We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillout Cengo Hostel
Ranked #284 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Quite a trip”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the first hostel I have ever stayed in and I was impressed. The people who work there are extremely nice and helpful. The owner lives there with his wife and daughter, he totally took care of me when I slipped and got four stitches on my head. One of his friends is a doctor and he took care of me with no charge. The other people staying at the hostel are very friendly and some of the best people I've ever met in the world. I recommend staying in a dorm although the attic rooms are comfy but small. The hostel is secure, bathrooms clean and overall very sweet. The location is awesome and its central to everything you would need for nightlife and shopping. I will revisit my new found friends in the future - they won't let you down

Room Tip: choose any dorm because its cheaper and you meet more people, maybe the one with the balcony for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
26
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Some of our friends recommended this place and we couldn't be more thrilled that we stayed there. The owners and staff are extremely helpful, fun and kind. The location is great and the price is fair. Highly recommend saying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The owner and the employees here are incredible. The location is perfect. It is one block from the main street for nightlife, one block from a supermarket and one block from the tram. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nort M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2012

this place was recommendated by our friends. The location is very central, the place is clean and very friendly. the neighbourhood was lovely as well. the food places all over the area are serving delicious food.
will come back again.

Room Tip: we stayed in a double room ensuite. the six bed dorms have some spot in the attick, i would stay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Guys, if you are traveller you already know, where to sleep! You know what to search and what to expect .. You already know what is Hostel! If you are searching for a Hotel .. this is not your place..! The Chill Out Cengo hostel have atmosphere.. have party spirit and lazy days for chillin' out with the people inside.. the guests and the hosts.. we had great time again.. i didn't know anybody from the new crew but i liked them.. wonderful days! You can be sure that there are more than 2 bath's in each floor, on 3-th fl. they are 3! And come on NO BED BUGS.. if you are bringing them with you... sorry.. i had very bad experience in Metro bus company.. after 6 hours, i just needed something for my bag.. there were on it.. in the bus.. and you know about the epidemic situation in the States...What ever.. Hostel living is something different, it is a way of living and meeting people! It is not for every one, but try it and don't expect anything.. and you will be amazed :-) In Instanbul, this was my secound time .. and i will be back! I i will be back in Cengo again for sure! :-)))

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peru42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

seems to be a good choise for a hostel for value in istanbul...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I spend 12 great days this july and I had really great time there.

Facts about hostel:
- three floor building, no elevator (I didn't mind that), secure code doors on entrance, first and second floor.
- it is very well situated near Taksim square, just bellow main pedestrian street surrounded by lot's of bars, discos, clubs, restaurants, shops, markets ... for partying and nightlife it is amazing spot (witch reminds me, if you are not for party's until early morning hours bring or buy earplugs, you will need it).
- rooms are classical backpack rooms, bunk beds, spacy, kitschy decorations, lockers inside, clean sheets provided.
- kitchen is nicely equipped and great starting point to prepare and have a meal, beer and meet lot of interesting people.

What makes my stay great there are staff ... nice, pleasant, informative, fun and very helpful. Yeliz is one of the nicest hostel workers I ever meet, sweet and always willing to help you on any question and situation you have and Ivan and Mila are 24/7 fun and party animals with best recommendation for nightlife in town. Hostel bar was also great spot to meet and mingle with other guests and locals, they were organizing party's few times a week.

Anyway, I have a great summer holiday there, and would recommend it to all travelers who are seeking good accommodation with lot's of socializing and fun for the price that is more than affordable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#208 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Cengo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Cengo Hostel

Property: Chillout Cengo Hostel
Address: Atif Yilmaz cad. Halas sok. no3 | Sakizagaci-Huseyin Aga mah. Beyoglu, Istanbul 34050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hostel is our passion! Chillout Cengo is our new Baby! We have renovated the complete building inside out and are now ready for the season. We will try to offer you a home far from home and want to make your stay in Istanbul as relaxed/chilled as possible. The kitchen is ready for cooking and the common areas are your living room. please stay:) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing