We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end to our holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turkish Flavours

Turkish Flavours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turkish Flavours organizes culinary walks and cooking classes in Istanbul. We take visitors to a real Turkish Home on the lesser visited Asian side of Istanbul for our cooking classes. Our food walks are designed to stroll through local food markets and streets of Istanbul including stops for tastings of Turkish delicacies.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were having a wonderful holiday in Istanbul, but had only a few days left. I had bookmarked Turkish Flavours before we left home and finally contacted them to check which tours were available. The trip to the Princes’ Islands was scheduled for our last day in the city. So we signed up.

What a fabulous way to spend a day! Everything worked perfectly, we met up with Selim and John outside of the Egyptian Bazaar and took the ferry to Kadikoy where we boarded their 37 foot sailboat and headed for the islands. No wind, but a beautiful sunny day, we arrived at Burgazada in time for a short walk around town.

Selin ordered up a wonderful lunch at a restaurant on the harbour front in the bright sunshine. The meal included a dozen different meze dishes, plus calamari, prawns, and a selection of fish cooked to perfection. We knew the fish were fresh as the fisherman were selling their catch just a few feet away from us. Dessert was a delicious baked halva and Selin explained techniques and ingredients throughout the meal and provided a useful little cookbook too.

All food and transportation was included in the cost of the trip, it was excellent value. Selin is friendly and knowledgeable, and very good company.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PalmyraOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    37
    4
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Experiencr”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went for the Cooking Class with Selin. Her house is located in Nistansi one of the poshest streets in Turkey.. That alone was a sight to see. Her house is just beautiful, full on precious antiques and tiny figurines she must have collected throughout the years. We spent a lovely half hour getting to know each other (we were a group of 9).. After that she gave us each i dividual aprons and we got right to it! Selin is a pro at what she does, she makes cooking so easy that EVERYONE can whip up these turkish dishes now. She reminded me of Julia Childe, and she does love her butter! We all got to pitch in throughout the cooking, she gave us each multiple tasks to keep us busy. I shared my love of baking with her and she ever so kindly offerred that i take care of the dessert dish, that was so wonderfuly thoughtful. After cooking we all gathered around her perfectly set dining table and enjoyed our meals... I can honestly say that it was one of the yummiest meals i had! I am back home now and can't wait to impress everyone with my Turkish dishes. Kisses to Selin and yoyo (her super cute and ever so hyper pup).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

With a party of 8 guys, we had the pleasure of going on the Spice Bazaar walk and historical Kadikoy market Tour (a culinary walk on two continents -Europe & Asia!) with regional Anatolian lunch. It was the absolute high light of our trip to Istanbul, unsurpassed by cultural excursions and night life.

Our charming hostess, Taci, took us around the spice bazaar and the Kadikoy market, and gave great insight into all the wonderful foods of the Turkish cuisine. It seemed that all the shop-owners knew her, and were ready to share with her their top delicacies for us to taste. By no means an easy group to handle, Taci had us spell-bound by her knowledge of Turkish food.

Lunch was a never-ending parade of amazing tastes, and a true revelation of the Anatolian traditional cuisine.

I want to go again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Spice Tour experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family and I very much enjoyed the Spice Tour. We met our guide in the morning and walked thru the market a leisurely pace, stopping frequently to experience new smells and flavors. It was a true experience of Istanbul. Our guide was so very enjoyable and knowledgeable. Her english was excellent. Our college age daughters loved the various foods that we were able to try. WE also liked the journey on the ferry to the Asian side. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pmaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An wonderful taste of Turkish food and Istanbul's local culture.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I couldn't recommend Annie's walking tour more. It was exactly the way I wanted to see Istanbul and try the local food. Remember not to eat a big lunch beforehand!

Helpful?
1 Thank annalouisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turkish Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing