We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Sultanahmet Koftecisi
Ranked #96 of 13,534 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
187 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

At the end of a long day touring the sites in Istanbul, if you are hungry and want something quick and simple, then this is the place for you. They serve the typical Turkish staple foods. It is nothing special but fills the spot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hafedh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    461
    176
    62
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wish we had one in London!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Found this place by accident but what a find!

Not many things on the menu but I can recommend the bean salad and kofta especially if you scrape out the middle of the bread rolls and stuff them with salad, meat and chilli. Mini kofta rolls!

Locals and tourists all come here and I know why. We visited it twice and it just got better.

Awesome little find, but it gets busy!

Helpful?
1 Thank lilithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kofte and Piyaz Salata”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is my favour place to have a fresh piyaz salata and beautiful turkish kofte, (meat balls), i just love it, there is no other place better than Sultanahmet, I usually set by the windows, as you can see the Sultanahmet, very nice & quickly service, the only thing which i dislike of the place is: they do not accept card, you can only pay in cash and as a tourist is very convenient just to use you bank card do pay your bill. other wise, i totally recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaphaelGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good meatball and sheesh kebab”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

the meatball and sheesh kebab are really good, so is rice and the lentil soup. For the taste , it is surprisingly cheap , A restaurant not to be missed if you want to try out proper Turkish food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rfsk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
276 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great value fast food in authentic Turkish kebab diner”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I wanted somewhere to eat a light Turkish meal in the very touristic Sultanahmet area and selected this kebab restaurant based on location and the fact that it was full of Turkish diners.

This is a cafe style establishment, so don't expect luxurious tables, chairs and soft furnishings, but do expect good quality fresh food served politely and at great value. I had the house staple of Kofte kebab which is served with salad and pickles. I added rice for a more substantial meal, but the huge bread basket they provide will help fill the more hungry. It was excellent French style baguette bread and very fresh indeed. Chilli sauce is supplied too and it's wasn't too spicy, so don't worry about dipping your Kofte in. The Kofte is of course prepared over an authentic charcoal barbecue so the flavours were excellent. I would suggest you skip dessert, (no problem with the house offerings) but you can get a huge range of sweet treats from the street traders around Sultanahmet which is an enjoyable experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultanahmet Koftecisi also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Sultanahmet Koftecisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing