We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Street Food Tour”
Review of Turkish Flavours

Turkish Flavours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turkish Flavours organizes culinary walks and cooking classes in Istanbul. We take visitors to a real Turkish Home on the lesser visited Asian side of Istanbul for our cooking classes. Our food walks are designed to stroll through local food markets and streets of Istanbul including stops for tastings of Turkish delicacies.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Street Food Tour”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Due to our short time in Istanbul, we reserved a street food tour on our first night in town. We met up with Taci easily in front of the Spice Bazaar - as it was the off season, it ended up just being us and her, which was a nice treat! She took us to the Asian side, which ended up requiring a sunset ferry ride, which was beautiful. She took us to a variety of restaurants and shops, and was very interested in what we would like and our enjoyment of the experience. Everything we ate was interesting and delicious. All in all, I would definitely recommend it - if we go back to Istanbul, I would do another Turkish Flavours tour or class.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeineRader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    37
    5
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Schooled in Cooking and Istanbul”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent two weeks in Istanbul. Our day with Selim was tops. Selim has big classes and little classes. As this was the off season, Selim had a little class of just my wife and I (followed by two days of classes of 12 each). Besides the hands on treatment of the small class we got an extra dose of Selin and a real introduction to Istanbul and Turkey.

We began the day with a visit to the Spice Market (Shop #51). We were the guest of Abdulla. He is the 4th generation to run the company. He is back from getting his MBA from Ohio State with his perfect English and gracious teaching of Middle Eastern spices.

We rode the ferry across the Bosphorus to Selim's new home. She crafted her new place around the cooking school. She designed her kitchen island (more of a continent) with working spaces for 12. After a hour we felt we had known Selin for years and at the end of the day we felt we had known her for life.

We learned how small amounts of meat and a variety of vegetables make for a cuisine unlike our own.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 70seniortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
“A Lovely Day”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had an absolutely great time with Selin, Taciser, Darya and, of course, Yoyo. Ahmet at the Spice Bazaar that Taciser took us to for info on spices was also great. I look forward to another day with them all on my next trip to Istanbul. It was absolutely lovely all around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
“"It's the way to experience Turkey first hand"”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time with Selin during our cooking class. We had a spice Baazar tour a few days before we took the class and it certainly helped by being familiar with the spices that were used for our meal. Selin's home is very comfortable and she was very organized and we learned so much about the culture, food and history. I would recommend Selin's cooking class! We even had our own cookbook to replicate the recipes we indulged in!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ONE OF A KIND!!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's been almost three weeks since we completed the Explore Turkish Flavours tours with Selin Rozanes - just wanted to make sure that what we said was not biased by the immediate afterglow of the experience. This was a once in a lifetime experience where you get to experience another nation's history, culture, and cuisine with a front row center seat with an added backstage pass. What makes the tour so special is the personal involvement of Selin. She not only makes the arrangements but personally participates in the activities and makes changes to the planned itinerary as local conditions or the desires of the participants dictate. For those readers not available to participate in this twice a year event, the spice market tour and the cooking class at Selin's home were both parts of this tour that can be booked separately and are not to be missed. If you're a foodie, it doesn't get any better than this!! If you decide to take this tour make sure you are up for days that are full of activities that require walking and a disciplined appetite. Selin also help us with arrangements for excellent tours in Istanbul for days prior to the tour that allowed for us to adjust to a seven hour time zone change and see some of the city sights not included in the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyJ424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkish Flavours also viewed

 

Been to Turkish Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing