We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do you want a cheap place to stay in Istanbul? Here you are” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ida
Ranked #843 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do you want a cheap place to stay in Istanbul? Here you are”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Really a surprise this Ida hotel. It's near to all fundamental monuments in Istanbul, but it's also a cheap hotel, suited for young couples or friends.It's clean, confortable. You can sleep quite good at night.Bathroom is quite big, hot water is always there. If you are looking for a good place to spend your holidays in Istanbul, try to llok at it first.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foffissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pau, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Location of Ida hotel is key: Akbiyik cad. in the middle of Sultanahmet and close to all main monuments, also very well deserved by public transports.
Staff were very nice and helpful, breakfast was good also, served on the outside terrace offering an astonishing view on Istanbul and the sea of Marmara.
Rooms are small but cosy enough and allow for good sleeps at night even though we were sleeping on the street side.
The point at issue for us was the cleanliness although we are not fussy, the floor was really dirty and was not washed a single time during the 7 days we stayed there, the room was always very dusty. Most towels were stained when we arrived even though they seemed cleaned afterwards and the bathroom sink needed attention also. The water in the shower did not evacuate normally. Even on a budget you would expect higher standards.
The beautiful terrace view also was quite spoilt by the uncleanliness of it.
We would recommend this hotel for those like us who would travel on a budget since Istanbul has so much to offer. However for very little extra (€10/night/room) you could afford other hotels in Sultanhamet located in quieter streets.
No matter what hotel you choose however, YOU MUST GO TO ISTANBUL !!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room located at the rear of the hotel which will allow you to sleep without the noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedouzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

The location was excellent and the value was great. The room was clean, though not sqeaky clean. For instance, the bathroom could have used some mildew cleaner and the terrace was not cleaned after breakfast every day. The rooms are small, but who spends all their time in the room while in Istanbul? The people working there were friendly. Not great at their English. Breakfast was decent though late a couple times (supposed to start at 8 and once started as late as 8:30). All in all, at 50 euros per night including breakfast, and right in the middle of Sultanahmet, this place can't be beat. Other guests were pleasant, mostly couples. Yes, the steps are steep and there are no elevators, but as we made our way around Turkey, they were pretty much the norm.

Room Tip: My understanding is that there are basement rooms that have no windows, so you might want to ask abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieRMarquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Hotel Ida is located at exactly the right spot in Istanbul--in Sultanahmet next door to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, etc. In district that is chock full of restaurants, souvenir and rug vendors. While it is all about tourists in this neighborhood, the hotels and shops are small so it still feels pretty low-key. The two men and one woman working at the hotel that I met were the best ever--considerate, one even serving as a volunteer (unpaid) guide one morning. The breakfasts were the best; the basic olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, cold cuts, boiled egg, crusty bread PLUS a thin eggy crepe or a kind of crispy french toast.There are a couple of issues which one might expect for the very reasonable prices. One is to get to the lovely breakfasts on the balcony you must climb three very steep and crampled little flights of stairs, although I am sure if you could not do that one of the kind staff would bring you breakfast. The other--no lamps in the room, just the glare of an overhead bulb. Everything considered though--they are small problems.

Room Tip: Large people should inquire about shower size. And the room behind the front desk where I stayed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roresand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I must say that the location of this hotel is superb! Everything is very near and walking distance.The staff is friendly and Its clean.
My room is a bit chilly due to the warmer is not working well, but, it is still ok.The breakfast for the first day was great, but, after that, it was not so good.
Generally, I love this hotel, great value and strategic location.Gonna be here again for my next trip, for sure

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ida hotel, it was the best hotel we have ever stayed at
the staff were so quick to help make our stay amazing
in fact were planning a trip back.
the only thing I did not like was the stairs for breakfast but the veiw was worth every step.
and two days the staff brought my breakfast to my room

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellek79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Ida is located in the heart of Sultanahmet among a lot of others. You can easily find it on the street if you take the right one from the Blue Mosque. They offer good prices in case of long stay, credit cards are accepted.

But we chose it because of view ofer Marmara sea from the terrace, and I`m not sure it was a right choice. Our room was very small and located on basement level. It has no windows! From there to terrace we had to pass 4 levels up by steepy stairs. They served breakfast on this terrace, but only bread, olives and tea! Actually I can`t say that was a breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boris_texnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#157 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#232 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ida

Property: Hotel Ida
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:27 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ida 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in historical district overlooking the Marmara sea. The 24-hour desk information on excursions in Istanbul and Turkey. Wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Excellent views across the Marmara Sea (Bosphorus), Prince Islands and Blue Mosque can be enjoyed from the terrace of the rooftop where breakfast is serving.The local area offers several dining and fun options.Staff at the 24-hour front desk can provide express-check in/out and currency exchange. Airport transfers can be arranged, and onsite parking facilities are complimentary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ida Hotel Istanbul
Boutique Hotel Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing