We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite Mariott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport
Ranked #265 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were supposed to stay here one night only, but thanks to Hurricane Sandy our stay was extended to three nights. We are Mariott Gold members and we didn't receive an upgrade or a free breakfast at this hotel. The breakfast is 20 Euros, which is completely outrageous. There are a lot of options for breakfast, but certainly not worth the price. They have an airport shuttle that leaves every hour on the hour, which in my opinion is rather infrequent. Rooms clean and otherwise totally unremarkable, staff will check you in and check you out but service wasn't anything to write home about.

The location of this hotel is terrible, it is a 15 min. ride to the airport, and if you need to get into town, you have to take the shuttle to the airport in order to take the metro. So basically it's far away from both the city and the airport.

If I could do it again I would stay at the Holiday Inn airport hotel, they have a free shuttle into the center of Istanbul as well as a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 751 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Class hotel next to Ataturk hotel and not so far away of the historical center at the European site.
Rooms are very large and offer good sleep comfort.
Restaurant offers Turkish and international menus.
Rooms are sound insulated but it should be noted that the noise of the airplanes is indeed coming through. Therefore the low quotation for location and sleep quality.
Staff is very friendly and do speak English.

Room Tip: No specific recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Administrative Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your nice comments about Courtyard by Marriott International Airport Hotel. I appreciate that you found the time to express your opinion about the stay at our hotel. We will do our best to make you feel comfortable every time.
Please let me personally apologize for the problem which you have experienced.
Hotel team is always looking forward to welcoming you again to the Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Because of Hurricane Sandy, our flight from Rome to New York was cancelled and we had to return as soon as possible for business reasons. We found a flight from Rome to Istanbul to Chicago to Kansas City. But, we had to spend the night in Istanbul. We checked with the Marriott Concierge in Rome and they recommended the Courtyard in Istanbul by the airport to us. The shuttle is free and the hotel only 15 minutes or so from the airport. We arrived fairly late but were greeted pleasantly and efficiently processed and had our room in a manner of minutes. Our room was very comfortable and welcome after the flight. The shuttle was precisely on time the next morning to get us back to the airport. It wasn't a "big deal" but I appreciate when a hotel does a really good job of making you comfortable and being efficient and courteous in the process.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a high traffic area but the noise didn't bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Valuable Reviewer,
Thank you for posting your valuable comments about our property. The most important thing we aim for is a memorable stay for our guests. It is very important for us to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you back again.
Best Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was convenient to the airport, safe, clean, well appointed, and the service was exceptional. It was everything one would expect from a Marriott. If there, take time to enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Valuable Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your nice comments. It is a pleasure to hear you were pleased with our service.We hope to see you back here once again.
Best Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I chose this hotel because I have an early morning flight to Rome in the am. Restaurant was pricey and extremely ordinary, my room door would not open w/key, a little chintzy with the towels, which is surprising as Marriott usually takes such good care of gold members. I'd probably stay here again with a tight connection, but wouldn't eat at oleo pazzo -see separate review.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Traveldiva36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,
We are so sorry to hear that we couldn’t meet your expectations. We have informed the related department heads about your experiences and we will take necessary actions immediately. We hope to see you back again.
Best Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

All went fine :-). Good service, recognition of Marriott rewards scheme.

The only downside is lack of exec lounge but I am unsure if Courtyards should have one. I have been given "free mini bar" instead but the content of it was limited to cans of soda and skimmed milk.

Rooms on 18th floor got nice espresso machine.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. Due to our standards we are not able to have Executive Lounge as you have pointed out. We hope to welcome you back once again at your next trip to Istanbul.
Best Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice hotel located minutes from the airport. Located in a quiet neighborhood full of nice restaurants. There's free WIFI but only on the lobby. The lobby is nice, with a bar and restaurants. WIFI in you room, combined with cable tv will cost you 20 Euros for 24 hours. But why pay for all that when a whole Istanbul is waiting for you. Security is tight at the hotel too. Guards are ready to call a cab for you when needed. A trip to downtown Istanbul, Grand Bazaar will set you back 50 Turkish Lira, about $25. So round trip will be $50. Be careful when getting a cab to the hotel from downtown, I got ripped off by one of the cab drivers who claimed I gave him less money. Make sure you count your fare while both him and you are watching. Free shuttles to the airport every 30 minutes. As I always say, venture outside and sample the various cuisines with the locals. We used to take walks every evening to go buy fruits and have Turkish tea with the locals. It's cheaper too. The hotel is surrounded by nice small restaurants. Considering that breakfast at the hotel per person will set you back I think 20 Euros. There are shopping malls about 5 to 10 minutes cab drive. Make sure you try them out. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the front or back-left. Pick rooms from 10th floor going up for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Istanbul, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experiences with us. It is very nice to hear you had a nice stay with us. Your comments are a nice guide for us and all the other reviewers. We look forward to welcome you back once again.

Best Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite World Europe Hotel
Elite World Europe Hotel
#371 of 1,175 in Istanbul
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Istanbul Ataturk Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Istanbul Ataturk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
#146 of 1,175 in Istanbul
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Istanbul Airport
ibis Istanbul Airport
#407 of 1,175 in Istanbul
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport

Address: Basin Ekspress Yolu, Fatih Caddesi, Dereboyu Sokak No 2, Halkali, Istanbul 34303, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#186 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport is a top choice among Istanbul Airport hotels. We make business and leisure travel easy, offering a location just 5 minutes from Istanbul International Airport and only 20 minutes from Istanbul's city center. Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport, promises a comfortable and enjoyable hotel experience for travellers. We provide a complimentary shuttle from the Istanbul International Airport. Our comfortable hotel in Istanbul, Turkey is ideally situated in the triangle composed of Istanbul International Airport, Congress, Fair and Exhibition centers such as CNR-Expo, IFM, IWTC and Tuyap. 264 guestrooms offer welcome comfort, from high-quality beds to high speed Internet access. Our chic and contemporary hotel rooms pay full attention to traveller needs with a coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and board, plasma display channel. No matter your reason for visiting Istanbul, we can help you feel at home with quality amenities such as a 24-hour fitness center, massage therapy options, Grab & Go service and an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Istanbul International Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing