We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4.5 star ? really?”
Review of Aldem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aldem Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,039 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“4.5 star ? really?”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A month ago we stayed for a week . After 17.5 hours flights, and further 2 hours (customs/transfer) we checked in and were shown to a room that had only about 3 feet of space on 2 sides of the bed, so that when you open the bathroom door it reaches the bed side. also one 3 drawer dresser and no night stands. We called the desk, 'this room is only a single room, and we booked a double room", no more rooms tonight, we will change tomorrow, and they did.
The only way to open the suitcases was to put them on the bed. We couldn't really sleep much that night as we already lost sleep the night before, it was a terrible feeling, that took a good 2 days to recover.
Like all travelers, we were determined that our visit will not be stolen from us.

Came home, was not easy, but contacted Hotels.com, were advised that " the room you booked measured X feet by X feet', "you should have booked a 2 bed room", the hotel changed you to a better room.
And Customer Service could not call us back, and would not give us anything in writing.

So! their best room in the hotel, was big enough, but you had to walk out of the bathroom sideways, and be aware that there was a dip of about 1.5 ", and a dip of 1/2" coming in the room.

The night stand was for display only, that can accommodate a book and 2 cell phones but no clothes.
There was one closet , one shelf on the very top, and another on the very bottom. No shelves in the middle.

The breakfast room sharp steps to walk up to 6th. floor. the only hot thing they offer is tea or coffee.

Lots of nice tiles and wall decorations. Clean, and good service.

Located on block from the main tourist area, but you have to pass the restaurants, on both sides of streets getting to tourist areas. Great view from the 7th. floor terrace if you ignore the dead planters and the adjacent dilapidated building and rotted furniture on other buildings.

This is a small hotel with small rooms, which will expect you to pay for a double room but has no problem in giving you a single room, when you paid for a double
3 star is all that it deserves if they offered you what you paid for.

Any hotel that shows room measurements at time of booking, means the room is very small and you should not book it.

Since most hotels in that area are very small, WHAT TO DO.
DO NOT BOOK WITH HOTELS.COM because they will not help you if you have a problem
Do what other smart travelers did.
Look at Istanbul's metro line, 2 km from the tourists area, that is where you will find much bigger rooms, hot breakfast, much cheaper price, and close by reasonably priced restaurants where the locals eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khanney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    124
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
113
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A small hotel in Sultanahmet but at great location.
Two minute walk from main attractions in Istanbul.
Nice helpful staff and great breakfast.
Rooms were very small but manageable for a couple.
Service was good and courteous.
There was some WIFI problem when we arrived but fixed immediately.
Noice cosy place in heart sultanahmet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIVEK3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

First impressions were not the best. I had prearranged transfers from the airport and was met by a young teenage boy who couldn't speak a word of English (and who managed to use 2 phones at once, 1 in each ear!). He had obviously been told to wait for quite a few others as we were shepherded together and gestured to wait for quite a while. Eventually it became clear we were to share a minibus with another couple who were staying in another hotel, so off we went.
I had read reviews from others that the rooms were small - on arriving at the hotel I realised that was an understatement! However, it was clean and well decorated, apart from the central light fitting being held only by the wires connecting it to the power supply. There doesn't seem to be very good soundproofing inside the hotel, plus as our room was facing straight out onto the street at street level and we could hear everything outside too, even with the window shut. There wasn't any air conditioning as stated either.
Despite this it was a nice hotel and very centrally located for the old town, a short stroll from the tram/Blue Mosque etc., with restaurants a stones throw away.
Breakfast was very good - it must be difficult catering for various nationalities but they seemed to succeed. Food was replenished continually and it was nice to have breakfast with great views.
I wouldn't describe this as a boutique hotel, but have no complaints about our recent stay there. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All I can say is we were in room 101 that I would not recommend as you could hear everything from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlywarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The best thing about this small hotel was the location, walking distance to many sights in the old centre and close to the tram stop to get you easily to the new centre. Also many restaurants nearby so dinner was never a problem. The breakfast was good (more variety than normally in South Europe) and the breakfast room had a nice view, and so did the roof terrace. The room was quite small but that was expected and didn't bother. The only complaint I have was that the sound proofing was quite bad, you could hear sounds from the other rooms and the noise from the corridor (especially when staying on 5th floor where people go through the corridor to breakfast and keep slamming the breakfast room door).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAK123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is a minute or two walk from the main Sultanahmet street with tram rails, but there are now crowds, the place is quiet and cozy. The entrance is easy to pass.
The lobby looks very comfortable, and homelike. Welcome drink, very helpful stuff. There is notebook in the lobby that can be used by the guests for free, complimentary tea and coffee. The rooms are small, but are good value for the money paid. The bed is convenient, everything works properly, free wi-fi in the room.
The breakfast is basic, but ok. There is roof terrace, though the views are not fabulous.
Good place to stay in the center of Sultanahmet, if your budget is moderate and you are not seeking for luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leronich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My room was small so small that I hardly could open my suitcase. At 4:30am a cock started his continuous crowing. On the 2nd morning I tried to locate it so I could beat the living hell out of it :-) who holds a cock in the middle of the city on a balcony??? Grrr... But anyway I had then more time to enjoy the extensive breakfast buffet on the rooftop - great great - overlooking most of the city - Hagia Sophia n Blue Mosque in reach. Reception staff was funny n helpful. All in all I would come back but would bring with me my hunting gear :-))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarqueeHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed for one night only.
staff was accomodating helpful and knowledgable.
room was small but clean but little noisy
close to most places of interest i.e Blue Mosque etc
walking distance to good restaurants.
value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ayasultan Hotel
Ayasultan Hotel
#347 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#252 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#260 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arife Sultan Hotel
Arife Sultan Hotel
#474 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#162 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldem Hotel

Property: Aldem Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Catal Cesme Sok. No:20-22 | Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,039 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaaddin Boutique Hotel - Istanbul We are conveniently located in heart of the Sultanahmet, and either a walking distance or a short tram ride (Tram Station is 3 mins walk from the hotel) to many of the historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Aldem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing