We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Modern Sultan Hotel
Ranked #113 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

You can feel your self living in fifteenth century. .The hotel is very beautiful. Its location is very good, you can go by walk to Ayasofia and Blue Mosque. .The staff are very kind and helpful..really you will spend so romantic time inside the hotel

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank medyaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Modern Sultan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Best ever cosy hotel. Owner was an exelent guide gave me exelent tips of places to visit. Always aviable to help. Located 5 minutes by foot to hagia Sofia, you can see in from your room. Will return with friends when possible..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Modern Sultan is a small hotel very close to all the main attractions in Istanbul- it is about 2 minutes walk to the entrance to Topaki palace and only 5 minutes to the Agia Sophia. We had a double room with a view on the second floor- it was beautifully furnished with a view of the Agia Sophia, although was quite small. The breakfast is traditionally turkish and very nice. Bed very comfortable and the staff here were very friendly and helpful. The only real downside for us is that the hotel is next to a hostel who had a rooftop bar and on our first night they played very loud music until about 1am which was impossible to sleep even with earplugs as we wanted an early night. The hotel have an agreement with the hostel that they won't play music after 12pm, so not sure i would recommend this place to couples with young children. But altogether a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Modern Sultan Hotel for four nights and were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel is close to all of the must-see attractions, such as, the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia to name a few. The room was clean, comfortable and well priced. The breakfast was healthy, lots of veggies, and feta cheese, with eggs, olives, bread and French toast (and lots of other goodies). The staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would most definitely stay at the hotel again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 401 and did not find it noisy. We slept well.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorie_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

It's the most amazing hotel in istambul with the most perfect view to aya sofia and it's close to all the touristic spots there the rooms are so clean the breakfast is delicious the staff is very helpfull.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Everything was great about this place. The staff was very friendly and accommodating when arranging transport for me and my girlfriend on 2 separate occasions. The rooms were very nice and well maintained. Location was awesome also! There was a conveniently located cafe just around the corner if you need coffee in the morning. The breakfast provided was also very nice. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just came back from a great citytrip in Istanbul. We really could recommend this hotel.
The location is just perfect! The rooms are nice and very clean. The beds could be a little bit softer but that was no problem for the 3 nights. The staff is very friendly and will help you with all your questions. It is also including breakfast which was very nice and fresh! We should say: book this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anoes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#214 of 1,159 in Istanbul
498 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#93 of 1,159 in Istanbul
945 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#129 of 1,159 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#109 of 1,159 in Istanbul
498 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#81 of 1,159 in Istanbul
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Sultan Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mahallesi, Zeynep Sultan Cami Sokak, No:13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Sultan Hotel located in the heart of Historical Peninsula, within walking distance of many attractions including Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar etc…Our hotel since put into service , aim to serve you to feel yourself at home with its hospitality, qualified personnel and maintains its high quality service concept on the higher level with continuous development. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Modern Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing