We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Modern Sultan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$506
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
278
67
8
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
67
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiablue mosquebasilica cisterngrand bazaarfeel homesmall hotelbreakfast was deliciousrooms are cleanlocation is excellentturkish teamajor sightsspice bazaarthe hotel staffwalking distanceaziztramtourist
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 362 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This a small but neat hotel. The location is prime; all the major attractions are within walking distance. But even better than the location is the attitude of the staff. I reached the hotel at midnight and every restaurant was closed in near vicinity. The receptionist offered to get food (Pizza hut) delivered to the hotel. Another very sweet staff member helped me a lot in the morning with my travel plans. When I visit Istanbul again, I will definitely stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waqas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I've stayed at Modern sultan Hotel for 3 nights; I've been told by one of my friends & I've been very satisfied. Localization is perfect, only few minutes by foot from Ayasofya i.e., people working there are very friendly and helpfull, they make feel you at home, but they stay very professionnal; the breakfast offers a pretty wide diversity, with very good products, fresh fruits... Hotel is very clean... and some of the rooms, like the one I've had, gives a view on Ayasofya and another small mosque, the true spirit of Istanbul; for sure, I'll come back there

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about a week and loved it! The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. It is a small hotel so you really get a personal experience here. The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is walking distance to many of the fantastic sites Istanbul has to offer, including the Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and Topkapi Palace. We had the Family room and it had stunning views of the Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus. It was a bit small and did get a little noisy at times but the pro's far exceeded the con's at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saslam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best thing here is the staff (thank you especially to the wonderful Guljahan). Also the location is excellent, within a few minutes walk of the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Topkapi, etc. But at the same time it's on a quiet side street away from the crowds of tourists, which is nice. They provide a decent basic breakfast and the rooms are quite comfortable, if a bit small--though try to get one with a view of the Aya Sofya, which is stunning. I stayed here twice, and the second time had a room without the view and with a lot of noise all night from seagulls on the nearby rooftops. If not for that, I would definitely have given this five stars.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a spectacular view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Let me start with the positives: Great location in the heart of old Istanbul. Our second room here looked right out on Hagia Sophia. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms have some nice touches. On the downside, our second room was right next to the top floor bar of the hostel next door. Great tunes but went on a bit later than I would have liked. I almost preferred the call to prayer at that point because it was shorter. And as you might expect in an older hotel, the plumbing could use an upgrade. The shower took a while to drain, the tap sprayed water on the floor and the toilet in the first room ran. (And the door to the bathroom was more of a "curtain.") If you are not to fussy, it will be fine.

Room Tip: If you have earplugs, ask for an upper room that looks out on Hagia Sophia.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews