We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How the owner of the hotel can throw you out of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Modern Sultan Hotel
Ranked #114 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How the owner of the hotel can throw you out of the hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We have been thrown out of the hotel, the lady was shouting - holding her baby at about midnight - because of our expressed disagreement from the huge difference between the photoes and the reality in this poorly run property.

Besides we are not talking about any disappointment caused, it is about the unexpected expences caused, loosing our time and energy to find another hotel, instead exploring the city. The hour of this quite insulting request for cancellation from the owner was late enough .

Booking.com should require more accurate information, especially in cases like ours, when damaged clients report that there is essential discrepancy - NO TERRASE TO VIEW WHATEVER, NO PARKING PLOT, NO WINDOWS IN SOME OF THE ROOMS.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank naila_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    63
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
77
101
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I was a single gal traveling alone in Istanbul and this hotel could not have been any more wonderful. It's centrally located, walking distance to almost everything, and the tram (Gulhane stop) is only one block down the road. It's in a quiet area of the Old City so besides the Blue Mosque's morning Call to Prayer I didn't hear a thing. There was some great food options just a few blocks away and it was only a 5-10 min walk to the Blue Mosque, Topkaki Palace, Haghia Sophia, and the Grand Bazaar. Two Canadian women run the hotel and they are lovely women who are very accommodating and knowledgeable about the city. They even helped me ship some items home! I stayed in a small single room that met all my needs, WiFi worked throughout the hotel and the Turkish breakfast was a great way to start the day. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again - thank you for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Had a truly lovely stay at the hotel with my family. The airport pickup was there waiting when we arrived. Our room was ready for us and Ahmed helped lug our luggage up. Thanks, Ahmed. Room was big enough for 4 of us along with our luggage. Breakfast was good and location superb. We were able to find our way around pretty quickly. Really cosy place to stay, thanks to the 2 ladies who run the place. Too bad we didn't get a group photo, girls...would have loved having a photo of sweet Leila. Would definitely stay here again as it's value for money. The staff's friendliness is a plus point.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Had a excellent stay at this hotel last week. Hotel is very centrally located, in the center of Istanbul in a quiet street; walking distance from all the major sites of Istanbul. Close to the tram, which will bring you to other neighborhoods, airport included. Rooms are tiny, but clean. No TV, but excellent wireless internet access. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast in the morning, conclusive: real value for money!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank male_020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunisia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2009

we stayed in this hotel 3 nights
The hotel is conveniently located
Very very very small and basic, not a three stars
we stayed in the room on the top floor, very long stairs (no lift), and after a long day it was really a big problem,
Small room with no chair or table on which we can put our luggages
the bathroom was well
Poor room service, the first day they cleaned the room but not the second
Breakfast was good but the same every day
Women owners of the hotel were very nice
They left us use their kitchen to prepare meals to our little girl

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdaous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

This is my second stay at this hotel in the last 4 months, this in itself should speak for my experience.
Great staff who are willing to help with any needs, the rooms are kept very clean and each has it own unique and classic charm.
This hotel is the perfect location blue mosque, topkapi palace, grand bazaar, egyptian spice bazaar and more are all within a short walk of the hotel.
The staff here were great at helping me organize my sight seeing during both stays and organized an excursion for me to Effisis and Pummakale which was amazing.
I would definately recommend this hotel to all me friends and family and I cannot wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tas234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed at the modern Sultan Hotel in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul for 2 weeks last October. It is in the perfect spot...walking distance to all the main sites (Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Eqyptian Spice Bazaar). The staff are friendly and very knowlegeable of the area. The staff can speak english so we had no translation issues. The hotel itself is beautiful. Small and cozy with antique furniture and rugs. Makes you almost not want to venture outside. The staff hooked us up with a city tour, an overnight stay on Heybeliada (one of the Prince Islands) and an excursion down south. It was a holiday to remember!!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JugyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#207 of 1,156 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#89 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#115 of 1,156 in Istanbul
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#86 of 1,156 in Istanbul
938 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#97 of 1,156 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Sultan Hotel

Property: Modern Sultan Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mahallesi, Zeynep Sultan Cami Sokak, No:13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Sultan Hotel located in the heart of Historical Peninsula, within walking distance of many attractions including Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar etc…Our hotel since put into service , aim to serve you to feel yourself at home with its hospitality, qualified personnel and maintains its high quality service concept on the higher level with continuous development. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Modern Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing