We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars?”
Review of Gulhane Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulhane Park Hotel
Ranked #380 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 stars?”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have been to many 4 stars hotels but this is defenetely NOT a 4 star hotel. We experienced a bathroom with fungus and bad smell. The towels are pretty old and they don't feel clean. However the staff was helpful and the hotel is very Close to almost everything. Istanbul is not a cheap destination but I would prefer to pay a little more and get a real 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfdan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    120
    27
    12
    12
See reviews for
91
70
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Of all our Turkey hotels, this breakfast was the best with 40 items on the buffet. The best coffee! The location is great, one can walk anywhere in old town, and the tram is just a few blocks away. We felt safe with no issues. They really try hard to be a five star, sewing kit, shower cap, nice toiletries, etc etc. Bayran (spelling???) the manager was extremely helpful. I needed to call out tour operator and rather than having to pay for a personal phone call, he allowed me to use his own cell phone to confirm the time for an excursion. The staff was always friendly. Mind you, the rooms are small, but that is the case for all European hotel rooms that I have experienced. I liked that it is a block off the busy tourist shopping area and thus there was no noise at night. The room has a safe and there is in-room coffee and tea. Very clean room. We couldn't get the TV to work and the staff was there in a couple of minutes showing us the issue (our fault). They are responsive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanegul, Manager at Gulhane Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Gulhane Park Hotel Istanbul thank you for the feedback. We are very happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. We want to mentione that we will be happy if we will have a chance to see you again.

Yours Sincerely

Soner ONAL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My partner Vera enjoyed an excellent stay at the Gulhane Park a few years ago whilst attending a family wedding in the City. When she and I decided to spend a few days in Istanbul earlier this month, we chose the Gulhane Park Hotel again and we were not disappointed. Our room was comfortable, clean and well serviced each day. The hotel is very well placed in relation to visiting historical sites in the City and is close to a tram stop. The staff all spoke English very well and were helpful, professional and friendly. Given the very reasonable cost of the room, we can only rate the Gulhane Park Hotel as a five star choice - Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

we made a reservation directly to the hotel which turned into dissapointment.
The hotel asked me to send the confirmation order form (with detail credit card info) not more than 24 hours. I did it within 4 hours - however on the next day they informed me that all available rooms have been booked via internet sales - which was not true as I did check in their system and on-line booking the room was available but with much higher price.
the manaher response to my complain does not make sense - as per traveladvisor police, I can't quote their response but would be happy to share my bad experience more detail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisnu315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanegul, Manager at Gulhane Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We thank our guest for his review. We attach great attention to all comments of our guests to determine and revise our policies.
However, we would like to clarify some points in this matter.
In our reservation system, it is not possible to confirm reservations without credit card details. We need details to guarantee the reservations but we do not charge anything before the guests arrive.
Our guest had tried to send us his credit card details with a locked excell format without it's code. We have requested the code 3 times, unfotunately we didn't get any respond from his side. 3 days later he responded but it was too late to book 3 rooms due to availiblity reasons that we couldn't confirm the reservations also we didn't receive credit card details again.
Also ,We tried to help to find an other hotel around our hotel but he has declined.
Once again, we are very sorry for the dissatisfaction of our guest, due to unfortunate circumstances detailed above. We still do hope that our guest will visit us and use our services in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Was my first visit to Istanbul, i enjoyed very much because the hotel is very near all the sites and the staff are very helpful also breakfast was tasty
if i visit again i will choose this hotel again, and i will recomended to others.
Thanks
Dr Saad Hassanin

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Saad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 754 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

More of a boutique hotel, rooms are clean, located in old town close to everything. We didn't eat dinner here as there was nobody eating in the restaurant. The comp. water, tea, and coffee are not replaced after day one. Plenty of essentials in the restroom. In room safe provided. I can't stress how helpful the front desk was, in front of us a guest needed to call his tour operator and the desk clerk loaned him his personal cell. The staff goes out of their way to assist you. The rooms are small as is typical in Europe. There is wi-fi in the rooms, but very very weak...that kept away a 5 star rating. Also, our room reeked of cigarette smoke, the Europeans still smoke where they want, and it was in our room!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Gulhane Park Hotel is in a quiet location and walking distance to many museum, good restaurant and the Blue Mosque. Train station within walking distance as well. The staff provided excellent service. They were helpful in planning our trip and very willing and friendly. Great buffet breakfast. One of my best stay so far. My family and I stayed there for one week in March. Would like to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahrefah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#245 of 1,155 in Istanbul
231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orka Royal Hotel
Orka Royal Hotel
#272 of 1,155 in Istanbul
366 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#53 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#234 of 1,155 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#154 of 1,155 in Istanbul
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Park Hotel

Property: Gulhane Park Hotel
Address: Nobethane Caddesi, No:1, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#256 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gulhane Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gülhane Park Hotel is in a fantastic location that allows you to observe the entire historical texture of İstanbul (constantinapolis), to enjoy an unparalleled view of the Bosphorus, Gülhanepark and to breathe the sea and park air. The unique historical and tourist sights of our city are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulhane Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulhane Park Istanbul
Hotel Gulhane Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing