-staff are very pleasant, although the meal was a bit overpriced. The room itself was spacious, with a great view (we were on the 15th floor, I think), comfortable beds, clean bathroom. The added security (metal detector to enter the hotel) seems a bit over the top to me, but is perhaps reassuring to some.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Alice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard Istanbul International Airport, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look at all constructive feedback carefully and look into areas where we can improve and meet visitors needs.

We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were only in Istanbul for 36 hours and had an early flight at 6.20am the day we left so thought it would be good to stay close to the airport for the two nights and just get picked up and taken to Istanbul for our full day. Hotel has a lot of security so you feel very safe. Neighborhood looked pretty rough so we did not venture into the surrounding area. Rooms were very clean and modern. We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was good, although not cheap. We had just planned to have breakfast at the hotel until we found out the price. It was $20Euro each. We just ate when we got into town for a fraction of the cost.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arbourvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard Istanbul International Airport, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look at all constructive feedback and carefully and look into areas where we can improve and meet visitors needs.

We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel, from January 12 to 20, 2013 it is an excellent hotel in Istanbul, location is very good. They have very good dining facility. SONA is excellent. Nice swimming pool and Gym.
The staff's are very efficient and cordial to help. I will back to stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustafi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard Istanbul International Airport, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to share your experience. İt is great to hear that you was very impresseed with our facilities and service provided.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport Point, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Here in the US we are used to breakfast being included when you stay at a Courtyard. We didn't realize there was not breakfast included at this hotel. At check-in, we were told we would be charged 20 Euros EACH for breakfast, or 40 Euros, and we choked. Then the desk clerk told us we could upgrade for 40 Euros and get breakfast included, free minibar, and free internet. After I calmed down my husband, we took the upgrade. The minibar had 1 beer, 1 water, 1 juice, and 1 unidentifiable drink. No snack, no two of anything. Just 4 bottles. The wi-fi didn't work. The breakfast, however, was fabulous. I felt sorry for the little guy at the table next to us that just wanted cereal... Hope he was on an expense account.

The room was very nice, but after we were ready for bed, we realized that the water draining from my bath had leaked all over the bathroom floor, coming from mysterious cracks, and into the carpet in the hall by our closet. We called the desk, they moved us, and all was fine, particularly after I calmed down my husband again.

The next morning I went to the desk and asked for some price break because we had to change rooms--I don't think we should have had to ask--but to their credit, they gave us some discount for our trouble.

We love Marriott, always have, and I think the management handled this pretty well. Shame on us for not knowing what our deal included. That's why I'm writing this~! Marriott, could you offer a breakfast for people who just want some yoghurt? 20 Euros? Really?

Room Tip: All of the rooms are sound-proofed because of proximity to interstate and the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

After staying at crap places while we were there then going to the Marriott, I felt like I was in heaven. This hotel has a lot of security so you definitely feel safe here! The gym/pool/spa are awesome as well as the rooms for the price we got, it was excellent! It was very clean and all the staff were wonderful. The restaurant was super tasty as well. We arrived about 3 hours early for check-in and were able to swim while we waited for our room to be ready which was 15 mins MAX. Really close to the airport and the free shuttle every hour is great. Only bad things would be no room service (they should with restaurant being open all day downstairs), stock mini fridge )only had one bottle water) and the lights are on sensors everywhere you go! It's quite annoying because they go out all the time in the rooms. You have to keep inserting or leave your key card in it but still seemed to go out sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Layne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Istanbul Ataturk Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Istanbul Ataturk Airport
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Conference & Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Istanbul Airport
ibis Istanbul Airport
#578 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
#145 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.0 mi away
WOW Airport Hotel
WOW Airport Hotel
#243 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Istanbul International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Istanbul International Airport

Property: Courtyard Istanbul International Airport
Address: Basin Ekspress Yolu, Fatih Caddesi, Dereboyu Sokak No: 2, Istanbul 34303, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#158 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#197 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#222 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Istanbul International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Istanbul Airport hotel makes visiting Istanbul easy. Just 5 minutes from Istanbul International Airport and only 20 minutes to Istanbul's city center, The Courtyard Marriott Istanbul International Airport, promises a comfortable and enjoyable hotel experience for travellers. The Courtyard Marriott Istanbul International Airport is located just 5 minutes by complimentary shuttle from the Istanbul International Airport. Our Hotel is ideally situated in the triangle composed of Istanbul International. Airport, Congress, Fair and Exhibition centers such as CNR-Expo, IFM, IWTC and Tuyap. 264 guest-rooms offer welcome comfort, from high-quality beds to high speed Internet access. Our chic and contemporary hotel rooms pay full attention to traveller needs with a coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and board, plasma display channel. No matter your reason for visiting Istanbul, we can help you feel at home with quality amenities such as a 24-hour fitness center, massage therapy options, Grab & Go service and an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Istanbul International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Istanbul International Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing