We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looks from the outside.”
Review of Gulhane Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulhane Park Hotel
Ranked #336 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

As our first hotel in Turkey we were wondering where the car from the airport was taking us. From the outside and its location the hotel did not make a positive impact. However step inside and ones reaction changed. The staff were immediately attentive and helpful and stayed that was for the two days we were there. The furnishing are solid and durable. We enjoyed a suite on the upper floor due to a mistake in reservations (not their mistake) and found it well appointed and very clean. The elevator left a little to be desired but one cannot have it all. The location turned out to be excellent and it was an easy walk to the waterfront and restaurants. Just follow the tram lines and look for the green roof. The breakfast was one of the best we experienced and the staff attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 305 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is very nice to see smiling faces at morning,beside their friendly look the staff were very helpfull especially Miss Haleh at reception and the very cooperative GM Mr. Onal.
I spend six wonderfull days with my 3 sisters at this hotel in the middle of November,V.good breakfast,clean Hotel and close to everywhere and everything in Istanbul .I advise those who like to spend quiet times to chose this hotel.I will do it again...

Room Tip: Rooms not so big but are quite enough because you only sleep at Hotel and spend time outside rooms u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghada95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just came back from Gulhane Park Hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights. It was our 2nd stay there, the 1st was in January. We checked quite a few of other hotels before we decided to try the Gulhane. They speak English at the reception. We booked directly as the rate at booking.com was higher.

This hotel was our choice because of the location and more or less quiet neighborhood, that's why we went there the 2nd time and perhaps will go next time. It's located very close to Topkapi Palace, Archeology Museum. You can walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. There is also a tram stop called Gulhane (about 3 minutes walk from the hotel, but you don't hear the trams, at least in our room we didn't). It is possible to get to the hotel by public transport from Ataturk Airport, just take the metro (M1 line) to Zeytinburnu (the 6th stop), then change to the tram (T1 line) and get off at the Gulhane stop (the 15th stop).

We stayed at a superior triple room, the room overlooked the entrance to the hotel. The size of the room is sufficient for 3 people to stay (in our case, two adults and our 8-year-old son).
There are 3 beds, though the size of each bed is too small, I'd prefer a bigger bed. There were no chairs in the room, we didn't ask for them as we didn't spend much time there. There is also a small electric kettle and cups, also a small complimentary bottle of water, some tea bags. The bathroom is normal size, enough light (there is a bath, not a shower).
There is also a small wardrobe and a safe box free of charge. This time there were only 3 hangers in the wardrobe which was obviously not enough for 3 people. The room was cleaned every day but sometimes the maid forgot to put the 3d towel.
Breakfast – quite good, we never went hungry, sufficient choice of cold appetizers, every day they offered different hot dishes (omelet, mushrooms, cheese pie, sausages etc.). There are also fruit jams, cold milk, corn flakes, honey, cake (a very-very small cuts), fresh tea, coffee only from an automate. If you want fresh juice, you need to pay for it.

The thing we didn't like about this hotel was the prices for room service and the hotel restaurant in euro, not in liras. We live in Turkey and noticed that the dishes cost in euro much more than they usually cost in liras. For example, a pide (similar to pizza) for 8 euro, usually it costs 8-10 liras. Our advice is check the prices at another cafes so as not to pay more than it's worth.
Another advice is – try to book early. We noticed that the rate for the same room went up and up. When we booked the room, the rate was OK with us. When we checked the rate for the same room a few days prior to out arrival, it was much higher. It didn't concern us as we had a confirmation of the earlier rate, but we wouldn't choose this hotel with higher rates. Perhaps this is the hotel's policy but it seemed wrong to us to change the rate for the same room for the same dates.

On the whole, we liked this hotel and would probably stay there again (if the rate is right).

Room Tip: Try to book early. The superior triple room is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our first night at the hotel was booked through the tour company. The double room was adequate and very clean but quite small for two people with a suitcase each. For extra nights we had booked a 'superior double room' on line direct with the hotel. When we pointed this out we were readily moved for the two nights to a much larger room with plenty of space for our suitcases and ourselves. Again the room was very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The staff were very helpful and there was always someone at reception who spoke English well. The night reception person, Vedat, was extremely helpful and friendly. The two young ladies who were at reception each morning were also very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast each morning was great with lots of choices. The hotel was in a very convenient location for exploring the old city. We booked the hotel transfer car to take us to the airport early in the morning which worked well. We probably could have used the airport shuttle bus service which had numerous pickup points in the area for much cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location if you want to see all the Istanbul monuments, Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque, Grand bazarr, Aya Sofia are all within 10 mn walk. And tons of shops to buy souvenirs, food joints and the Pomagranite freshly squeezed juice to die for.

The hotel is very fancy, but clean with a good breakfast and great smiling staff that are always willing to answer any questions and offer great tips to make the most out of your Istanbul visit.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better quality beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustafa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The staff were very helpful. It was clean Friendly, helpful, smiling staff. If you want they arranged pick ups from and to airport. Amazing breakfast is also delicious with a lot of food variety. The location was ideal, close to the tram and the Grand Bazzare, also next to the main road to the Blue Mosque etc.Next to all interest points of the city. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there if I ever visit Istanbul again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Semra and Hale were very helpful at reception and we found a lovely 30 min run through Gulhane Park and around the Blue Mosque. All in all a great location for a short stay.

The spa was a little confusing although we did enjoy a steamy and free sauna. The breakfasts were fine.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank simonhjcoombe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#137 of 1,175 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
#376 of 1,175 in Istanbul
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Old City Viva Hotel
Old City Viva Hotel
#620 of 1,175 in Istanbul
208 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#224 of 1,175 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#401 of 1,175 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Park Hotel

Address: Nobethane Caddesi, No:1, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#231 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gulhane Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gülhane Park Hotel is in a fantastic location that allows you to observe the entire historical texture of İstanbul (constantinapolis), to enjoy an unparalleled view of the Bosphorus, Gülhanepark and to breathe the sea and park air. The unique historical and tourist sights of our city are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gulhane Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulhane Park Istanbul
Hotel Gulhane Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing