We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly smoky bedrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
Ranked #289 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smelly smoky bedrooms”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked a non-smoking room here for a business trip as a colleague was staying here. I arrived to be given the smelliest smoking room I've believe I've ever been in. I marched all the way back to reception to ask for the non-smoking room I had booked. The receptionist said they didn't have any. I asked if I could have anything less smelly and he booked me into another guest's room (the other guest's name was still listed on the TV). This room was still a smoking room and still quite smoky but not unbearable. The bathroom had a few (not many) long brown hairs on the floor, but apart from that, was clean. The room was large and had a good view. The breakfast buffet (not included) was very good.

At night, the hotel's lifts had various lone females in them who were wearing hardly any clothing. They were literally wearing little more than underwear and this style of dress is really unusual for Turkey. Whilst I feel bad for speculating about their profession without knowing more about them, their presence made me feel uncomfortable as a female business traveller.

When I returned home, I filled in a questionnaire sent to me by the Starwood group and received the e-mails below from the Atakoy Guest Relations Executive:

Atakoy Guest Relations Exec to me:
We would like to thank you for your kind interest that you have shown to Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel and we much appreciate the time that you have taken to complete our guest satisfaction questionnaire. We have just checked your reservation and saw that your reservation was made for a Deluxe Smoking room with two separate beds. We have high occupancy since the beginning of the year and so that we sometimes are not able to change the room types if guests don’t like, even if the reservations were made different type of rooms. Surely, our first aim is to make our guests comfortable when they are staying with u, but as we mentioned we could not give you a non-smoking room because we were fully occupied and there were no available non-smoking room on that day. In this case, please do accept our apologies for any inconvenience that we caused. We again would like to thank you for your kind comments and thank you for your understanding. We hope that this stay will not deter you from choosing us again. If you need any further help, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Me in return:
I’m slightly confused by your e-mail. This is my reservation for a non-smoking room: (details). The hotel was not fully occupied – I was given a key to another empty room when I complained that the first room was smelly.

Atakoy to me:
Thank you again for your email. Please be assured that we have give you another room after your complain, but it was blocked room for another guest. If you need any further help, please let us know.

Room Tip: Book non-smoking and demand it when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blink76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    203
    84
    42
    36
See reviews for
78
106
37
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alphaville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The receptıonıst Kazım treated me lıke a dog because I wanted to go to Club lounge. I dıd not ınform I could go for a fee. The hotel ıs ok but the personal are no frıendly.
I am a spg member for 10 years and I receıve derespet on my stay. The hotel ıs always full and I thınk that ıs why they dont care much about us. We are numbers nothıng else.
For one decade ın spg membershıp program thıs ıs the worse hotel ın treatıng people I have ever passes thru I am very ashamed.But the hoıel ıs a good optıon but the personal ZERO.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcelo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Located near the airport, and not the first choice to tourists due to its remote location. If your budget is constrained you would have to wait for the bus96T to Taksim, but you should wait forever until it comes. As expected from a five star hotel, there is a variety of restaurants with different tastes and cuisines inc. even Japanese. From my room I could clearly sea a beautiful old garden with thick trees, and the whole marina where private yachts are anchoring. Its garden is really huge and so versatile. My genuine complaint is the Reception staff: arrogant, unhelpful and unfriendly with guests. I stayed for 50 plus days (meaning I am a long stay guest), and it is not appropriate after this long stay to be denied the SPG card, on the pretext that it was my company that settled my bill; which was eventually issued in my name, and when my colleagues threatened to report to Sheraton parent company they mailed them the SPF card. This is just a small example of their crookedness!! In short, I shall never stay there again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice hotel, well situated close to airport within the area, yachtharbour, shoppingmall, restaurants and a magnificant vieuw over the Marmarasea and Istanbul. You can watch the ships awaiting for passage through the Bosphorus and see the marvelous sunrise in the morning. Far away from old city.

Room Tip: Had a clubsuite which was wonderfully furnished with extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice hotel with beautiful Sea of Marmara Veiws and very good amenities. Close to the airport and next to Galeria mall.. Also close to the ferry terminal, nice way to explore Istanbul by ferry. There is a shuttle to Sultan Ahmet, though. Nice health centre and turkish bath..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We picked this hotel for its three tennis courts and carried our equipment with us only to find all three courts were completely unusable. We could have coped with the weeds sprouting but the gravel surface prevented the ball from actually bouncing (were these courts ever usable?).

We wanted to move hotels but they refused to refund our money, not did they offer any compensation.

Also, although it was October it was 26 degrees yet all outdoor dining areas were closed and the swimming pool had just a few sun beds along one side.

The only redeeming factor was the location beside the Atakoy marina where we escaped to find some nice outdoor restaurants.

Room Tip: The club rooms/facilities are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank misstellithowitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My previous reviews are testament to this well run hotel. Again on this stay, without exception the staff do a great and consistent job. Given the number of times I have now stayed here, I really can confirm this is a well run hotel.


Of no connection to the hotel, but important for anyone taking a taxi. Be aware of bogus taxi drivers and the €50 note trick. No problem with taxis to/from the Hotel and Airport but coming back from Sultanhmet I nearly get caught out by a dodgy taxi driver. When checking later with an Internet search later, it seems these tricks are pretty common. That said I used maybe 10 taxi trips during my stay and only one problem. Use taxi ranks, check for a Taksi sign on the roof and a number on the vehicle side. All taxis should have meters, very often this is built into the rear view mirror, don't use one without a meter.

Room Tip: Pay extra if you wish, sea view is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy
Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy
#101 of 1,150 in Istanbul
384 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Atakoy
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Istanbul Atakoy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Titanic Port Hotel
Titanic Port Hotel
#239 of 1,150 in Istanbul
371 reviews
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Florya
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Florya
#224 of 1,150 in Istanbul
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Istanbul Atakoy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel

Property: Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
Address: Sahilyolu Cad | Atakoy, Istanbul 34158, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel welcomed by distinguished comfort and an ideal location on the shores of the Sea of Marmar. The Sheraton Istanbul Ataköy Hotel is positioned immediately alongside Ataköy Marina and the sea bus terminal, and just 8 minutes from Ataturk Airport. Just 10 minutes from Sultanahmetth, the cultural and tourism highlight of Istanbul, and 20 minutes from historic Taksim Square, we offer easy access to the area’s most popular attractions. Plus, we’re a short stroll to major shopping malls such as Galleria, Carousel, Capacity, and Town Center, and offer convenient transportation options to major centers and fairgrounds including the Istanbul Performance Center, CNR and TUYAP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing