We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Modern Sultan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$515
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
278
67
8
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
67
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiablue mosquebasilica cisterngrand bazaarfeel homesmall hotelbreakfast was deliciousrooms are cleanlocation is excellentturkish teamajor sightsspice bazaarthe hotel staffwalking distanceaziztramtourist
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 362 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at Modern Sultan was very nice thanks to the friendly staff. The location is excellent very close to Hagia Sophia and other historical sights. The room with occupancy of 3 adults was nice. Toilet slightly small but clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Can't say enough about Istanbul and the Modern Sultan is perfectly located. Next Hagia Sophia and easy walk to all major sites. Tram station two minutes away for longer trips.

The staff makes this colorful, fun hotel a gem. I arrived in Istanbul with two issues. My medication as being held hostage to UPS and Turkish customs and my son's backpack strap ripped. They spent over an hour on the phone with UPS and took the backpack to be restitched at no charge. Amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lastinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in late Sept. The location in the heart of the old city was convenient for all the sights, and my room had a direct view onto Aya Sofia that was extraordinary.
The room was small, but spotless and nicely decorated. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Modern Sultan Hotel is very nice, stylish and clean, and in a good location very near to the main highlights of Istanbul, and plenty of bars and restaurants.
They were very helpful prior to our arrival to organize trips, guided tours, tickets entrance and restaurant reservations. I would rate our experience highly. Thanks!

Room Tip: please, ask for the Ay Sophya room view. Extraordinary! in the morning the wake up is sung by the recit of the Corano minaret earby. Fascinating and authentic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I'm not usually one to write reviews, but the Modern Sultan Hotel in Istanbul is very deserving of praise. Beautiful, clean, classy, and comfortable rooms (I extended my stay twice and stayed in 3 rooms total because of previous bookings. All were lovely, and had nice views... one looked right onto Hagia Sofia). The best part was the staff, who were so friendly that we became... friends! You will love Aziz, Guljahan, and Osman pretty much immediately. I didn't think to take pictures of the place while I was there, except for a quick shot of their breakfast buffet, which will give you a small glimpse of the pride they take in everything they do.

Room Tip: 303 looked onto Ayasofya, larger than life, but it's a single. 301 is a nice double with good views of picturesque streets. 201 was a match to 301, and with one less flight of stairs...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fritz626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews