We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spice Bazaar & Kadikoy Market Tour”
Review of Turkish Flavours

Turkish Flavours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turkish Flavours organizes culinary walks and cooking classes in Istanbul. We take visitors to a real Turkish Home on the lesser visited Asian side of Istanbul for our cooking classes. Our food walks are designed to stroll through local food markets and streets of Istanbul including stops for tastings of Turkish delicacies.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spice Bazaar & Kadikoy Market Tour”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Amazing culinary tour through Istanbul's European and Asian sides. I would recommend to anyone who loves delicious food and profound culture. Our questions and appetite would have overwhelmed any "ordinary" guide, but not Taciser :) She seemed to have so much knowledge and interesting stories to tell us throughout the tour. Moreover, she is a sweetheart, and it was a pleasure to spend the day with her.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    37
    5
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Wow! What An Evening”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I just finished the "Istanbul Street Food Walk" and couldn't believe how much I enjoyed myself. The food we tasted was only out done by the amazingcultural and historic insights our guide Taciser Ayvaz (Taci) shared before and after each tasting. Our tour began at the Spice Bazar in Europe and ended after a relaxing ferry ride and a flavorful 2 1/2 hour visit to a wide variety of shops and restaurants in Kadikoy Market on the Asian side of Istanbul. Enjoying the differnet aromas and tastes of the "street food" we sampled duing this tour is something I will think about whenever the topic of Isatnbul arises.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1234EdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“A highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

After visiting the major historic sights on the European side of Istanbul, we wanted to venture to the Asian side and were intrigued by the Turkish Flavours Istanbul Streetfood Walk through the Kadikoy market. Taci met us in front of the Spice Bazaar on the Old City side and a short ferry ride began an amazing tasting experience and education about the food and seasonings of Turkish cooking. Taci was so personable and easy to talk to, as evidenced by the warm welcome we received at every place we stopped along the way. Thoroughly enjoyable and would highly recommend putting one of her food tours in your Istanbul itinerary!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must for Foodies”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent the day with Taci starting at the Spice Bazaar, followed by a ferry ride to the Asian side at Kadikoy, a walk through the Kadikoy market followed by a meze lunch at the Ciya restaurant consisting of around 20 dishes (we did not eat dinner that night). Along the way, we stopped at various places where Taci explained the ins and outs of Turkish food culture, and which enabled us to stock up on spices, dried fruits,Turkish Delight and other goodies. We even found time to visit the inside of a mosque in the Spice Market area that was richly decorated with tiles. Taci was a marvellous guide, and the tour was a wonderful and most enjoyable way to learn about Turkish food. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - a must do for anyone visiting Istanbul!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first trip ever to Istanbul and given our limited time, we wanted to cover off as much as we can and decided that the Europe/Asia street good tour would be a good way to kick things off - Taci was amazing and we connected with her immediately - due to off season in December, we were the only one's with her for the day and it truly was an amazing experience and she was a wonderful guide - would recommend this tour to anyone as a must do! Also Selin was extremely courteous and accommodating in moving the dates of the tour to accommodate our request so thanks to her. I usually don't write reviews but after this wonderful experience was compelled to write a review so everyone can try the Turkish Flavours street food tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zeeshan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkish Flavours also viewed

 

Been to Turkish Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing