We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty kebabs, they add tip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khorasani Restaurant

Khorasani Restaurant
Reserve with
Khorasani Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 13,378 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: "Ask most tourism representatives, restaurateurs, and waiters in Old Istanbul to recommend a restaurant, and most will offer Khorasani Kebab&Grill and Steak House. This restaurant has been a part of the Sultanahmet gastronomy scene for many years and is famed for its Turkish BBQ (the ocakbaşi), tender kebabs, and freshly prepared mezes. While the menu caters to a range of culinary interests, if you want a unique dining experience then ask to pick out your mezes and kebabs from the kitchen counter and have the chef cook your kebab over the BBQ's open fire inside the restaurant. Another popular dish from the coals of the BBQ is the Testi Kebab. As featured in New Zealand's World Kitchen TV show, this flavored meat and vegetable casserole is sealed in a clay pot, slowly cooked over the BBQ coals, and cracked open before the eyes of diners. Check out the video under "We in Press" on the Khorasani website for more information about the kebab from Central Anatolia. Khorasani also has a great wine menu and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner." Afar.
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty kebabs, they add tip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a restaurant for tourists in Sultanahmet area, good service, tasty kebabs. Be carefull, they add 10% at menu prices as obligatory tip

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gchatziar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    414
    75
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best kabobs in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have come to Istanbul for the past three years with my family. Istanbul is a culinary experience. We have tried many restaurants and by far Khorasani is one of the best restaurants. The staff are very efficient and friendly. Great place to go for lunch after the Grand Bazar or after sight seeing in Sultanahmed. Walking distance from the Blue mosque or Aya Sophia. Try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank graceycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant found on the internet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I wanted to find a restaurant in Sultanameth, near to our hotel for the last night of our stay in Istanbul, and being not too expensive. We have been there during the last days of Ramadan, at about 7 p.m. You should reserve table, because some tourist come back each evening, the services and the food are soo good. Average prices, acceptable for tourists even not having millions.If you reserve via email (info@khorasanirestaurant.com) they immediately answer and make you reservation, and if you present yourself, they know who you are. Meanwhile, other restaurants refused us reasoning, that WE ARE FASTING ON RAMADAN!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Kebab House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Khorasani is an excellent choice for diners in the Sultanahmet area. This is a casual restaurant with no view but features an open air, covered dining area on a narrow street just off of Divanyolu Caddesi (best located on foot). It features a variety of menu offerings but specializes in traditional kebabs. A wide variety of mezes is first offered by bringing the dishes themselves to your table for selection. The kebabs are fresh with vegetables and your choice of meat tasty right from the grill. We found the Turkish chardonnay and cabernet sauvignon offerings on a thoughtful wine list to be quite good and well priced. Moreover, the friendly service is a delight (we were offered a demonstration in the kitchen on how their outstanding bread is made). Our group of four enjoyed Khorasani so much that we cancelled a dinner at the Four Seasons Hotel on our last night in order to go back (and it was equally enjoyable the second time!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wait till the construction is over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were in Istanbul and ate at Khorasani in mid-August 2013. The food was great, the service was outstanding, and I can imagine that this is a charming restaurant when the construction across the alley way (maybe 15 feet away) is over. They are building a new hotel and even at 7:30pm, they were at it. Very industrious people, but noisy and dusty.

Still, they serve amazing flatbread (fresh from the oven and puffed up like a gigantic hollow loaf), a wide variety of mezes. I had a very interesting Greek style salad but with lemon dressing, dried apricots and figs. I would like to try to make this at home. My beef & lamb sharma (they don't call it that but that is what it is) was very tasty served with eggplant and yogurt. My husband had both the grilled calamari & the grilled octopus. He loved them both.

I think they were trying to play Turkish music but it was hard to hear over the din of construction. Regardless, there were maybe 20 people sitting outside at Khorasani on a beautiful summer evening, and it seemed everyone liked their food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnandjudy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khorasani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Khorasani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing